2011 crowds

Just wishful think there SotY.
1998 - 2001 and 2004 had Essendon's crowd figures better than Collingwoods.

"Always" is just too long a time-line to be hanging your hat on.
Things change.

And in 1999 Collingwood were still playing games at Victoria Park.
Collingwood are CROWD KINGS, we own the majority of crowd records. Always will.

I was referring the quality of the supporters.

But if you want to play that game, Pies have won two premierships in the last 50 years to Essendon's six. And we'll get another in 2013.

Yes thats nice, we have won one in the last 10 months. Have you? Please don't make me laugh about 2013. That is Gold. In reference to your comments re quality of supporters it is obvious why your crowd figures can't match Collingwood. We accept everyone. You seem to be rather elitist. Very sad.

And in 1999 Collingwood were still playing games at Victoria Park.
Collingwood are CROWD KINGS, we own the majority of crowd records. Always will.

Biased and clearly ignorant statement.
When Collingwood sit in the bottom 4 and Carlton or Essendon in the top 4, the crowd figures will be reflected accordingly, or maybe I just don't understand your interpretation of "always"

Then again you may just think that Collingwood will "never" have a look at the bottom end of the ladder again.

Have a think about it.

Exactly right. Essendon took the game on and it pulled it off for the first half. Their first half was excellent. The rest was the same as last week. No talls down back so when we lost competitiveness in the midfield we were badly exposed.

Richmond were similar this year with a very young list.

I think we kicked 6 to 2 against the Pies in the 3rd but got blown away like Essendon in the last quarter.

We started to play some really good football after the 3 openers.

Then we hit a patch and the Richmond I don't like came out.

I don't know if it's players getting tired or confidence.

When Collingwood sit in the bottom 4 and Carlton or Essendon in the top 4, the crowd figures will be reflected accordingly, or maybe I just don't understand your interpretation of "always"

Then again you may just think that Collingwood will "never" have a look at the bottom end of the ladder again.

Have a think about it.

You seem to be ignoring the clear historical facts.

Have a think about it.

Richmond first with a million through the gates in a year.

Wait till theTiger army get up.

Shit ,we've given the other big clubs 30 years headstart FFS.

Just bloody wait when we start getting up there.

And we actually make noise.

The very pleasing thing is to see the GC Suns ave over 22,000 a game in their first season.
BTW even if the overall crowds are down slightly this season NO other footy comp comes anywhere near the AFL!

I dont think the AFL would be losing any sleep over the totals just yet!

In reference to your comments re quality of supporters it is obvious why your crowd figures can't match Collingwood. We accept everyone. You seem to be rather elitist. Very sad.

If it's elitist to say that Collingwood is a bogan magnet then I guess I'm elitist.

But of course you're getting huge crowds - the Pies have a massive fan base and have been performing very well for the past few years, including multiple grand final appearances. If anything it's an underwhelming result.

The Bombers, on the other hand, have been very average for a decade, at best we'll finish 8th this year and yet we're sitting at #2 on the crowd tally.

only because Collingwood were playing at Victoria Park, Carlton at Princes Park and Essendon at Windy Hill while Richmond were playing at the MCG. Richmond can't get near these since they all moved to the same ground.

Aah I think the win/loss ratio of the last 30 years has a big say in that mate.

RICHMOND PADDOCK IS OUR HOME.

If it's elitist to say that Collingwood is a bogan magnet then I guess I'm elitist.

But of course you're getting huge crowds - the Pies have a massive fan base and have been performing very well for the past few years, including multiple grand final appearances. If anything it's an underwhelming result.

The Bombers, on the other hand, have been very average for a decade, at best we'll finish 8th this year and yet we're sitting at #2 on the crowd tally.

And to use your words 'Collingwood have only won 2 flags in the last 50 years'
Imagine how big we would be if we had won 6. Collingwood The Crowd KINGS.

The very pleasing thing is to see the GC Suns ave over 22,000 a game in their first season.
BTW even if the overall crowds are down slightly this season NO other footy comp comes anywhere near the AFL!

I dont think the AFL would be losing any sleep over the totals just yet!

The Suns have averaged 19,487 this season. That was boosted by two large crowds at the GABBA. At Metricon, their average is 18,309.

Only if you include finals. Home and away Collingwood were there 6 years before you.

Number of times drawing a million in a home and away season:

Richmond: 1
Collingwood: 15

BTW, Collingwood still drew over a million in a year in which we finished 15th, coming off a bottom 4 finish the previous year. And we outdrew Richmond the last time you made the top 4 (2001), despite it being officially the worst period in Collingwood's history.

But keep telling yourself that you're bigger, it probably helps dull the pain.

When you had home games at the MCG while the other big clubs were still at their traditional home grounds with 30k capacities.

Really all your post shows is that your mob aren't the big passionate supporter base they're always made out to be, rather just a bunch of bandwagoners who only jump on board when the goings good. :thumbsdown:

Pfffft, one of the reasons given for sacking Knights was financial haemorrhaging due to falling crowds. Essendon supporters wouldn't know the meaning of hardship.

The Suns have averaged 19,487 this season. That was boosted by two large crowds at the GABBA. At Metricon, their average is 18,309.

Re: 2011 crowds
Here are the latest club by club crowd stats for 2011 -

Team Games Total Average

Collingwood 17 1.036,113 60,948

Essendon 18 942,396 52,355

Carlton 18 905,432 50,302

Richmond 17 715,614 42,095

Hawthorn 17 706,230 41,543

Geelong 18 693,138 38,508

St Kilda 17 592,659 34,862

West Coast 17 586,829 34,519

Melbourne 17 585,831 34,461

Fremantle 17 533,759 31,398

Adelaide 17 530,548 31,209

Western Bulldogs 18 518,039 28,780

North Melbourne 18 514,486 28,583

Sydney 17 450,196 26,482

Brisbane 17 423,676 24,922

Gold Coast 17 380,473 22,381

Port Adelaide 17 379,699 22,335

TOTAL 147 5,247,559 35,698

Someone has their figures for GC wrong then!

BTW Sydney ,Brisbane, West Coast,Adelaide and Port Adelaide are all down and would be having a pretty negative effect on the overall crowd numbers.

So why didn't Essendon vs Collingwood on a beautiful sunday afternoon get a larger crowd then Essendon vs Carlton the week before.

It's ok too admit you don't always get the best crowds in (I'm looking at you eddiesmith).
Because of the humiliation you lot dished out to them they wouldnt show up again

We can provide 60-65,000 people but some supporters from the opposition actually have to show up to get a big crowd and the Bombers fans stayed away in their droves

Would love to have seen the crowd for Carlton v Essendon if it was the week after we belted them, on the other hand if Essendon had beaten Carlton then there would have been 90,000 there

Its such a shame that the last time the 2 teams met late in the year with massive implications on the result it was when the MCG was missing a stand

Re: 2011 crowds
Here are the latest club by club crowd stats for 2011 -

Team Games Total Average

Collingwood 17 1.036,113 60,948

Essendon 18 942,396 52,355

Carlton 18 905,432 50,302

Richmond 17 715,614 42,095

Hawthorn 17 706,230 41,543

Geelong 18 693,138 38,508

St Kilda 17 592,659 34,862

West Coast 17 586,829 34,519

Melbourne 17 585,831 34,461

Fremantle 17 533,759 31,398

Adelaide 17 530,548 31,209

Western Bulldogs 18 518,039 28,780

North Melbourne 18 514,486 28,583

Sydney 17 450,196 26,482

Brisbane 17 423,676 24,922

Gold Coast 17 380,473 22,381

Port Adelaide 17 379,699 22,335

TOTAL 147 5,247,559 35,698

Someone has their figures for GC wrong then!

BTW Sydney ,Brisbane, West Coast,Adelaide and Port Adelaide are all down and would be having a pretty negative effect on the overall crowd numbers.

I was talking about home averages. How is an AAMI Stadium or Patersons Stadium crowd relevant to GC when they get about 6 of their own supporters along? Their home averages are 19k - that is the only meaningful point of comparison.

The home averages for all clubs are as follows -

Team Hosted Average Highest Lowest Total
Collingwood 9 60,280 88,181 35,773 542,519
Carlton 8 54,485 85,936 37,607 435,877
Essendon 9 52,040 89,626 33,631 468,361
Richmond 9 44,772 83,563 10,382 402,948
Hawthorn 8 39,180 78,579 14,604 313,443
Geelong Cats 9 37,658 81,691 22,420 338,926
West Coast Eagles 8 37,422 40,567 35,878 299,377
St Kilda 8 36,051 47,762 26,546 288,404
Adelaide Crows 9 34,847 42,536 23,063 313,622
Fremantle 9 34,623 41,055 28,646 311,609
Melbourne 8 33,489 75,998 7255 267,909
North Melbourne 10 27,363 41,332 16,014 273,629
Western Bulldogs 9 26,680 39,141 10,184 240,120
Sydney Swans 9 26,669 38,053 19,449 240,017
Port Adelaide 8 21,636 33,143 16,274 173,091
Brisbane Lions 8 21,145 24,921 17,276 169,160
Gold Coast Suns 9 19,487 27,914 12,111 175,380

Totals 147 35,744 89,626 7255 5,254,392

Sorry about the formatting but the info's there.

I think these are really good numbers considering that their home ground can only hold 24-25 K. The AFL average crowd per game last year was about 37K so it is no suprise that the averages are down a little bit, due to the introduction of a ground that only holds 25K. An interesting thing to do would be to remove the Gold Coast games and compare the average attendences with last year. I would suggest that it would be very close or even exceed the 37K mark. Sorry if this has been suggested before it was a lot of pages to read through.

removed Gold Coast home games: AFL average attendances: 36755
removed All Gold Coast games: AFL average attendances: 37439

2010 Home and Away averages : 36901

With out the Gold Coast the AFL average attenances would be up 1.5%

The teams that were in the competition last year have overall increased their average crowd numbers.

2011 crowds