2013 All Australian Team Announcement

Whether you like Mitchell or not, he deserved an AA selection this year. FFS we finished 1st. Are you telling me that Hawthorn should only have one player in the AA team? I know you hate Hawthorn, but Mitchell has again been our best player this year along with Roughead. Don't like it? To bad.
Mitchell deserved his spot on the HBF

Well Barlow is such a dud that he couldn't even make the final 40 cut..............o_O
Considering Figjam Jakovich usually has plenty to say, you would think he may have supported a few more non-vic players in the squad. Perhaps the rest of the selection group do what most do - nod at him and then completely ignore :D
Don't blame Jacko. Just quietly and this may upset you, but he loves Freo.

Blame the Vic based selectors.

I think he actually does very well in the distance gained per possession stat, one of the hardest working mids going around. He's a gun, stop with the bitter tears.

He's a great player don't get me wrong, works hard to get the cheap possessions, I just think I'd rather have Kieran Jack starting on the ball a guy who actually works as hard defensively as he does offensively and fights for every possession he gets opposed to deliberately handballing to team mates who are flat footed and facing away from goals so they have to give it back to him. That's what I call a selfish football who will do anything for a possession, not the win.

Cameron gets in cause he kicks goals ... Jack Reiwoldt kicks the most goals last year dosent get a mention ... AA selection is a joke i could choose a team that will flog this AA side

I think he actually does very well in the distance gained per possession stat, one of the hardest working mids going around. He's a gun, stop with the bitter tears.

After Round 19, these were the top 20 for metres gained, with average metres gained per possession (from Inside Football):

Player|Total|Avg|Retain %
\Malceski|625.4|26.7|62.1
\Ablett|553.3|17.0|66.5
\Montagna|545.4|19.6|67.3
\Swan|541.2|17.1|67.0
\Griffen|532.8|17.8|66.0
\Hanley|529.7|24.0|68.8
\Stanton|514.6|20.4|67.4
\Johnson|512.9|17.5|66.7
\Fyfe|504.6|19.1|59.7
\Walker|502.6|22.1|73.2
\Dangerfield|488.7|20.9|64.3
\Douglas|475.1|21.1|67.6
\Jack|471.1|18.2|69.6
\Mitchell|469.5|16.2|74.2
\Wingard|467.5|21.1|68.8
\McVeigh|464.5|17.4|71.5
\Prestia|464.1|18.4|68.3
\Ebert|463.6|19.8|67.5
\Enright|463.1|20.6|74.2
\Boyd|458.2|15.9|67.0

Don't blame Jacko. Just quietly and this may upset you, but he loves Freo.

Blame the Vic based selectors.
Oh really? Well this is just a succession of AA teams that have somehow ignored amazing seasons by a non-vic based player. So Jako has either NFI or is on the committee as an afterthought or BOTH!
Barlow will severely embarrass the AA selectors on Brownlow night.

Pffft, non-Victorians are over-represented in all the awards based on a number of players selected:wins ratio.
So you consider Mackie instead of Fyfe, or Enright instead of Malceski, good selections on this basis?

I have no inherent bias towards WA. I support WC and have lived in WA on and off, but I am a Victorian. Most of my family live here, my parents aren't from WA, my university studies have been predominantly in Victoria and I live here now.

I simply think that a bias towards Geelong exists in the media here and because of team success, sometimes certain players get greater recognition than more deserved opposition. Likely because it is a lazy choice as well.

Would have swapped Mackie and Watson for Motlop and Fyfe. Everything else is a-ok.

I reckon Stokes should have made the team ahead of Mackie. He was stiff. Averaged 28 disposals a game did Stokes and what was without a doubt the best season of his career. How he missed out on the AA squad I'll never know. :confused:

They need to either turn over their committee more regularly or have a larger committee who selects the squad.

Hearing Darcy read out the latest Bulldogs entrant on tv tonight was not a good look.Not necessarily saying both weren't deserving selections- more importantly it looks bad.

My suggestion is having a committee of 18 people who choose the All-Australian team.

preferably one representative per club who ATTENDS at least 15 matches per year and hands in a report after each match to the committee chairman. Alternatively half the votes could come from the members of the public on the AFL website.

This will eliminate the perception of bias that seems to be creeping into the selection process.

Another thing that annoys me is that a player has to build a reputation first before they are selected. Chad Wingard was a breath of fresh air exception...he got selected as his year was TOO good to be ignored.

I refer to Kieran Jack last year- (no real rep. last year -so they overlooked him).
At beginning of 2013 he is a premiership player, finals player etc...had a good year but also a rep.
Made it easier to select him in 2013, but overlook him in 2012.

Jobe Watson being selected... so obviously having AOD 9604 is ok now.

Oh really? Well this is just a succession of AA teams that have somehow ignored amazing seasons by a non-vic based player. So Jako has either NFI or is on the committee as an afterthought or BOTH!
Barlow will severely embarrass the AA selectors on Brownlow night.
Mate, this Jacko thing, completely unnecessary.

Not the brightest light, but the AA is usually a consensus decision with a little wrangling.

Healy, not Jacko has been the main WC advocate in the past. We also didn't have a single player make the team, which if your claims of bias are to be believed, would be more important than no Freo players.

No the real reason is, simply weight of numbers for the panelists and likely, directives from on high about certain players making the team, with shuffling done around this.

So you consider Mackie instead of Fyfe, or Enright instead of Malceski, good selections on this basis?

I have no inherent bias towards WA. I support WC and have lived in WA on and off, but I am a Victorian. Most of my family live here, my parents aren't from WA, my university studies have been predominantly in Victoria and I live here now.

I simply think that a bias towards Geelong exists in the media here and because of team success, sometimes certain players get greater recognition than more deserved opposition. Likely because it is a lazy choice as well.

Fair enough to pick on individual selections and debate their merits, but I get a bit sick of the constant, sweeping claims of "Victorian bias" when in fact the opposite is evident.

Not Vic bias, just weight of numbers and exposure of selectors.

I reckon it accounts for safe picks like Enright, where consensus trumps polarised opinions.

Where is this evident?

I can't be arsed pulling out up-to-date stats at 12:30 at night, but you can take my word for it that, on the basis of wins per player selected (AA) and eligible players per nomination (Rising Star), the non-Victorian clubs do very well, thank you.

They need to either turn over their committee more regularly or have a larger committee who selects the squad.

and get rid of anyone on the afl committee or afl board being a selector.

surely it's a weird look to have the ceo part of the selection committee? he is there to run the game, not pick teams and rate players.

Almost as odd as the concept of him being on the independent commission!

Mate, this Jacko thing, completely unnecessary.

Not the brightest light, but the AA is usually a consensus decision with a little wrangling.

Healy, not Jacko has been the main WC advocate in the past. We also didn't have a single player make the team, which if your claims of bias are to be believed, would be more important than no Freo players.

No the real reason is, simply weight of numbers for the panelists and likely, directives from on high about certain players making the team, with shuffling done around this.
My point D&M, is that obviously he has no influence. He has been on the committee for some years now and the story is the same. You only need listen to some of the insane crap comments he makes in the media (the last one - slamming Lyon for resting sore players in rd23...... wut?) to understand why his opinion is possibly not heeded on these sort of important things. Being a good player does not make a good analyst of the game. Move him on FFS!

I can't be arsed pulling out up-to-date stats at 12:30 at night, but you can take my word for it that, on the basis of wins per player selected (AA) and eligible players per nomination (Rising Star), the non-Victorian clubs do very well, thank you.

Please don't tell me you are including expansion team players in your rising star stats.

The Bullies seem to have done well this year and how Jamar got a gig I'll never know.

Name AA's from bottom 4 non-Vic teams not named Gary Ablett? Name AA's from bottom 4 Vic teams that have made it?

Bias, Phhffft!

What a joke that Cameron ling can select his former teammates.Mackie the worst all Australian since...Leon Davis? What a howler ahead of fyfe or hodge.

Jeremy Cameron will be an excellent player but every key forward in the squad was more deserving of a spot. Token award.

No respect for hawthorn or Fremantle again. Bigger fish to fry.

Which team did selector Mark Evans work at prior to taking up his position with the AFL?

2013 All Australian Team Announcement