2005 NRL State of Origin.

i want to know the definition of 'forward pass' that the refs rule on.

because theres a hell of a lot of passes that quite clearly are thrown forward, and arent picked up on in league. :rolleyes:

Dutch Wink said:

because theres a hell of a lot of passes that quite clearly are thrown forward, and arent picked up on in league. :rolleyes:
No, you're wrong.

Dutch Wink said:

The definition is that the hands have to go backwards in the passing motion, not that the ball has to travel backwards. It is extremely difficult to run at pace and throw a ball behind you with any sort of consistency. The forward motion of the ball due to you running with it carries it forward unless you throw it way behind you.

Ljp86 said:
Let's settle this once and for all:

AFL > NRL

Anyone who is getting into arguments like the person above has a very small penis (subs. very droopy labia if female).

Watch it if you want. Don't if you don't. Watch AFL if you want, don't if you don't. Personally, I think rugby league is the toughest, most hard fought sporting event in the country. Stats are stats, but after 25 years I believe that the number of series won is equal, the number of games won (must be close to 70 in total) is equal, and Queensland has scored 1 more point in total. Over 25 years. But then I was brought up in Qld and this always was one of the biggest events of the year.

I'm can easily understand non-Queenslanders and non-New South Welshman not caring much for the game. Thats just the way it is .... I never cared passionately about Big V vs. SA, but I'll watch any game of any code of top shelf footy to see top shelf athletes going about their business. I follow the Tiges with only marginally less passion than I exhibit for the state of my birth. I'm not sure if comments like Ljp86's actually achieve anything - its been going on for years and no-one really gives a f*** anymore

Schneiderman said:
The definition is that the hands have to go backwards in the passing motion, not that the ball has to travel backwards. It is extremely difficult to run at pace and throw a ball behind you with any sort of consistency. The forward motion of the ball due to you running with it carries it forward unless you throw it way behind you.

well yeah. of course.

but from an essentially standing start say, 2 passes after a playtheball?

i love you ionic. :)

Homer Jnr said:
QUEENSLANDER!!!!

It is quite an experience up here, and it brings out patriotism and parochialism.

Yeah, it is a chance for Queenslanders to get one up on all the people from civilisation who laugh at them for being the rednecks and bumpkins many of them are. How many people in Sydney run around saying "New South Welshman" and how proud they are to be from there?

It was a great game tonight. Well done to both teams though. a truly surreal sporting spectacle. Bloody Kimmorley, had a shocker! Maybe Johns can come back for Game 2?

JF

finders said:
What a load of **** mate .The Wallabies and Socceroos are far more representative of Australia that a few boofheads from NSW and QLD playing a parochial State game = get your hand off it!
Just your usual Sydney bias thinking their S*** dosent stink.LOL

The Wallabies are NOT representative of al of Australia at all. Rugby is a minor sport that has its heartland in the private schools of both Sydney and Brisbane. It supporter base is largelymiddle to upper class. Rugb y is far far far more marginal than league in both NSW & Qld. Even if it is arguable that the Bledisloe is seen as more important and a bigger spectace than the SOO these days.

Waratahs coach Ewan McKenzie is infact from Melbourne (is a Demons fan, rugby = rich people remember). But apart from that, we see a mishmash of pacific islanders and South Africans who live here for a couple of years so as to play top flight sport.Totai Kefu, Willie Offengauey (sp?) And we then call them our national team. "waltzing Matilda' indeed. :rolleyes:

Do NOT be fooled by the snot-nosed rugger types telling you about how big their sport is. But I DO see things changing massively at least in Western Australia, given the huge largely untapped groundswell of support there seems to be for the Western Force rugger side.

JF

Dutch Wink said:

Don't watch union then. Passes that are a full metre forward get let go in rugger.

JF

I agree that was a great game. I am not a big fan of NRL but I always go for QLD in the origin and I am very happy they won tonight. I was getting a bit bored when they were up 19-0 but then NSW turned the game around and took the lead, was pretty exciting stuff.

dipper86 said:
What a great game tonight. :)
AFL is the greatest sport, but geez you are allowed to like other sports, dont be threatened by it, just enjoy it.

that's what our natives said when the white men arrived.........and they ended up loosing a continent!!!

make no mistake, SOO is the biggest threat to AFL and it must be destroyed if we want our culture to dominate this nation.

i mean, have a look at this thread..........perfectly sane, patriotic and loyal mexicans having orgasms over a stupid game of bum sniffing!!! this rleague is like an insidious disease infecting the minds of unsuspecting mexicans and gradually taking them over and turning them into league lovers.

if we dont act soon our beloved AFL culture will be under threat.......we must complain to ch9 not to show that subversive thug convention before midnight, otherwise too many of our citizens will be tempted to go over to the dark side.

I watched a little bit of it and Queensland was all over N.S.W. They looked asleep. But it looked to be a pretty good game.

seems to be a lot of people threatened by another code
origin is like the afl final to league types, watched for the 'event'

origin works very well in league because of the binary us v them every year times 3 for 25 years, before that nsw v qld was going for 70 odd years

yes they pinched the origin concept, but take a long view
where do you think we got our judiciary system from?

lots of players born/grew up in vic, wa and others have played rep for nsw or qld [the great nsw rep back in the 40's rex harrison was from sa]

many people in both codes from the riverina played both [greg brentnall and paul kelly]

this is nothing short of heresy and we need to set up a mexican inquisition quick smart to weed all the deviants out of our culture before we get swamped by these bum sniffing northern infidels!!!

gibbering gerbil said:
make no mistake, SOO is the biggest threat to AFL and it must be destroyed if we want our culture to dominate this nation.

i mean, have a look at this thread..........perfectly sane, patriotic and loyal mexicans having orgasms over a stupid game of bum sniffing!!! this rleague is like an insidious disease infecting the minds of unsuspecting mexicans and gradually taking them over and turning them into league lovers.

if we dont act soon our beloved AFL culture will be under threat.......we must complain to ch9 not to show that subversive thug convention before midnight, otherwise too many of our citizens will be tempted to go over to the dark side.

I sincerely hope that all of that was said very jokingly and tongue in cheek.

JF_Bay_22_SCG said:
Yeah, it is a chance for Queenslanders to get one up on all the people from civilisation who laugh at them for being the rednecks and bumpkins many of them are. How many people in Sydney run around saying "New South Welshman" and how proud they are to be from there?
Your tone is one of poking fun at the passion of Queenslanders for Queensland by arguing New South Welshman dont exhibit similar passion for New South Wales. Like that somehow reflects badly on QLD. It doesnt. It's more of a reflection on NSW and its inability to collectively get passionate about anything, except perhaps SOO.. but thats only bcoz QLD pi$$ed them off by hammering them into submission in the 80's and early 90's and they realised they had to become more fair dinkum if they were to compete. In other words, they unite behind the Blues bcoz they dont like losing. They think its their birth right to be superior on the football field. They arent. I dont care if NSWs 100th best player is better than QLDs 100th best player, Origin remains 17 blokes in maroon vs 17 blokes in blue.

finders said:
What a load of **** mate .The Wallabies and Socceroos are far more representative of Australia that a few boofheads from NSW and QLD playing a parochial State game = get your hand off it!
Just your usual Sydney bias thinking their S*** dosent stink.LOL
others here have pointed out the flaws in your retort...i'll spare you the further indignity.

btw, another sensational match of SOO rugby league. :D

desie said:
Simple fact is the concept was copied from Australian Football, just like most other policies that the NRL put into place over the years. The only reason it has prospered while the AFL's has died is that there are only two states involved. Very easy to develop a rivalry with no one else to worry about, unlike the AFL who had about 4-5 different states to apease. Could never find an appropriate concept to showcase it in.
and i wonder where the concepts of salary cap, draft, hall of fame, all-australian (all-pro) etc originated?? the AFL has pilfered many of its own initiatives (???) from the American NFL.

there's no harm in using concepts from other sports to enhance the game's organisation and appeal - it certainly has benefit the AFL competition.

The blind hatred of Rugby League on this board never fails to amaze me. All those arguments about "our game is better" and "how can you watch such a boring sport, stop, start, blah, blah" are a load of rubbish.

The fact of the matter is that most of you love sport and cling to the football code that you were bought up on. Those AFL people saying how bad Rugby League is, if you were born and raised in Sydney, Northern NSW or most parts of QLD then you would be following rugby league as passionately as you do AFL. OF course the opposite applies to those RL supporters who bag AFL.

Regards

S. Pete

Stumpy Pete said:
The blind hatred of Rugby League on this board never fails to amaze me. All those arguments about "our game is better" and "how can you watch such a boring sport, stop, start, blah, blah" are a load of rubbish.

The fact of the matter is that most of you love sport and cling to the football code that you were bought up on. Those AFL people saying how bad Rugby League is, if you were born and raised in Sydney, Northern NSW or most parts of QLD then you would be following rugby league as passionately as you do AFL. OF course the opposite applies to those RL supporters who bag AFL.

Regards

S. Pete
Yes, but the real issue is how many supporters in either camp are secure enough to sample a bit of the other codes and perhaps support their local team in another code as well as their lifelong supported club. Conversely, how many are insecure and desire to remain one-code wonders.

2005 NRL State of Origin.