2009 Player Discussion - Part 2

Does anyone have any background, insider knowledge or thoughts on Ben Warren - a rookie forward set to debut for the Kangas (according to Laidley :rolleyes:) this week?

Runs all day... racks up the marks and possessions at VFL level. Is whiter than white and therefore known as Silas.

Occassionally miskicks or scotches a mark. His workrate is his edge...

I have seen him play maybe once or twice.

Thats cool, hes just a mate so was just pointing out that even tho he is top heavy in the mid hes still doing pretty well..
Have him in the 2nd round of league matches will be fun times

Considering Baxters has

Ablett, Bartel, Swan and Cornes.... maybe being top heavy in the mids was not such a bad idea this year.

Considering Baxters has

Ablett, Bartel, Swan and Cornes.... maybe being top heavy in the mids was not such a bad idea this year.

and how is he going so far this year??

I reckon in hindsight that either A/B had to be selected than Swan and Kornes + another keeper whoever they may have been. Gibbs an obvious choice.

and how is he going so far this year??

I reckon in hindsight that either A/B had to be selected than Swan and Kornes + another keeper whoever they may have been. Gibbs an obvious choice.

Have not really checked how he is doing...(2000th?)

As for hindsight, I could have done a number of wonderful hindsight moves.

I could have done a number of wonderful hindsight moves.

Ain't that the truth... He/she who has the benefit of hindsight = Winner of Car! :D

Thanks Harro for the feedback on Ben Warren :thumbsu: Has anybody else got any thoughts? Do you think he'll have a chance of holding his position in the seniors, or are North just giving him a taste? I'm looking at rookie-priced player options to replace Garlett, who I fear may get dropped this week...

Very pleasing week for the Haselby owners this week scoring 100+. But the big test of whether he'll be able to avge the 85+ required to be a good mule will come this week.

He's easily Freo's best user of the footy but slow ..perfect target for a hard tag from a guy like Baker or Jones. Dont think they;d be too concerned with Palmer coz he turns it over so much.

If Haselby can score over 75 this week i'd guess he'll be good for the slow 6-9 week grind up in price. Alternative is to get another kid in for him NOW.

Thanks Harro for the feedback on Ben Warren Has anybody else got any thoughts? Do you think he'll have a chance of holding his position in the seniors, or are North just giving him a taste? I'm looking at rookie-priced player options to replace Garlett, who I fear may get dropped this week...

Can't see him playing enough games to cash in on. Has good scoring potential though.

Thank god for that. Now I just need Cheney and Shoenmakers to play and Ill avoid a zero down back - for this week at least anyway.. ;)

I really dont understand him missing 1 week would mean anyway, what was the point. Hes either got to miss 3-4 weeks or play straight away. 1 week is sitting in between neither going one way or the other. He wouldnt have learnt much or been taught much by missing 1 week of football.

I reckon Petrenko would be the player that might miss out, especially as it seems that shirley and Bock are going to return.

edit: shirley in not petrenko

Who should I start out of M.Brown, T.Walker and J.Zieball? I need 2 of them to start. Thanks.

Chuck Mitch Brown on the bench, and play Walker & Ziebell on the field.
Thank me later. :thumbsu:

I really dont understand him missing 1 week would mean anyway, what was the point. Hes either got to miss 3-4 weeks or play straight away. 1 week is sitting in between neither going one way or the other. He wouldnt have learnt much or been taught much by missing 1 week of football.

This whole incident is the result of a massive media build-up. The club did what it needed to do to avoid the AFL stepping in - they fined him, admonished him for his actions, made him make a donation and suspended him.

Simply going through the motions.

2009 Player Discussion - Part 2