2009 Trade Discussion

ok so im thinking i trade Anthony for Robinson to make money from him. Thoughts..?

Also ive got Steele Sidebottom and Dayne Beams(wanted to trade both out but couldnt get in on the last day) , what are your thoughts about them, should i trade them or will they play?

ok so im thinking i trade Anthony for Robinson to make money from him. Thoughts..?

Also ive got Steele Sidebottom and Dayne Beams(wanted to trade both out but couldnt get in on the last day) , what are your thoughts about them, should i trade them or will they play?

Trade none of em, I'm sure Beams/Sidey will be named this week. If neither are named, then yes do the Anthony trade imo.

Do people think Skipworth is defintely a 22 game player for Essendon? If I make a sideways trade for Butler, and Skipworth averages 80 id be happy to have him as my 7th back.

Anyone who watched the Eagles Brissie game will tell you Butler looked terrible. Slow skills and decision making. When I heard SKipworth scored 120+ i nearly threw up. :(

Do people think Skipworth is defintely a 22 game player for Essendon? If I make a sideways trade for Butler, and Skipworth averages 80 id be happy to have him as my 7th back.

Anyone who watched the Eagles Brissie game will tell you Butler looked terrible. Slow skills and decision making. When I heard SKipworth scored 120+ i nearly threw up. :(

I think you mean 6th mid. If he keeps up the good form and remains injury free you'd think he'll play every game. Wouldn't be happy if my 6th mid was only averaging 80 come the business end of the season though.

On Butler, yeah he looked terrible but he has been out of the game for a long time. Hopefully comes good. An average of 70 is passable from him and will prime him for an upgrade.

What are your thoughts on Darren Glass as a point scorer? I had a few in the back line that I wanted to swap before round 1 started (including glass), but I couldn't log in. I only chucked him in to finalise my side and was always going to swap him out when I'd done more research (which I never got around to). I'd probably rather a back flanker than a full back. He's only worth $183k and I only have $24k left in the kitty. Should I just hold on to him for now and hope for the best?

Cheers

You're taking the pi$s surely?? If not, the fact that you had Glass in the first place, let alone 'never got around to research', and then now expect reasoned advice when you come on here asking for thoughts on him as a points scorer... dear God. I think unless you are prepared to do your own research (or at a minimum copy other peoples research) all you really can do is "hope for the best". You dont need "thoughts on Glass as a points scorer" - you can take 1 minute to go to fanfooty.com and find out his past several years points average to determine that for yourself...

I nealy fell off my chair when i read this, why would you think of trading both:eek:!!

Beams will play this week, as i stated earlier in another thread i will be starting him on the ground in place of Ottens as i think he will score between 60 - 70.

Sidebottom will make his debut anzac day in 3 weeks time...

On another note, i have a question as i dont know how the averages are worked out, appologies if this has been answered.

How long would it take for a Higgins and Skippworth to hit the $350k mark if they are averaging 80?

And With Ottens and Rich averaging around 65 how long would we be expecting before they reach $220 - 240

Thanks in advance, and how do you work the avergaes out for yourself, i.e price rise vs points ave vs rounds played?

I nealy fell off my chair when i read this, why would you think of trading both:eek:!!

Beams will play this week, as i stated earlier in another thread i will be starting him on the ground in place of Ottens as i think he will score between 60 - 70.

On another note, i have a question as i dont know how the averages are worked out, appologies if this has been answered.

How long would it take for a Higgins and Skippworth to hit the $350k mark if they are averaging 80?

And With Ottens and Rich averaging around 65 how long would we be expecting before they reach $220 - 240

Thanks in advance, and how do you work the avergaes out for yourself, i.e price rise vs points ave vs rounds played?

Very hard to say mate with the Magic Number changing if i was to guess i would say it would take Higgins around 5-6 weeks which would mean he would hit 350k by round 8-9.

Ottens and Rich probally only about 3 weeks 4 max. So by round 6-7
they are already priced at 125k

May i ask what makes u think Sidebottom will debut on Anzac day?

Very hard to say mate with the Magic Number changing if i was to guess i would say it would take Higgins around 5-6 weeks which would mean he would hit 350k by round 8-9.

Ottens and Rich probally only about 3 weeks 4 max. So by round 6-7
they are already priced at 125k

May i ask what makes u think Sidebottom will debut on Anzac day?

Cheers Aj,

Beams is a certainty this week, as for Sidebottom i am purely speculating here but my instinct is that he wont play for a few rounds, Malthouse has a reputation for debuting kids Anzac Day, Mark McGaugh is an example, and the fact that i think it would be fitting after his 10 goal TAC cup grand final, that hes first game be that game.

Having said that its horses for courses, could be in sooner.

thanx for that:thumbsu: Is there any chance Sidebottom will be plaing this week because i would rather him than hentshel.

Lets see, these players I'm just not happy/confident with for various reasons -

Raines
Dempsey
Hill

Broughton (bench)
Petrenko (bench)

Anthony (bench)
Beams (bench)

Even if Petrenko and/or Broughton get games I will be strongly considering trading Raines anyway, I'm not 100% confident of him coming back early enough and if I'm going to trade him at some point it might as well be before week 3.

Dempsey was the last spot filled in my team, and I only chose him because of the certainty of his spot in the Bombers line up and there was no one else I was willing to choose in that price bracket. I've heard he can be a ball magnet IF he stays on the park but if he has a sub 50 games this week then I will have to consider trading him off to a Petterd or Frawley, depending on how they go.

Anthony is staying, because...

Beams should play this week. Surely. So I see no point in trading Anthony atm really. I'll make use of other cash cows in the mean time.

Hill, not sure. Didn't have a crash hot game but should get more opportunities. Will be keeping him.

Broughton - should eventually get some games so I'll hang on to him.

After going through that I reckon there's no trades for me this week. However next week could see me doing:

Raines --> Cheney +$100k i think?

Unfortunately that means a very weak backline for me with Dempsey, Cheney and Hill starting. But with Hodge, BJ, Fisher and Chornes it should balance out. Also feel that 100k (which is all that I'll have) could be very useful for a Houlihan/Skipworth to Riewoldt/Pavlich trade at around Round 6 possibly.

Pretty happy if that's how it turns out, considering Hodge, Raines and Petrenko could've all potentially been out for Round 2 forcing me to trade Raines to avoid a donut a bit earlier than I would've wanted to.

DT_fanatic - I had to respond as I have exactly the same dilemma, with exactly the same Defenders :eek: - only difference is I've fortunately got Robinson rather than Beams (switched them late on Weds after Rich vs Carl team came out!). Apart from wanting to save trades, I'm loathe to trade for Petterd yet as he "burnt me" badly last year - from memory he played 1 game early on and then not again till late in the season... Will see how he goes this week. Was very relieved when Hodgey's report was thrown out :) Broughton's stats in the WAFL were also hopeful of him getting a game soon.

Will watch this thread with interest to see if someone on here solves your (our) dilemma :thumbsu:

Edited to add: Do you think Petrenko will be dropped this week - I'm thinking I'll start him on the field this week and leave Hill/Broughton on the bench though knowing my luck, Hill will outscore him!

If you were in a position (as a result of Trade 1 and $'s in the bank) to trade Sam Butler --> Bryce Gibbs, would you do it? :confused:

In a heartbeat! I'm not sure what Butler is priced at, but i don't think he is capable of scoring what Gibbsy is. Gibbs is severely underpriced at the moment and will stamp himself as a DT premium this year. I'd say the difference between the two is 40-50 points or so in Gibbs' favour.

How much is the price difference between Butler and Gibbs?

To the DT veterans

Should I get rid of Daniel Kerr for Travis Tuck and use the extra 65K + proceeds from the sale of Andrew Raines and get Ryan Houlihan? The only thing that worries me is Tuck may not play all 22, not that Kerr will either (suspension). Very disappointed with Kerr's Rd. 1 effort and he looks like he is on a down hill spiral.

My team at the moment:

P.Burgoyne
B.Goddard
C.Cornes
J.Drummond
J.Geary
A. Raines
S. hill
J.Petrenko
M.Suckling

B.Dalziell
D.Wells
K.Cornes
J.Selwood
S.Burgoyne
D.Kerr
A.Otten
L.Anthony

M.Kreuzer
D.Cox
J.Spencer
J.Tippet

H.Skipworth
M.Richardson
L.Franklin
S.Higgins
R.O'Keefe
N.Krakouer
J.Ziebell
T.Walker
M.Brown

Rd 1 DT score: 1940

As a confessed compulsive trader - yes, my opinion of Kerr is he doesn't get enough marks and tackles to get the big score, more of an in an under potential, on top of the fact u need to get rid of Raines, I guess you could look as it as almost a 2 for one prospect?

Im thinking if mundy doesnt look crash hot over the next few rounds, i may well swap him for xavier ellis - will be nice and unique, and i think he has massive upside.

As long as he has returned to (virtually) full fitness, it could be a good move (pending bad form from Mundy of course). Ellis was one of the backs that I had locked in after last season, only to have him injure himself in the offseason. :rolleyes:

Thanks for the feedback :)

Gibbs is $170,800 more than Butler ($216,500) - I'd have to do another trade first (Andrew Raines to player X) and have over $70K in the bank.

I can hold these trades (above) for another week as long as neither Petrenko or Hill are dropped, as I need both on the ground. If Broughton was picked, and one of these 2 were dropped I'd also be OK. In addition, if Butler and Robinson are both dropped this week I'd cop a donut.

Saint KFC:

Everyone had locked him in i think. I wouldnt buy him until he'd played 1-2 games. So i spose that gives mundy etc (he was just an example), till about rounds 5-7 to prove himself. Though by that time, there may also be a better trade on offer (hodge, fisher, etc).

In a heartbeat! I'm not sure what Butler is priced at, but i don't think he is capable of scoring what Gibbsy is. Gibbs is severely underpriced at the moment and will stamp himself as a DT premium this year. I'd say the difference between the two is 40-50 points or so in Gibbs' favour.

Lol what? No way in hell is it 50 points. Butler, at his peak averaged 83-86 I think it was(cbf looking). I'd say if Butler plays what he is capable of, the gap is around 20-25 points. Don't forget Butler scored 90 in the last pre season match. I think a reasonable average from him would be 75. I'd take that.

Gibbs is priced around 387K and Butler around 215K.

I wouldn't trade Butler out just yet, although his place in the side may not be guaranteed if he continues with a few more performances like he did on the weekend.

That said, Gibbs does look the goods.

Relax Lakey. Remember what you told me ;).

Haha, nah in all seriousness this could work out to be a good move. Although If Mundy doesn't score well in the next few weeks you could be looking at a bit of cash lost.