2013 DRAFT discussion thread: Rookie Draft complete

True enough, but I just don't think it's necessary. If you look at last year's draft, Vlastuin, Mayes, and Macrae all debuted between rounds 3-5, and had pretty good years. Tom Mitchell had to wait about 35 rounds before his debut. Brad Crouch played round 2. I guess there's no point cotton-wooling players, but we've tended to not think long term regarding player development recently, which has hurt us.

I reckon if they've earned a spot in the starting 22 based on their pre-season performances, and the coaching staff think they're ready to go, then you pick them.

Yeah that's true. Definitely can't ignore it if they play well against Geelong and Richmond. I guess really the ideal would be that the rest of our midfield + our new mature recruits play well enough to 'keep the draftees out'.

Oh yeah, I agree completely. Competition for places is healthy. That's how we would want it to be.

My mate at GWS has told me that by their accounts Scharenberg is the slider this year however how far they're uncertain. May make it to us. He has also advised that realistically our best picks are freeman, sheed and crouch.

Hahaha - so the moron comes to our board, suggest something that we all don't agree with, and then goes to have a sook on his own board because he got laughed off ours. What a whiney little bitch. Comparing us to Norf supporters. If anything WC and Norf are more like each other.

I only mentioned it because someone else brought it up. I actually came in here looking for Melbourne fans thoughts because I've got the privilege of doing your picks in the BF mock.

FWIW: Acres is also nothing like Morton, as Acres can win his own ball. Something that Morton never did at U18 level, winning 26% CP in the 2007 U18 champs.

Absolutley no argument from me dude, I was more pointing out the fact that you were paying out on them, and that i found it funny. We hear nothing from WC fans until they either want to Bag the shit out of us, or want to try come to our board and somehow put us off a draftee even though we don't make the choices. It gives me a good chuckle when they do that - like they think that if we think Acres is better than Sheed, then perhaps that may have some sort of effect on the recruiters.
Acres reminds me of Mackie, if Mackie also played on ball.

I am a bigger Sheed fan than most, but would much rather Acres than Salem, Freeman or Crouch.

He was struggling with injury at the time of the U18 championships, however his Colts form was admittedly very impressive. Think a few posters on your board have the wrong read on the kid. Really, the most comparable player in this draft is Bontompelli, but Acres is a better kick, has a stronger inside game and is less of a gamble.

I only mentioned it because someone else brought it up. I actually came in here looking for Melbourne fans thoughts because I've got the privilege of doing your picks in the BF mock.

FWIW: Acres is also nothing like Morton, as Acres can win his own ball. Something that Morton never did at U18 level, winning 26% CP in the 2007 U18 champs.

To be fair I did say that I was judging on limited knowledge. Still keener on Sheed than Acres.

Hi everyone

It's a little hard keeping up with stuff from Asia so can someone answer if my assumption that nahas is the best available delisted player is correct? I guess that depends on your view of him but I have seen the kid tear up a few games and could be a handy PSD. If he goes to rookie then surely GWS will snap him up?

Cheers

DB

May as well do away with the PSD completely I think. With de-listed players choosing their own homes now and free agency as well, unless you've got the #1 pick and can convince someone to leave their club and nominate for it, the PSD seems next to useless. We've got the #2 pick and I can't think of anyone I'd be particularly excited to pick up. Should take the PSD out of the equation and force players to try their luck in the ND or the two clubs involved need to orchestrate a trade.

Agreed - the 'PSD threat' is undermining the draft/trade processes and the notion of player/club loyalty.

Of course if Adams had walked to us in the PSD, I wouldn't have minded.

Ruck
Jamar (30)
Spencer (24)
Gawn (22)

Tall Forwards
Clark (25)
Dawes (25)
Fitzpatrick (22)
Hogan (19)

Medium Forwards
Howe (23)

Small Forwards
Byrnes (29)
Kent (20)

Inside Mid
Cross (30)
M jones (26)
N Jones (25)
Mckenzie (23)
Trengove (22)
Michie (22)
Tyson (20)
Viney (19)

Outside Mid
Vince (28)
Bail (25)
Blease (23)
Evans (21)
Toumpas (20)
Barry (20)

Small Defenders
Jetta (24)
Nicholson (23)

Medium Defenders
Grimes (24)
Terlich (24)
Clisby (24)
Strauss (23)
Tapscott (22)

Tall Defenders
Frawley (25)
Garland (25)
McDonald (21)

Utilities
Pederson (27)
Dunn (26)

Watts (23)

Had a look at our list in terms of player position and player age at the start of next season. i think with pick 9 we should draft an a mid preferably who has the ability to play outside, pick 40 and 57 should be used on another mid and key defender and with the rookie picks i think we should draft a mature ruckman, mature key defender, mature outside mid and small forward

Top work! Some quality KPD depth would be good too, perplexes me that we delisted Davis.
Depth generally means that the player can adequately replace the incumbent. Davis wasn't up to it. Dunn, Pederson, Watts and even Hogan or Howe could cover KPD in case of emergency. I'd still be drafting mids with 40 and 57, and use rookie selections for a KP, ruckman and small forward.

Ben Kearns is someone we should look at with pick 57 or rookie. Hasn't shown up in any phantoms and haven't heard his name around. He is a Medium forward that has the tank to run through the middle.

He'll be on our radar because he plays for Gippsland Power and has played 3 games in the VFL dev. league for Casey. He's 19, 186cm and aves approx 2 goals a game. Reminds me of Luke Bruest.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-20/ben-kearns
I want him so bad, just so when someone gets his name wrong at the ground, I can yell out, "It's Kearns, stupid!"