2013 crowds thread

What do you expect?
The club is barely two years old and BTW have a look at Hawthorns crowds when the first came into the VFL from 1925 they were the worst and stayed that way for a very long time and that was in a Melbourne heartland.

GWS will take time just like Hawthorn,Footscray and North Melbporne did and still after 88 years in the VFL /AFL the WB and North still get smaller crowds that the other Vic sides.

Other examples from football heartlands are Port and Freemantle who both still ave less that the longer existing teams in the Crows and WCE.So stop the whingeing.

You can't compare the Giants with the new sides of 1925. I'm comparing the Giants to the Suns. You know, as they have both came into the AFL in the past few years, both in non-AFL heartlands.

And look, the Suns were averaging 6k more than the Giants in their second year when everyone was questioning whether they weer suffering the second year blues.

A second year winless team without an established superstar of the league not drawing crowds?

Well might as well fold them,

The AFL set the giants up for not short term gain, in 20 years if the stadium looks the same then panic

I reckon GWS is scrutinised much more than the Suns, and fair enough i suppose, every sporting website that caters for a variety of sports has plenty of anti GWS posters willing to put the boot in at every oppurtunity, AFL haters if you like.

I would be very hesitant to turn up to watch my team beaten by a 100 points every game, those supporters that do, you have to hand it to them.

When that team becomes semi competetive, the fans will show.
Exactly right.

And I love these people who say the crowd at Skoda Stadium was fudged, from the TV coverage....

Those that have actually been know that the majority sit on the broadcast side. I moved over that side myself as I was looking straight into the sun.

About a quarter full was right.

The AFL would be fudging the numbers for GWS. no way was that ground 1/4 full. the far stand upper tier was completely empty and that would hold 2-3k alone. The AFL have lost the fight for Western Sydney to the NRL and A-league but they will pump millions into it for as long as they want. The NRL may lose ground to them but the WSW are only going to grow and whilst they averaged 12k they were selling out the big fixtures so if they had a bigger stadium the avg would have jumped significantly. And Kevin Sheedys comments have only hurt their chances of bigger crowds

I was at the game. it was about 1/5th full. The AFL don't operate the venue, the Royal Agricultural Society of NSW do. You can't possibly believe the RAS NSW s committing fraud?

We haven't lost the fight for WS, because it has literally just begun. Let's put this crowd (again) into perspective. The previous night the West Tigers got a crowd of 7k. SEVEN THOUSAND.

As to the wanderers, before they were winning they were getting sub 10k crowds. They are a soccer team playing in the biggest heartland of the sport, that won the premiership, and they still only managed to average 2k more people to their games than an AFL club in the an expansion market that won 2 games for the year. You're kidding yourself if you think the AFL is walking away from WS, the battle's only just beginning. The 5k or so fans in WS are the base. They are the people that show up when the club gets pumped week in, week out. When they start winning games that base will grow, as it did with the Swans in 1996.

yes so the opening games have saved them...now they are lucky to get anywhere near 10k with thousand of free tickets

You should see what happens to the Wanderers' average when you remove derby games too....

GWS got a crowd of 23k, it helps their average. That's how averages work.

I was at the game. it was about 1/5th full. The AFL don't operate the venue, the Royal Agricultural Society of NSW do. You can't possibly believe the RAS NSW s committing fraud?

We haven't lost the fight for WS, because it has literally just begun. Let's put this crowd (again) into perspective. The previous night the West Tigers got a crowd of 7k. SEVEN THOUSAND.

As to the wanderers, before they were winning they were getting sub 10k crowds. They are a soccer team playing in the biggest heartland of the sport, that won the premiership, and they still only managed to average 2k more people to their games than an AFL club in the an expansion market that won 2 games for the year. You're kidding yourself if you think the AFL is walking away from WS, the battle's only just beginning. The 5k or so fans in WS are the base. They are the people that show up when the club gets pumped week in, week out. When they start winning games that base will grow, as it did with the Swans in 1996.

Agree with everything you wrote. Just to add a bit more context. Of the seven NRL games played so far this round, three had crowds of less than 10k, six had crowds of less than 12k. That includes 11,344 to a Bulldogs home game at ANZ stadium and 7,125 to see the Wests Tigers at Leichhardt Oval. The combined total for the seven games comes to 77,815, less than the AFL got to one game in its heartland last night. There are heartlands, and there are heartlands.

You should see what happens to the Wanderers' average when you remove derby games too....

GWS got a crowd of 23k, it helps their average. That's how averages work.

the derby games couldnt fit into the stadium they play in so they had the potential for heaps more. the WSW actually create an atmosphere at their games that makes people want to turn up win or lose so i strongly believe they will only grow bigger and stronger. their average is limited due to their stadium size. and lets not forget thats all done after a few months preparation. GWS will grow a bit over time but will never have the popularity of WSW or NRL teams. but its all about the TV rights.

28k for Hawks Vs GC today. Last year they played Hawthorn at the MCG and got from memory 23k. This may indicate that GC are starting to earn the respect of footy fans.

That game was at 4:40 on a Sunday, a terrible time for attending footy imo. Hawthorn were also missing Franklin, Rioli and Mitchell. Also have a look at our draw around that game - Collingwood, Essendon, Geelong, Port, GC, Sydney, WC, finals. Those three factors make it easy to see how fans would skip that game, as it was always going to be the worst spectacle for two months, our most exciting players weren't out there, and it was at a terrible time for attending.

2013crowdsr9.png

Interesting Wookie and helpful in that you highlight the ladder positions of the clubs going into the games. Ladder position mirroring as it does form and class is a vital input in turnout. Indeed apart from basic fanbase size it is THE major input.

It may have happened, but has a club outside Coll, Car, Ric and Ess drawn more than 80,000 to a H&A game ?.

It appears the main factor is these clubs and where they are on a ladder.

It may have happened, but has a club outside Coll, Car, Ric and Ess drawn more than 80,000 to a H&A game ?.

It appears the main factor is these clubs and where they are on a ladder.

If you mean has any club done it without their opposition being a 'big 4', then i don't believe it has happened, or not for a long time. If you mean any games only including one 'big 4', then it has happened semi regularly with Hawthorn/Geelong/Saints v Collingwood. There are also many games that have drawn 70k+, but involve clubs that aren't in good ladder positions. One of these includes Hawthorn v Essendon, which is regularly played at Etihad, but would likely draw 80k+ this year if it were at the MCG.

Interestingly, in the last 5 years or so, there aren't many clubs that have drawn 65k+ crowds against non-big 4 teams. Collingwood, Hawthorn, Geelong, Carlton and Essendon are the only ones to do it. Richmond seem to struggle more than the other big 4 to get big crowds to games against Hawthorn, Saint Kilda and Geelong, which the others have managed when they have played at the MCG. Obviously Richmond's inferior ladder position hindered them there, but the others have still managed to nice crowds against said clubs when they weren't running too hot.

If you mean has any club done it without their opposition being a 'big 4', then i don't believe it has happened, or not for a long time. If you mean any games only including one 'big 4', then it has happened semi regularly with Hawthorn/Geelong/Saints v Collingwood. There are also many games that have drawn 70k+, but involve clubs that aren't in good ladder positions. One of these includes Hawthorn v Essendon, which is regularly played at Etihad, but would likely draw 80k+ this year if it were at the MCG.

Interestingly, in the last 5 years or so, there aren't many clubs that have drawn 65k+ crowds against non-big 4 teams. Collingwood, Hawthorn, Geelong, Carlton and Essendon are the only ones to do it. Richmond seem to struggle more than the other big 4 to get big crowds to games against Hawthorn, Saint Kilda and Geelong, which the others have managed when they have played at the MCG. Obviously Richmond's inferior ladder position hindered them there, but the others have still managed to nice crowds against said clubs when they weren't running too hot.

I meant 80k crowds by any teams outside a combination of the big 4.

But just from memory a Collingwood Melbourne game in the 1950's, a Queens Birthday public holiday drew some enormous crowd ( and no, i wasn't there or alive at the time ) :) 80k +

Not really relevant to today though.

Something like 19 of the Hawks last 60 MCG home and away games have drawn 65k plus (8 v Collingwood, 7 v Geelong, 2 v Essendon and Carlton)

Hawthorn v Richmond in round 19 has potential should Richmond be half a show..but the Hawks/Tigers matchup always seems to underwhelm for one reason or another (the fact that they've never played in a final doesn't help)

But just from memory a Collingwood Melbourne game in the 1950's, a Queens Birthday public holiday drew some enormous crowd ( and no, i wasn't there or alive at the time ) :) 80k +

Collingwood v Geelong/Hawthorn have done it comfortably in recent seasons

In 2008 Hawthorn v Geelong drew 86,179 to a round 17 game, in 2011 (78,579) and 2013 (76,300) the Easter Monday fixture got within striking distance of the 'magic' 80,000 mark

There's been heaps invloving Hawks, Cats, Saints, Dees - usually v Pies.

Not involving 'Big 4'
Only two I think
Hawks V Cats 86K
Cats V Dees 81K

Interestingly Tigers have never had more than 70K v anyone besides Blues/Bombers/Pies. Must be all about translational rivalry for them.

North have never had 75K to any H & A match.
Dogs have never had 70K.

There have been 18 games over 80K involving at least one non 'Big 4' team:

Games against non 'Big 4 ' teams to reach 80K
Collingwood: 14 (5 x Geelong, 3 x Hawthorn, 4 x Melbourne, 2 x St Kilda)
Essendon: 2 (1 x Geelong, 1 x Melbourne)
Geelong: 2 (1 x Hawthorn, 1 x Melbourne)
Hawthorn: 1 (1 x Geelong)
Melbourne: 1 (1 x Geelong)

Geelong v Hawthorn in 2008 and Geelong v Melbourne in 1963 are the only 2 instances of a 80K crowd not involving a 'Big 4' team.

Overall, Collingwood have been involved in 51 of the 69 games to get to 80K.

Definitely from those pictures it looks bad but from what I saw on TV that broadcast side was 2/3 full. The 3rd picture those 3 sections of the stadium plus the extra one to the right thats not in the picture, looked 2/3 full from the small amounts that they showed that side of the ground on TV.

Conveniently that photo is taken either at the end of the game or at 3/4 time, when portions of the crowd would've left/wouldn't be in their seats.

Believe what you want, I think that number looked about right.

skoda1.jpg
skoda2.jpg skoda3.jpg

These 3 shots are from the members or broadcast wing of Skoda which a few people have said was quite full. Not even 20% full, rest of the ground 10%.
They are fudging the figures at Skoda like they are at Metricon.

Interestingly Tigers have never had more than 70K v anyone besides Blues/Bombers/Pies. Must be all about translational rivalry for them.

I've been to a couple.

- 71K v St.Kilda at Waverley in 1998
- 76K v Melbourne in the final round, same year

2013 crowds thread