2011 Official AFL Fixture

The draw once again proves that Collingwood dictate to the AFL who they play and when. For the premiers to get such an easy draw is insulting.

Yet the AFL have over the past few years tried to make Carlton's passage back to the top of the heap simple with pretty easy draws, but they can't seem to get past the elimination final. So once again they have done it with next years fixture.

So the big question is - what jumper are Collingwood going to wear in Rd 2?

The one with the Gold Emblem stating that says AFL 2010 premiers.

A question for someone in the know; does the AFL have a contract with Etihad Stadium management in terms of the minimum amount of matches there per year?

Because I have no idea otherwise why we have received a home game there on a Sunday against Richmond.

http://www.afl.com.au/
Footy Fiesta forever
Supporters should be dancing on the ceiling Lionel Richie-style with a quirk of the 2011 fixture providing 14 games in 11 days
http://www.afl.com.au/

"Quirk?" Aren't we used to 16 games in 10 days?

Day 1 - Friday (1 game)
Day 2 - Saturday (4 games)
Day 3 - Sunday (3 games)
Day 4 - Monday
Day 5 - Tuesday
Day 6 - Wednesday
Day 7 - Thursday
Day 8 - Friday (1 game)
Day 9 - Saturday (4 games)
Day 10 - Sunday (3 games)

I hope North hold out and force the issue, and Collingwood are forced to take a clash jumper like every other club!

Home side shouldn't have to wear a clash strip, but this shit still happens to several clubs.

I understand where Collingwood is coming from and my club is happy for both teams to wear their home strip, but the issue is with AFL, Broadcasters and Collingwood. We just shouldn't be the scapegoat. If there was one testicle amongst everyone at AFL HQ, the shit wouldn't be dumped on us.

FREMANTLE plays at the MCG 3 times in regular games

shock horror

i bet they all have had a heart attack at Freo :D

ps : the last i heard is that all Freo players were given a map on where the MCG is and how to get there

A question for someone in the know; does the AFL have a contract with Etihad Stadium management in terms of the minimum amount of matches there per year?

Because I have no idea otherwise why we have received a home game there on a Sunday against Richmond.

We requested our games moved to MCG and the AFL denied us, wouldn't allow us to move any there. We play Collingwood at that shithole. Interstate sides get more games at the MCG than we do...

I don't think playing teams coming off the bye is necessarily as bad as it's being made out. Isn't the trend after the split round that teams usually struggle for the first half after their week off against teams who had the break in the first week?

pretty sure st kildas first halves after weeks off are well well under their normal standard

We requested our games moved to MCG and the AFL denied us, wouldn't allow us to move any there. We play Collingwood at that shithole. Interstate sides get more games at the MCG than we do...
So the Dogs are allowed to sell their games from Etihad to Darwin, but Geelong must play a game at Etihad instead of in Geelong? Strange.

Let’s face it the AFL is screwing over Norths, because they wouldn't move much further north. Get use to it. Your next option will be to move south.

Embarrass the AFL and make the finals like we did last year.

Not really.

We just sell games that wouldn't attract a good crowd in Melbourne and make a fortune out of it.

Aren't you guys looking into it?

Hey mate, it wasn't a troll.

You guys do very well out of Tassie.

Its just that I now look at Hawthorn as the club that plays a third of its home games in tassie, year in, year out. So that's not 'flogging games'. Its a regular thing for you. You've built a relationship there etc etc.

Its teams like the Tiges who have a newfound love for Cairns that are flogging games.

And yes, as I said before Tiger fans, I'd love for North to be able to flog a game to WA.

And I hope the AFL fine comes with a one and lots of zeros on it. Although I doubt the AFL will have the guts. Collingwood will just bribe North to wear an alternate strip.

A fine isn't going to matter - Collingwood would wear a $50k fine every couple of years

Stripping premiership points would be the only solution.

While I agree that Collingwood do infact have an alternative strip that looks quite different (particularly to St Kilda) - i still think there is a clash with north

It great to see the AFL have help out that Homeless looking guy in his gold jacket this year, He has less travel from his cardboard box at the G and only a bus ride away from the away games

To make this draw fair, I say build a ground at Uluru and everyone must travel

2011 Official AFL Fixture