Preview 1st Preliminary Final, Fremantle v Hawthorn, 25 September 2015, 8.20pm AEST @ Subiaco

I really reckon Billy did himself no favours Friday. Beautiful in running hard, breaking the line and taking them on, but was a poor decision to finish when he made that break. Worse was a couple of minutes later and the double choke under pressure leading to a turnover on the HBF. I'm pretty sure I remember the cut to Clarko pic at that time. Needed to be watertight. I love what he brings, and he will be big part of our future, BUT, if its going to be tight and contested, we're going to need a little more grunt and composure under physical pressure.
Langer has shown he's not cherryripe at the moment. Simpkin, just doesnt seem to be inconsideration (I think he should have helped cover our rotations during the year). Which leaves Jed, who thankfully has both fitness and form at just the right moment. Not his biggest fan, but he definitely has more strings to his bow than gut runner who is getting picked off and exposed late in the season.

Still, expect Billy will be selected. Stability and all.

I understand that. It's more a reference to the suspiciously late start time for the second preliminary final. The heat issue is a beat up by the AFL.

Had Sydney won last night then won the preliminary final they would have been forced to stay in Perth the night. If the Roos win then they travel back the same day. The AFL's lack of professionalism is unbelievable.

If $wans had of won last night they would have changed WC's prelim to the Friday

We need to modify our game plan to compensate for the narrower ground. Pressure on their midfield will be a good start.
There is so much talk of ground dimensions and excuses that we play bad there because of it. There isn't a world of difference between the two grounds. Domain is 15 meters longer than the MCG and 19 meters narrower. In terms of total ground space they are very similar. Football is not a game of mathematics that 15-20 meters will mean we can't find a team mate, the opposition or the goals. Such small difference cannot form the basis of an excuse that a team will lose because their game plan is no longer perfect.

Ground Dimensions:
Domains Stadium: 175.6m x 122.4m
The MCG: 160m x 141m

There is so much talk of ground dimensions and excuses that we play bad there because of it. There isn't a world of difference between the two grounds. Domain is 15 meters longer than the MCG and 19 meters narrower. In terms of total ground space they are very similar. Football is not a game of mathematics that 15-20 meters will mean we can't find a team mate, the opposition or the goals. Such small difference cannot form the basis of an excuse that a team will lose because their game plan is no longer perfect.

Ground Dimensions:

It's no so much the size, it's the shape. It aids Freo's and WC's defensive structures.

No change.

Sadly I feel we weren't challenged enough to be ready for Freo.
Dont need to be....its all between the ears.

This group has not lost any of their capability....it will really come down to how badly they want it and how much they are individually prepared to "invest" for the team.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

I now think we need to bring Ceglar in.

If we win next week we don't want to be facing Naitanui with Hale & McEvoy again.
Ceglars back has been a bit dodgy.

We would be up the creek without a paddle if he broke down.

Ground Dimensions:
One is a football ground and one is a cricket ground....there is the difference.

In that case then Fremantle and WCE game plans are far more versatile than all the other teams given the number of times they have to win away from Domain Stadium.
I'm not sure their game plans are heaps more versatile - I think in most cases they're just better sides.

Adel: 167m x 124m
Domain: 175m x 122m
MCG: 160m x 141m
Etihad: 160m x 129m
Aurora: 165m x 135m

Of the above, Domain is considerably longer & much thinner than the 'G. I think this will show a bit in the GF.

We don't play too well at Etihad, do we? Thinner ground perhaps a contributing factor? We play pretty well in Tassie - another wider ground.

Ground Dimensions:
19 meters is a huge difference for outside players and sides that like to take uncontested marks. Not sure if you thought your comments out properly .

Freo's game style allows them to kick 12-13 goals per match.. Even in their bigger wins (against cellar dwellers mind you) they barely ticked over 100 points...

What Freo can hang their hopes on is the games that we've lost recently (WC, Port, Rich) the oppositions game style was similar... pressure, pressure, pressure..press, press, press - give no space at all.. And Hawks kicked 7, 13 & 9 goals respectively.

That will be Freo's only hope of a victory - and Hawks need to expect this and work on ways to combat this as clearly we haven't been able to adopt to this ferocious game style so far.

I've mentioned it before, only certain teams have the tools to carry this plan through - Freo is one of those teams who thrive on this boring 'Ross Lyon style' lock down, win ugly game style.

GF 2013 was a perfect example that Hawks took them on at their own gamestyle and to this day that is my least watched Hawks Grand Final...

Question is, do we do that again or do we back ourselves in and try and blow them apart??

Ground Dimensions:

Are you serious? 19 meters more width to defend is a massive difference - zones that need to cover a narrow space are massively more effective. Freo's game is almost built around the shape of that ground - ditto west coast were able to dominate us with defensive pressure last trip over.

A narrower, deeper defensive structure is no joke to break through.

Hopefully we have inflicted some deep scars on Freo's psyche, because with the extra rest and home ground advantage, they are formidable. Our best will get them, anything less almost certainly won't.

Since Ross took over freo have only scored over 80 points against us once and that was at subi last year, they've kept us under 100 twice and one of those was the GF.
I expect we will try to get a jump on them early to force them.to try and score as a shoot out suits us

I'm with Carey on this one. I think we can, should, and will win against Fremantle. But if somehow we fall again, over west, I expect it'll be because Fremantle had a higher score than us when the final siren went.

Am I doing it right?
Be careful
Kelli Stevens will fall in love with you :)

Are you serious? 19 meters more width to defend is a massive difference - zones that need to cover a narrow space are massively more effective. Freo's game is almost built around the shape of that ground - ditto west coast were able to dominate us with defensive pressure last trip over.

A narrower, deeper defensive structure is no joke to break through.

Hopefully we have inflicted some deep scars on Freo's psyche, because with the extra rest and home ground advantage, they are formidable. Our best will get them, anything less almost certainly won't.
This is all about dimensions. Hawthorns zoning needs to re-apply deep not wide, which wc and Freo already do. Offensively the space is not on the outside wide as much-it's deep. Balancing your overlap run needs to be done sometimes behind the man on the mark, not as much next to. The ruckman become pivotal down the line without the width to make a contest. If we try to break the lines we'll need a lot of forward 30 mtr passes-something which is v risky with our tendency for the flat kicks for accuracy (and hence hitting the man on the mark).
We need to somehow work our way forward fri night in different patterns WITH efficient disposal.
Against WC they knew what they had to do but failed miserably with their efficiency with this different style.

I think only 2 players can come in this week: Gunston &/or Langford, and only 2 players can go out: Shoey &/or Hartung..

Ceglar could have made a case to replace Hale but he missed Box Hill yesterday, luckily for him he gets a chance to state his case for a GF call up if we make it!

Agreed.