Preview 1st Preliminary Final, Fremantle v Hawthorn, 25 September 2015, 8.20pm AEST @ Subiaco

I believe we will conquer the Eagles despite their 3-4 goal home advantage, and their 2-3 goal umpire advantage.

P.s. I love watching S.Hill play. One of the most exciting players in the AFL. I hope we can somehow nullify his influene.

That was two weeks ago and I hate to break it to you...they won..:(

Fremantle played great footy that arvo and kicked 17.8.110... This Prelim game no 250 for Brian's Bargains...
Yes they did, Pavlich played one of his best games, Taberner was pretty impressive and we missed Roughy badly.

We also rushed gunston back from injury that game hope we don't do it again

Yes, spot on. A fully fit (well, as fit as you can be at this time of year) Schoenmakers is better than a half fit Gunston personally.

He needs to go through a strenuous fitness test if he passes and pulls up fine he plays.
If he is fit i have no issue with him playing I just don't want to see him play and not be effective when we have Shoe able to fill in and history shows unfit players in finals to be liabilities

Are you serious? 19 meters more width to defend is a massive difference - zones that need to cover a narrow space are massively more effective. Freo's game is almost built around the shape of that ground - ditto west coast were able to dominate us with defensive pressure last trip over.

A narrower, deeper defensive structure is no joke to break through.

Hopefully we have inflicted some deep scars on Freo's psyche, because with the extra rest and home ground advantage, they are formidable. Our best will get them, anything less almost certainly won't.
You answered my comment perfectly. We stretch that zone defence on both the 'G and Aurora where our record is impeccable and the ground dimensions are almost identical. This is where our elite kicking can break through / around that zone defence, whereas other teams often try to handball/run through and come unstuck.

Whilst I am on my hobby horse - it is why Geelong were so hard to beat down there at the cattery (narrower still than Subi) and why they honed and perfected their run through the corridor play over so many years (their whole ground width is almost equivalent to the effective corridor of the 'G). The number of teams that went down to Kardinia Park over the years to only keep kicking OOB when trying to push out to the wings was something to behold.

I hope the club has learned from the mistakes it made with preparation for the Eagles game. They seemed to depart from the usual build up, eg a few senior players went over to Perth a few days early etc. I hope the boys pack the boots with the stops and perhaps even train this week with them on. Even if it doesn't rain in Perth, the ground gets dewy at night.

If we beat the Dockers do we get the honour of having our name first on the GF billing or do we need North to also win for that to happen?

All respect to Pav, he has been nothing short of one of the greats of the modern game but he is going to have to kick 5 and Freo play awesome to beat us, getting multiple goals out of both Balla and Walters. Don't think he is physically capable of that atm, I believe Chip will handle him and the crows just played us back into form. I reckon 4-6 goals to the good :D As mentioned above, we should all travel together. Fo Sho!

Chip will go to Pav and Stratts will go to walters. Hodge head to head with Fyfe. There is half the battle done.

Im still nervous, only because of our last effort in perth, but, IF we play like we did friday night, then Freo are in all sorts and they will know that.

Lets do this hawks!

Clarko, if you are listening.....

Roughy is not doing enough down forward and Hale is looking tired, so....

1. Bring in Gunston for Hale
2. Gunners and Shoey play forward
3. Shoey's mission is to hit the packs and bring the ball to ground
4. Roughy plays in the centre and takes the ballups while Big Boy is resting

Simple !

Simple !

Absolutely!

Simple !
If Gunston returns Schoey only keeps his spot (an idea i like) at the expense of the second ruckman which would have to be Hale on current form. I think Hale forward this week can and needs to exploit the Freo defence without McPharlin.

On another note. Is there a pub or somewhere that fellow hawks supporters will watch and get our boys home from?

I think the indicator for this game is not the one in Launceston in round 15, but round 21 last year. Yes, Fremantle did win but we blew an enormous chance in the first quarter by not taking advantage of our dominance by kicking 4.7. IIRC, we also kicked OOB on the full far too many times during the game. We also did it against the Boo!gles two weeks ago. So, to me, we have to gain the ascendancy through the corridor & not to be forced as wide. Friday's game was a great example of how we used the width of the MCG to give ourselves time & space. We can't take that game style back to Perth & expect it to work as effectively. If we have them on the ropes, like we did in the first quarter of that game last year, we've got to make every score count. Scoreboard pressure is the greatest enemy to Lyon's game style.
For my money I think in some ways the Crows flattered us and shot themselves in the foot by going very protective on the wings which then left them exposed through the middle and we sliced them up.

I think the key with Freo is to attack hard and early and score as quickly as possible in the first quarter so that they cant go into lockdown mode and kill the game.

Make them chase arse and dont let them dictate terms in front of their home crowd.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Simple !
Would be risky but I like it

I think it will be
In: Gunston, Ceglar
Out: Schoenmakers, Hale

Ceglar was a late withdrawal with Box Hill so makes me think Hale might make way. Not sure whether I like it or not. Langford didn't do enough from what I saw to put his hand up

Personally I can't see how we are such heavy favourites. Might put a pineapple or 2 on Freo as they look mighty tasty at 2.40. 50/50 game at best for us imo.

For me the key is to at least break even in clearances with their big bodied mids like Fyfe and Mundy.