1st Test Sri Lanka v Australia Jan 29-Feb 2 1500hrs @ Galle International Stadium

Who will win?

• This poll will close: .

Let's not overegg the pudding, he has scores of 60, 8, 23 and 22. That's... fine. I understand that other batters were falling around him also, but that's a barely passable mark, albeit while acknowledging he is only 19, was facing one the world's best bowlers and will hopefully improve. Whether he plays or not, there's nothing outrageous in either decision.
I said he did well, not great. Batters on both sides with significantly more experience and profile were failing, so I think doing well is a fair summation

Let's not overegg the pudding, he has scores of 60, 8, 23 and 22. That's... fine. I understand that other batters were falling around him also, but that's a barely passable mark, albeit while acknowledging he is only 19, was facing one the world's best bowlers and will hopefully improve. Whether he plays or not, there's nothing outrageous in either decision.
It was definitely a strong passing mark in the conditions.

Yes there is.

Him being dropped would be disgraceful, outrageous or whatever you want to call it.

Yes there is.

Him being dropped would be disgraceful, outrageous or whatever you want to call it.
Just let them pick the team they think is most likely to succeed in SL. I'm pretty confident that's what they'll do. It's the squad rhetoric they go with and we all know that if the most "deserving" bowler based on the India tests gets picked, he'll be the last bowler picked. None of them are entitled to be picked and shouldn't be if the selectors have good reason to think others will perform better in the conditions.

Short of sending them off to play Ranji trophy everyone is a newbie to Asian conditions on their first tour.

The only one you advocated for dropping is Konstas for the inclusion of Connolly - a player with even less experience, because he might bowl.
Similar techniques - split grips

I do find it interesting that people are happy to drop bowlers for the conditions but batters can't be swapped out for the conditions?
It'll become standard soon. The coaches are now looking at more sophisticated data than just raw averages. They're using it to analyse where to bowl to opposition players, what fields to set them and what type of bowlers they might struggle against. And they're doing the same when looking at strengths and weaknesses of their own batters.

We all know that Handscomb was no chance in the Aussie tests but would have probably been on this tour if our spot in the WTC final was still up for grabs - yet there will be shock and anger if we pick one batter over another one because we think he's better suited to the conditions.

I think Konstas is going to be a ripper and I hope he's done enough to get selected, but if he doesn't, the selectors have way more and better information to make the call than we do. THey've got analysis of his game against spin in Australian conditions and they've got all the feedback of how he's performing in practice in Dubai and SL where they'll be trying to replicate the conditions he'll have to face. They're pros, I'm confident that they'll make the most justifiable decision based on their knowledge, but have no idea whether that will include Sam. I think it's great that we've got a few young batters on the tour to hone a game for Asia and that we took Ollie Peake too, because it is a different game in those conditions that requires a different approach, game plan and sometimes a significant change to technique and skillset.

I don't think Webster is a certainty either. We like horizontal bat shots on turners and he plays very upright, striking straight through the line.

It'll become standard soon. The coaches are now looking at more sophisticated data than just raw averages. They're using it to analyse where to bowl to opposition players, what fields to set them and what type of bowlers they might struggle against. And they're doing the same when looking at strengths and weaknesses of their own batters.
Really.

We all know that Handscomb was no chance in the Aussie tests but would have probably been on this tour if our spot in the WTC final was still up for grabs - yet there will be shock and anger if we pick one batter over another one because we think he's better suited to the conditions.

I think Konstas is going to be a ripper and I hope he's done enough to get selected, but if he doesn't, the selectors have way more and better information to make the call than we do. THey've got analysis of his game against spin in Australian conditions and they've got all the feedback of how he's performing in practice in Dubai and SL where they'll be trying to replicate the conditions he'll have to face. They're pros, I'm confident that they'll make the most justifiable decision based on their knowledge, but have no idea whether that will include Sam. I think it's great that we've got a few young batters on the tour to hone a game for Asia and that we took Ollie Peake too, because it is a different game in those conditions that requires a different approach, game plan and sometimes a significant change to technique and skillset.

I don't think Webster is a certainty either. We like horizontal bat shots on turners and he plays very upright, striking straight through the line.
The experience of Neil Craig at the Crows is instructive for those who rely too much on sport's science.

I'm not sure what you're referencing in terms of Neil Craig. But I'm not referring to sports science in the way that I understand that phrase.

I'm talking about statistical analysis as well as observation to help inform selection what's always been done but they're now breaking the data down further to more easily see strengths and weaknesses

Footy is a much more difficult game to statistically analyse as changing one variable changes a heap of other variables. It does in cricket too, but not to the same degree.

I'm not sure what you're referencing in terms of Neil Craig. But I'm not referring to sports science in the way that I understand that phrase.

I'm talking about statistical analysis as well as observation to help inform selection what's always been done but they're now breaking the data down further to more easily see strengths and weaknesses

Footy is a much more difficult game to statistically analyse as changing one variable changes a heap of other variables. It does in cricket too, but not to the same degree.
The problem with statistics in sport is they have a tendency to become a self licking icecream if you “stick to the script”

Old mate has a weakness to “insert particular ball”. Everyone keeps bowling there. He keeps getting out to it. How many runs is he making in the meantime?. You can generate an argument for any type of thing, but cricket has many variables.

And that is the beauty of the game. You have to work it out in the moment.

You go out there with a preconceived plan against everyone and rigidly stick to it when it’s not working then you’re gunna look silly. And it is pretty obvious when it’s happening. It doesn’t happen a lot but it can be noticed when seen.

I think our last Ashes tour of England was a prime example of it. We got out of jail hugely IMO.

The problem with statistics in sport is they have a tendency to become a self licking icecream if you “stick to the script”

Old mate has a weakness to “insert particular ball”. Everyone keeps bowling there. He keeps getting out to it. How many runs is he making in the meantime?. You can generate an argument for any type of thing, but cricket has many variables.

And that is the beauty of the game. You have to work it out in the moment.

You go out there with a preconceived plan against everyone and rigidly stick to it when it’s not working then you’re gunna look silly. And it is pretty obvious when it’s happening. It doesn’t happen a lot but it can be noticed when seen.

I think our last Ashes tour of England was a prime example of it. We got out of jail hugely IMO.

I don't think the bolded is a data thing - that's just a lack of flexibility. Happens no matter about how the plan was devised. I think our top order went in with too defensive a grind them plan against India and took too long to change it when it was clearly not working.

But agree on the weakness on a certain ball angle, but that's always been the way and often the knowledge destroys the plan. Eg - Bloke has a weakness to inswingers (if you're bowling outswingers and he's set up for them) Keep bowling inswingers to him and he handles them with ease. bloke has a weakness to bouncers (but only when he gets complacent and isn't expecting them) Bowl them every ball and he's prepared and handles them with ease. I actually think increased data use has improved the certain ball a bit, eg sometimes a bloke just looks dodgy against a certain bowl and it used to be that bowlers would target it, when in reality they might have looked dodgy but rarely got out to it and scored runs.

But shit. If a batsman averages 15 against left arm spin and keeps getting dismissed in the nets against left arm spin in the lead up to a test in SL, I'm not picking them and neither should the selectors, regardless of how well they batted on a seamer. No idea if that applies to any of our young bucks over in Sri Lanka, but something similar sure as hell could.

This one feels like Konstas is a cert, but Webster isn't. And bowlers up in the air. McSweeney the only bloke on tour who doesn't get a mention as an option.

Well, I’m gunna be down for a look tomorrow.

But I’m pretty sure they’ll have had a better look than me.

I wouldn’t pick my nose with McSweeney.

Yeah, I don't like the franchise nature and ridiculous hoopla, but you can seperate that from the format itself. It's a highly skilled format that has added heaps to the game in general in terms of skill, analysis and creativity.
It was all right when it was sparse, there's way too much of it now and the international game has no meaning to it. I also hate it cause it killed ODI cricket. The early 90s/2000s ODI cricket was box office with the old VB tri series. Now I could go without watching an ODI for years and miss nothing

The ODI tri series finals i always hoped it would be 1 all in the best of 3 finals so we'd get another game to watch

Yeah mate how good, only shit part was the evening sessions normally nine news overran the first couple overs and if Gilchrist was already out I was ****ing shattered lol. Or you'd miss a binga first over wicket. Glory days. Teams would go for 200 off 40 and that was an awesome platform, 250+ you normally won, 220+ was defendable

Saw a stat too that our golden era of 95-09 sorta thing Australia won like 75-80% of ODIs aswell.

I was at the tennis one year and Australia were playing the West Indies in a final back when we didn't beat them often. Most of the crowd was listening to the game on the radio and when we won there was a cheer that went up unfortunately it happened as Lendl was about to serve.

1st Test Sri Lanka v Australia Jan 29-Feb 2 1500hrs @ Galle International Stadium