2013 crowds thread

More than what I thought it would be. Is it true you have to get 25k at Etihad to break even?

Not sure but I think it's something around that.

On the Richmond crowd - great turnout for a twilight game, you'd think school holidays would've helped boost it a few thousand but nonetheless 50k+ on Sunday Night is terrific.

Crowd in Launceston was good as well in poor conditions. Good to see them turn out after the poor numbers earlier in the year :thumbsu:

Massive crowd. That's probably the most any club could possibly draw to a Sunday Twilight fixture against a smaller drawing Victorian club in the middle of winter. We play the Tigs in round 19, so hopefully the wagon has fallen off the cliff by then ;)

Looking ahead to this weekend, we could potentially have another two 80k MCG crowds on the cards.

We'll still be in contention come Round 19 so there is every possiblity we will see an all time record Richmond V Hawthorn crowd.

I actually think that there is quite a market for people from O/S that want to experience a game of Australian football, how to tap into it is the key, getting enmasse of fans that are here for another event is the issue.

It may have been a Rugby WC game, where Ireland or England was playing Australia in Melbourne, or perhaps when Dermot Weld ( Spell) had a horse in the Melbourne cup, we had a huge Irish turnout for a International Rules game.

Its a pity that the IR has gone so far out of favour.
I had a chat to a few Rugby fans sitting behind me. Great guys, had a great time explaining the game to them and answering their questions throughout the game (if it were close and we were losing it might of been a little different!)

I was thinking about international people coming to watch the games. I had an idea of a promotion to get people to get along to a game or two whilst they are on holiday.

Offer adults a $5 ticket and kids free if they bring their international passport along with a recent (say 2 month) stamp in it. There are always thousands of empty seats (even at the blockbusters, sold out - 85k, spare me). There would only ever be a couple of hundred MAX. But it would slowly become "one of those things to do" when going to Melbourne. Over time this increases exposure.

I had a chat to a few Rugby fans sitting behind me. Great guys, had a great time explaining the game to them and answering their questions throughout the game (if it were close and we were losing it might of been a little different!)

I was thinking about international people coming to watch the games. I had an idea of a promotion to get people to get along to a game or two whilst they are on holiday.

Offer adults a $5 ticket and kids free if they bring their international passport along with a recent (say 2 month) stamp in it. There are always thousands of empty seats (even at the blockbusters, sold out - 85k, spare me). There would only ever be a couple of hundred MAX. But it would slowly become "one of those things to do" when going to Melbourne. Over time this increases exposure.

I reckon it's cheap enough that $5 tickets isn't going to encourage anyone else to come along. What is it in Melbourne, $20 at the gate? I doubt anyone isn't going to go for cost reasons at that price.

Agree with Rob, charge normal price, when i went to America, i was interested in going to a Pro baseball game, i have no great interest in baseball and going to a game did not turn me into a fan, but i thought it would be good to check out American culture.

Glad i went, had a fun time, this is the sort of thing that the AFL should be seeking to promote.

Agree with Rob, charge normal price, when i went to America, i was interested in going to a Pro baseball game, i have no great interest in baseball and going to a game did not turn me into a fan, but i thought it would be good to check out American culture.

Glad i went, had a fun time, this is the sort of thing that the AFL should be seeking to promote.

While I agree with you your own story is indicative of reality. You wanted to see a baseball game and were probably not too price sensitive being on holiday. You went for the experience. I'd be the same. I know several people who have visited Ireland and went to see hurling or Gaelic football for the same reason. However none were cut price tix. If people want to go they will.

Definetly something the AFL should look at, particuarly in Melbourne but also would work elsewhere.

I am actually looking forward to visiting Ireland to check out both hurling and Gaelic footy.

ATM it appears that most people from O/S who go to a AFL game are related or visiting friends in Australia.

I actually wonder what % of people at a AFL game just rock up, becuase when visiting Australia want to check out some local culture.

It seems like it could be a pretty good market to tap into.

AFL are you listening out there !!!!!!!!

Not to rain on anyone's parade here but games like tomorrow where it is a members replacement game for hawks isnt a true attendance for making comparisons say to tonight's crowd for instance.

Same goes for rich v st k last Sunday, members replacement game which inflated the attendance.

Not demeaning rich btw as even with 40k - 45k last Sunday it still would have been bigger than what any other vic club playing st kilda would have drawn IMO but people need to take into account members replacement when discussing and comparing attendances.

Interesting of all the 80k crowds this year only 3 games have sold out the MCC visitor ticket allocation and they all involve non tenant Essendon.

Not to rain on anyone's parade here but games like tomorrow where it is a members replacement game for hawks isnt a true attendance for making comparisons say to tonight's crowd for instance.

Same goes for rich v st k last Sunday, members replacement game which inflated the attendance.

Not demeaning rich btw as even with 40k - 45k last Sunday it still would have been bigger than what any other vic club playing st kilda would have drawn IMO but people need to take into account members replacement when discussing and comparing attendances.

What's your point? The membership replacement game thing is less prevalent when 85-90% of the public reserve is presold (which given Geelong's lack of MCG reserve seating is a reasonable achievement for the fixture) As a point of reference Geelong's reserve seating is limited to 4 bays in the Olympic Stand, the Carlton V Collingwood by contrast pretty much filled the bottom tiers of the ground before tickets were even released to the public. The more presold tickets sold with reserve seats at the start of the season the greater the likelihood the rate of no shows at the gate will obviously be higher.

FWIW, needn't worry I'm sure if the 'mighty Essendon' played tonight they'd romp 80k in, I mean without Essendon and Collingwood where on earth would this league be :rolleyes:

What's your point? The membership replacement game thing is less prevalent when 85-90% of the public reserve is presold (which given Geelong's lack of MCG reserve seating is a reasonable achievement for the fixture) As a point of reference Geelong's reserve seating is limited to 4 bays in the Olympic Stand, the Carlton V Collingwood by contrast pretty much filled the bottom tiers of the ground before tickets were even released to the public. The more presold tickets sold with reserve seats at the start of the season the greater the likelihood the rate of no shows at the gate will obviously be higher.

FWIW, needn't worry I'm sure if the 'mighty Essendon' played tonight they'd romp 80k in, I mean without Essendon and Collingwood where on earth would this league be :rolleyes:
Its still a pseudo home game which means you don't pay full price for reserved seats like everyone else does for an away game. Facts are most hawks away attendances cannot be used in a fair comparison or for "look at us, look how big we are" by hawks posters.

and where did I mention Essendon in any of my post? I dont care what we would draw and fwiw I think Richmond will be the one up there with Collingwood as far as attendances go.

Would've liked to have seen 80k but considering the ladder position/form and the fact that thunderstorms and hail was predicited :eek:, I think 78,224 is a good turnout.

How many thousands get left at the London Tavern, and other assorted pubs. :)

The weather was not conducive to older fans either.

Play it on a saturday arvo and you would get another 5k easy.

Its still a pseudo home game which means you don't pay full price for reserved seats like everyone else does for an away game. Facts are most hawks away attendances cannot be used in a fair comparison or for "look at us, look how big we are" by hawks posters.

and where did I mention Essendon in any of my post? I dont care what we would draw and fwiw I think Richmond will be the one up there with Collingwood as far as attendances go.

Perhaps and given the lack of Geelong reserve seating for MCG games, Geelong's annual home games against Hawthorn/Collingwood give the impression of virtually being pseudo Hawthorn/Collingwood home games. That said, I think the whole replacement thing is a bit over stated. If you look at Easter Monday fixtures (or for that matter return fixtures) Hawthorn home games tend to outdraw the Geelong home games (despite the replacement game factor)

Last season our largest home and away attendance at the MCG was the one game where Hawthorn members didn't play a psuedo home game (against Collingwood in round 17)

Over 27k at the gabba, our biggest home crowd in years
Big crowd took me by surprise, but I think the 4.40pm start brought more families along to the game and most who were at the last home game against Geelong came back. I know a friend who brought along another friend for the Geelong game (for her first ever game) and she came back to this game and got a three game membership. I think we picked the best home game to have an amazing win.

Good to see the crowds come back suddenly though.

Will be interesting to see how many turn up against North next week. Probably a bit less considering it's a 7.40pm start and no longer school holidays.

Also the Gabba plays tricks on me, I could've sworn there was more people at the Geelong game a fortnight ago than today's game even though the official crowd was 3k more for today's game...

Also I'd like to see the club push for more Saturday twilight games, brings the best out of day games and night games (I'd go into more detail but I just got back from the game).

45,966 at Etihad

The 6th biggest ever home crowd for North at the Dome. All the top 5 were with North at worst no more than half a game outside the 8 against Big 4 opposition which was itself no more than a game outside the 8. They went into this game 3 games outside the 8. 46,000 represents the absolute max it is possible to draw in the circumstances.

2013 crowds thread