Mega Thread 2012 - your best 22's, your forward structures and team set-ups

I really enjoy reading this thread, particularly posts in depth views of players in each position and debates over who is in or out of the team. One thing that is obvious is the fact that we have depth in all positions around the ground. Our depth for me is stronger in defence and midfield, than the forward line.

I really hope we have a good run with injuries this year.

Re the forward line, if buddy goes down, we are screwed. Plain and simple. Roughie will take time to come back to his true self. They are the only two KPF we have. So I guess, a discussion would be how else can swing in? Hale can, but not good enough as a permanent FF. Shoey can swing in, and I can see this happen in 2012, however, I would like to see him secure his spot and confidence in the back half first.

So with Lisle gone, who else is there?

Gunston is a lead up forward and is very raw, extremely raw. I can’t see anyone else who can play inside forward 50 as a key forward?

The other one I would like to see as a set up (to mix it up) if clearing the 50 for Cyril only with Buddy playing on the HFF and Rough somewhere around.

The other key development of our forward line is the resting ruckman. We will and have been killed by the resting ruckman who attacks us and we cannot defend. We need to attack back. This is where Max Bailey needs to improve this year. Both in his marking around the ground and pushing forward to take a grab and kick goals. I would really like to see 15+ goals from Big Max this year, further he needs to improve his defensive skills. The 2nd ruckman will need to push forward as well, this will be the role of Rough or Hale (hopefully Rough if fit). I still cant see rough and hale in the same team.

I think we can improvise something during the regular season if Franklin were to go down and Rough not be up to speed yet. Given the depth we have in other areas, it could be seen as a great opportunity for someone to step up - or for us to structure very differently.

Remember that our game plan at times relied on us bringing the ball up to the half-forward arc and moving from side to side until we find a target inside 50. That target could be any on Rioli, Bruest, Osbourne or Poppy while Hale or Bailey act as the deep bomb-it-long option. Not great but probably enough to get us over the line against most teams in combination with some on-the-run goals from midfielders.

It's in the finals that we would really be found wanting if Franklin was missing and Rough still not firing. You see time and again that small forwards struggle under the increased pressure of finals and this is where I'm sure the fitness staff will be aiming to make sure Rough is in peak condition rather than rushing any part of his recovery for the early rounds.

I have a feeling that Boumann will be given chances very early on, I mean why else would he have been sorted out? It's not as if Schoenmakers has entrenched himself in the best 22.
Is it a risk having Gilham, Stratton, Ellis - who have had significant injuries the last few years, in the same backline, all at the one time?
Probably a stupid question as it really means nothing but who knows what Clarko has in mind.
Could Guerra return to the forward line and play the Max Rooke type role where he is an enforcer who can jag a few goals? He's 29 and with an abundance of medium defenders, I think he could be a bit of a weapon.

I have a feeling that Boumann will be given chances very early on, I mean why else would he have been sorted out? It's not as if Schoenmakers has entrenched himself in the best 22.
Is it a risk having Gilham, Stratton, Ellis - who have had significant injuries the last few years, in the same backline, all at the one time?
Probably a stupid question as it really means nothing but who knows what Clarko has in mind.
Could Guerra return to the forward line and play the Max Rooke type role where he is an enforcer who can jag a few goals? He's 29 and with an abundance of medium defenders, I think he could be a bit of a weapon.
Whilest i don't believe he's a lock just yet. I do believe he would be ahead of Boumann. Its my belief that Schoey will play 22+ games for us next year all things going well. He is a talent and will improve as the season progresses.

Agreed, I hope he makes it, because he was elite junior who could be a 6-10 year defender if everything falls in to place.

You make some very interesting and valid points mate.

I think most believe Boumann was picked up purely as insurance, for now at least anyway. I like the look of the kid but I don't know enough about him to comment either way really - would be great if he was given early opportunities and grabbed them though!

Schoey hasn't entrenched himself in the 22 yet, no, but he's on his 4th pre-season now and looking bigger and better than ever, not to mention he played some fairly decent and consistent footy toward the end of last season, showing that he's surely on the improve. Needs to be given every opportunity this year, be it down back or up forward.

Don't worry about Stratts either, he'll be fine, he's basically Superman.....well around these parts he is anyway ;). Not too sure about Ellis, hoping he gets his chance but with so many others overtaking him over the past 2 years he may struggle. The guy can play IMO, just needs his body to work with him. Will also be interesting to see how Gilham copes with his return....so many different factors to play out early in the season.

Your most interesting point though, is re: Guerra making a return to the forward line this year. I really like the idea....well it has plenty of merit anyway. As you say, we do have a stack of medium defenders now, and some fairly good ones at that. With Suckling stepping up his game last year and playing a very similar role to Goo, I reckon this move, even on a part time or 'need to' basis, could pay big dividends. Reckon Buddy and co. would love the lace-out delivery they'd get from him too.

Good post mate :thumbsu:

Your most interesting point though, is re: Guerra making a return to the forward line this year. I really like the idea....well it has plenty of merit anyway. As you say, we do have a stack of medium defenders now, and some fairly good ones at that. With Suckling stepping up his game last year and playing a very similar role to Goo, I reckon this move, even on a part time or 'need to' basis, could pay big dividends. Reckon Buddy and co. would love the lace-out delivery they'd get from him too.

Good post mate :thumbsu:

As far as 'succession' planning goes it makes sense - Suckling is an 'attacking' back in the same vein as Goo with lethal disposal, so we lose nothing in negating tactics/forces.

However, if Suckling and Goo where to play in the backline at the expense of Murphy, we have lost a 'negating' option as well as a leader - we go backwards and seriously need the mids to not only decrease supply, but make it erratic - moreso than we do now.

So Goo would end up competing for the forward flank with Ossie which may not be such a bad thing - both are now in the twilight of their careers, both can exert that forward pressure we all love, and both can turn a game - not off their own boot - but with clever linkwork.

Just don't expect miracles from Goo, or Ossie for that matter, one thing that has not changed about footy since day dot is that the HFF is one of, nee the hardest place to play on the ground, and it doesn't get any easier at all in a Buddy Franklin forwardline.

But they do their job.

Agree. Just look what it did for Yarran, and Cyril is better than he is. Imagine Cyril getting 25 touches off half back *drool*

Sorry, I don't buy it, you would have to do better than that. It took me some time to buy the idea of Roughead as CHB. My argument for keeping Roughead in the fwd line was that he is one of the best fwds going around, not that far off behind Franklin, also means he is double teamed. I did suggest to go out and get an average backman to do similar job that roughead could do and looks like that is what we have done, so I am sticking to my idea of Cyril in the fwd line.

Second half of the year he had something like average of 12 posession and 9 of those were goal assists. He would have to the most damaging player with ball in hands in the fwd line and to cause most damage he would have to play in fwd line. He can do things that others cannot do and that is not only hitting players on lead but finding stationary players. He is able to dance around and find players and if he brings down a player, there is probably a free kick and chance at a goal. We recruited gunston and obviously if we want the fwd line to be more dangerous, he should play there. I cannot imagine what value you get from him playing in the back line. I see even less logic than playing roughead in backline. It would be nice to think he can get 25 possessions, but even so, you would want those possessions closer to goal. He needs to get his hamstrings right and if it is an issue, less time in middle and more in fwd line.

I think we'll see further tinkering of our line up this year - players like smith and pops firmly entrenched themselves in the 22 last year and I think we'll further players get opportunities.

The key areas I think we will focus on:
-Tinkering with the backline to find a combo that can handle geelong/pies power forwards. We also have a plethora of mid-sized backs so competition for spots will be intense. Sounds like litherland and possibly langers will get opportunities. I really liked rioli in the backline in last years nab cup - just split teams open. Burgoyne did his best work down back last year and birchall was outstanding so a bit spoilt for choice

-Pace through the midfield and succession planning for when sewell and mitchell finish up. We also often get burnt on the transition when we turn it over
Reckon WX will see some serious midfield time - but not sure who else? Breust if he bulks up? Savage and smith are the outside run and I reckon hill will get some game time.

-Additional targets up forward
If gunston doesn't work out I reckon stratton could be a good option as a 3rd tall - is such a good mark. Ossie is on the decline and with WX in middle will need some more forward options (maybe langers to replace WX role?). Overall I think we're a little light on up forward, especially mids/smalls - we have a lot more natural backs then forwards. Smith has great goal sense but appears better on a wing. I don't like pop up fwd - just lacks a forwards instincts in crucial moments (e.g see pies game).

-2nd ruck - think lowden, grimley and roughie will get time. Will be interesting if we play roughy as 2nd ruck when he's back to full fitness.

B: Rioli Gibson Litherland
HB: Burgoyne Shoey Birchall
C: Smith WX Savage
HF: Langers Buddy Gunston
F: Breust Roughie Stratton
R: Bailey Mitch Hodge
Int: Sewell, Lewis, Suckling, Pops
Emg: Murphy, Lowden, Bateman, Ossie, Ellis etc (geez we have some depth)

I find it difficult to believe anyone would play Stratton in the forward line. Stratton, Gibson and Birchall are our best defenders followed by daylight daylight and daylight.

Why on earth would you contemplate playing him elsewhere?

Stratton to the forward line will be the big structural move we'll pull in round 17 as we charge towards the finals.

It will release Buddy to the midfield and Hodge to the backline.

Opposition won't know what hit 'em.
Until now, when you let the cat out of the bag :p

This year If we happen to finish again in the top 4, there is going to be some dissappointed players. But that will make the competition for spots in our team all the more stronger. With players knowing that If you perform no matter what player and what position you play, Clarko will play them if they peform. 2012 could see Lowden Hallahan Boumann and Schneider become the Savage Shiels Suckling and Breust of 2011.

Round 1 can not come quick enough! lol

B: Gibson Gilham Stratton

HB: Birchall Schoenmakers Guerra

C: Lewis Mitchell Smith

HF: Rioli Franklin Savage

FF: Puopolo Roughead Gunston

R: Bailey Hodge Sewell

I/C: Hale, Shiels, Suckling

S: Whitecross

EMG: Breust, Osborne, Bateman

I like that! But one problem, IN: Breust OUT: Whitecross :thumbsu:
If we were to guess the 22 players that will play Round 1 I reckon you could get like 20/22 of those listed players you have there. :thumbsu:

I like that! But one problem, IN: Breust OUT: Whitecross :thumbsu:
If we were to guess the 22 players that will play Round 1 I reckon you could get like 20/22 of those listed players you have there. :thumbsu:

Still too tall and sluggish down back for mine, and Whitecross isn't going anywhere I'm afraid lebo, he'll play 15+ games this year barring injury.

You're a bit down on whitecross mate.. What's the gripe?

One of the most important young players in the team for mine.

I like Whitecross, and I like what he was able to achieve in 2011. But it was a choice of Savage Whitecross and Breust for that last spot in our team. I put Savage and Breust ahead of him.

Here's my latest thoughts:

B: Gibson Stratton Suckling

HB: Birchall Schoenmakers Guerra

C: Savage Mitchell Smith

HF: Rioli Franklin Hodge

FF: Puopolo Hale/Roughead Gunston

R: Bailey Lewis Sewell

I/C: Whitecross, Shiels, Burgoyne

S: Breust

EMG: Gilham, Osborne, Bateman

I reckon the defence will be based on Stratts and Shoey taking the two top forwards, with Gibbo taking the third best and being third man up where possible. Goo, Suckers and the Birch provide an amazing amount of rebound and all six have great skills.

I want speed on the wings and that is Smith and Savage. These two make up for the lack of zing in the rest of the midfield (barring when Cyril and Pops rotate through). Still have great contested players through Sewell, Mitch, Hodge, Lewis, Shiels..... Of course the midfield is getting fed by big Max, who takes another step up:D

The attack is based around three talls, but at least two of them are very fast and mobile in Buddy and Gunston. I think the other KPF needs to be our second ruck as it is vital we have three runners on the bench. I have Hale likely at the start and Roughy once fully recovered. I think Roughy will be able to handle the ruck this time round as shouldn't have to be in the ruck for as long (hopefully big Max can take 70-80% of the duties). These three will likely rotate the ruck through the year.

The other factor with this forward line is the spread of goalkickers and essentially all six (maybe five when Hale is there) will put great forward pressure on. Imagine being in a defence where you get the ball and are immediately set on by either Junior boy or Pop:D. Add the class of Hodge or other resting midfielders like Burgers and you have a potent set up. I also will be banking on the midfielders contributing a few (especially the wingers).

Pressure on players to perform will be coming from the named emergencies and Ellis, Bruce (maybe:p), the other of Hale/Roughy, Young, Murph, and all the youngsters!!!!!

Yet again another side picked without Murphy in it.

We all know he will be in the side round 1 if he is fit - ACTion Hawks who misses from your side for Murphy? I would have thought Whitecross unless Whitecross is sub and Breust misses.

Bottom line is there is no doubt there will be injuries come round 1 so you would expect both Whitecross and Breust to be in the side unless injured themselves.

Yet again another side picked without Murphy in it.

We all know he will be in the side round 1 if he is fit - ACTion Hawks who misses from your side for Murphy? I would have thought Whitecross unless Whitecross is sub and Breust misses.

Bottom line is there is no doubt there will be injuries come round 1 so you would expect both Whitecross and Breust to be in the side unless injured themselves.

Did you know that since Round 1 2007, both Young and Ellis have played in the Round 1 matches during the last 5 years in a row. I'm not saying there both going to play in Round 1. But knowing Clarko I wouldn't be all that suprised if Young and Ellis both played against Collingwood in Round 1.

Mega Thread 2012 - your best 22's, your forward structures and team set-ups