Player Watch #14: Luke 'Gav' Urquhart - selected with Pick 57 in the ND - Welcome to North Melbourne

Kayle Gerreyn, Will Hayes and Luke Urquhart were all picked up on Thursday in the draft.

Kayle Gerreyn, Will Hayes and Luke Urquhart were all picked up on Thursday in the draft. Credit: Ian Munro / Danella Bevis

"One selection later, East Fremantle midfielder Luke Urquhart was taken by North Melbourne.

Urquhart’s rise to a draftee has been incredible, having been sidelined for most of last year needed a full hip reconstruction, having been diagnosed with hip dysplasia with acetabular retroversion as well as a labrum tear and cam impingement.

The former talented junior water polo player didn’t let the setback stop him from driving towards his AFL dream.

Urquhart worked hard and finished the under-18 championships as one of WA’s best, averaging 21 disposals (11 contested) and 5.5 clearances while he was sensational for the Sharks in the colts with 23.3 disposals, five clearances, 9.5 tackles and two goals in three games.

Luke Urquhart.

Luke Urquhart. Credit: Sarah Reed/AFL Photos/AFL Photos via Getty Images
“I was hoping for the best but preparing for the worst,” he said after being drafted.

“I had chats with my manager (Luke Morabito) and had somewhat of an idea what was going to happen.

“From my first interview with North Melbourne I always thought it was going to be them ... they made me feel at home straight away.

“I’ve had a long journey to get here, lots of hardship but I put my best foot forward this year, played a lot of good footy and it paid off for me tonight.”

One of the first people to congratulate Urquhart was Sydney star and family friend Chad Warner.

But it’s a North Melbourne superstar who Urquhart is looking to learn off when he lands at Arden Street.

“I am super keen to get over there. There is a lot of young talent coming through like Harry Sheezel but it’s probably LDU (Luke Davies-Uniacke),” he said.

“I styled my game off him a lot this year. I am super excited to get over there and meet all the boys.”"
Wants to shadow LDU.

Whilst River is off learning from
Zac Fisher….

Oh so the skinny 180cm kid who goes missing for large parts, who'll be a defensive liability and won't be ready for 3 years while we wait for him to put on 12kg who defaults to kicking long because he struggles to make the right short-medium decision by foot?

See how I can play these games too if I want to be negative for the sake of it?
Ok Souup, now its time to be honest with certain players, go for it!

Oh so the skinny 180cm kid who goes missing for large parts, who'll be a defensive liability and won't be ready for 3 years while we wait for him to put on 12kg who defaults to kicking long because he struggles to make the right short-medium decision by foot?

See how I can play these games too if I want to be negative for the sake of it?
At least he is a reliable kick. He’s actually quite a decent kick.

We’ll just draft more mids that cant kick. Rip Snorter. Like I said, I hope the kid kills it. Its not on him, its our recruiting team. They’re incompetent.

Disagree. The difference between the two players in terms of disposal from those highlight reels looks night and day. Will’s disposal is elite.
Not sure WP is elite by foot but my comparison was centered around us taking an inside, contested ball player that's probably going for the same spot as WP.

At least he is a reliable kick. He’s actually quite a decent kick.

We’ll just draft more mids that cant kick. Rip Snorter. Like I said, I hope the kid kills it. Its not on him, its our recruiting team. They’re incompetent.

Anyone can be 'reliable' when you're kicking it 40m+ to a contest more often than not - his decision making and execution over a short-mid range is not impressive.

He averaged 15 disposals, 5 marks and 0.7 of a tackle in the WAFL Colts, which is comfortably the the worst of the 3 junior competitions in the country. So he's playing against crap opposition and can barely find the footy.

Right.

Our recruiting team over the last ~4-5 years have done an excellent job - care to name the problems you have with our recruiting over that period of time? And if you're going to complain about a player, list the alternative at that pick you would have preferred at the time (or I'll even give you the benefit of hindsight)

Anyone can be 'reliable' when you're kicking it 40m+ to a contest more often than not - his decision making and execution over a short-mid range is not impressive.

He averaged 15 disposals, 5 marks and 0.7 of a tackle in the WAFL Colts, which is comfortably the the worst of the 3 junior competitions in the country. So he's playing against crap opposition and can barely find the footy.

Right.

Our recruiting team over the last ~4-5 years have done an excellent job - care to name the problems you have with our recruiting over that period of time? And if you're going to complain about a player, list the alternative at that pick you would have preferred at the time (or I'll even give you the benefit of hindsight)
They’re all hacks. Turnovers after turnover. Inside 50’s blow.. rinse repeat.

Don't particularly like Gossage or Cummins, but was good to hear a bit more about Luke pre draft, as per my 1st impressions, seems like a ripper kid, no doubt, he will slot right in with the rest of the boy's, and you could see Clarko likes him a bit too.
Goss is one of the biggest flogs in footy…..and it’s a pretty stacked field.
Worse caller around, especially when WA teams are involved. Shocker.

Right.

0.7 tackles 🤣

You guys dont read the scouting reports when WA destroyed SA the scouting report identifies one defining factor. Urqhart. Also it says only 15 kicks and mayne 20 possies but NINE effecdtive forwards entries. Describes him as the proverbial forwards moving steam train. More Petracca???

quote!!!

x Dodson continues to shine in the ruck | Image Credit: Rookie Me Central
WESTERN AUSTRALIA:

Luke Urquhart (East Fremantle)
Midfielder | 184cm | 19/09/2006

Stats:
19 disposals, 7 clearances, 11 inside 50s

The heartbeat of Western Australia’s midfield, Urquhart’s energy and run helped launch a barrage of attacks in what the numbers don’t show was a midfield domination. SA may have won the clearance and inside 50 counts, but Urquhart ensured his side made deep entries with his pace and booming kicks. The latter factor was a little awkward at times, especially on the run, and remains something Urquhart can look to work on. Still, he was exciting to watch when attacking through the centre.

He is very clean in his ball handling; always one touch, even under pressure, and very quick to move it on to the next player in the chain.

His kicking … well why not continue the tradition of Simpson, Ziebell, …

Uncle Gav was an elite kick. Not much use when you can't get in the same post code as the ball on match day.

Player Watch #14: Luke 'Gav' Urquhart - selected with Pick 57 in the ND - Welcome to North Melbourne