List Mgmt. 2014 Free Agency, draft and trades news and discussion **Not the trade hypotheticals thread"

Cotchin talk is fanciful, almost a zillion to one the chance of him coming to Hawthorn considering he basically took Dustin Martin in and nurtured the guy when he wanted out last off season. We are better off targeting another GWS mid in a deal to get Cameron to Hawthorn, we have alot of carrots to dangle both player and draft wise.

Could you imagine what Cotch said to Martin though.

'We gotta keep this team together' 'top 4 definitely next season' etc.

Things have changed dramatically in 6 months. They look like spending another 5 years in the wilderness, is Cotchin up for that?

Kelly is no dud, I love watching his fearless attack on the footy, but where does he play at AFL? Who does he replace in our top 30?

I'll say the one thing right from watching him at unders level he never seemed in a hurry to get the ball, to smash an opponent, it was just the one pace all the time no matter the circumstances, no 2nd or 3rd gear if you like, and I can't say I've seen that change, even with a few years of elite training under his belt. But he isn't injury prone, doesn't get to rattled and has decent skills. Pace will be his downfall at a higher level IMO.

If the Age is accurate, then Jeremy Cameron may be on the market. Restricted free agent though, so would have to pay massive overs but we have the coin + he's the kind of player you can build a decade around.

How would Cameron fall into the free agent realm, he's been playing footy for 3 years?!

Do we really need Jeremy Cameron though, we already have a very good young forward line. I would also argue that Gunston is a better player.

Midfielders and defenders are more pressing.

Do we really need Jeremy Cameron though, we already have a very good young forward line. I would also argue that Gunston is a better player.

Gunston and Cameron are different types of players. Cameron would increase Gunstons output and vice versa and by the time Roughie is done Cameron will only be 25ish.

He is a player that a club could legitimately give a long contract with the only risk IMO injury. 6-8 year contract he will only be late 20's when it's done.

Gunston and Cameron are different types of players. Cameron would increase Gunstons output and vice versa and by the time Roughie is done Cameron will only be 25ish.

He is a player that a club could legitimately give a long contract with the only risk IMO injury. 6-8 year contract he will only be late 20's when it's done.

I'm not sold on this theory. We would have Gunston, Rough, Cameron, Breust, Hale, Rioli, etc. up forward. Given we are already the highest scoring team going around, i doubt that Cameron will add more goals to the tally, he will more likely take goals from other players. Considering he would probably one of our highest paid players, i would be wanting overall team improvement, and Cameron adds almost nothing other than goals at this stage in his career.

Our forward line is one of the few areas that will barely be effected by retirements in the next few years. We really need to shore up the future of our midfield and KPD's before we start throwing cash at overrated forwards ala Sydney.

I'm not sold on this theory. We would have Gunston, Rough, Cameron, Breust, Hale, Rioli, etc. up forward. Given we are already the highest scoring team going around, i doubt that Cameron will add more goals to the tally, he will more likely take goals from other players. Considering he would probably one of our highest paid players, i would be wanting overall team improvement, and Cameron adds almost nothing other than goals at this stage in his career.

Our forward line is one of the few areas that will barely be effected by retirements in the next few years. We really need to shore up the future of our midfield and KPD's before we start throwing cash at overrated forwards ala Sydney.

100% agree. I just don't see benefit in adding Cameron to the already highest scoring team in the league. He is a nice young goal kicking forward (maybe a littler overrated), but at this stage he doesn't offer much else apart from goals.

I would much prefer to go after Frawley or Dangerfield/ Fyfe if we are going to go after a high profile recruit. Those players would help improve our team far more then what Cameron or any other forward would.

I don't really see midfield as a huge issue. Consider, Hallahan, Langford, Shiels, Hill, Smith, Woodward are all young and capable. Lewis has a few years left. We could maybe do with another ready to go mid in the 50-100 games bracket, but the flipside of our injuries is that we are getting serious games into the young guys and accelerating that process.

In defence we have Stratts/Schoey/Duryea as a pretty decent young group with Birchall still around for a while yet as well as resting mids. Litherland, Kelly etc will come through in time.

Forward is more pressing I think. Other than Gunston and Breust, we really only have Tim O'Brien coming through and I'm not sure from his couple of games this year when he's going to be ready.

You are forgetting how hard it is to get quality KPF's. Think of all the journeyman we had between Dunstall and Franklin/Roughead.

Barker, Thompson, Holland, Croad,....

I don't really see midfield as a huge issue. Consider, Hallahan, Langford, Shiels, Hill, Smith, Woodward are all young and capable. Lewis has a few years left. We could maybe do with another ready to go mid in the 50-100 games bracket, but the flipside of our injuries is that we are getting serious games into the young guys and accelerating that process.

In defence we have Stratts/Schoey/Duryea as a pretty decent young group with Birchall still around for a while yet as well as resting mids. Litherland, Kelly etc will come through in time.

Forward is more pressing I think. Other than Gunston and Breust, we really only have Tim O'Brien coming through and I'm not sure from his couple of games this year when he's going to be ready.

What? In our forward line we will have elite players such as Rough, Gunston, Breust and Rioli for the next 5 or 6 years minimum. In the midfield we will have no elite players, unless players seriously improve, and will lose Mitchell, Hodge, Burgoyne. There is currently nobody on our list that comes close to replacing those three. In defence we will have Birchall who is elite, and nobody to replace Lake and Gibson. Schoey and Stratton are not replacements, and even if they were, we would still have nobody to replace them.

KPD's and midfielders are a far, far greater need for us than pure goal kicking forwards.

You are forgetting how hard it is to get quality KPF's. Think of all the journeyman we had between Dunstall and Franklin/Roughead.

Barker, Thompson, Holland, Croad,....

You are forgetting how hard it will be to replace Hodge, Mitchell, Burgoyne, Sewell, Lake and Gibson. Up forward we will have Rough, Gunston, Breust and Rioli for the foreseeable future. Down back we have Schoey, who is no Lake or Gibson. In the midfield we have some solid young players, but none of shown that they could even come close to replacing Mitchell, Hodge and Burgoyne. Lewis could perhaps step up, but we would still need to replace him.

Look at some of the forwards that have won flags recently; Mooney, Hawkins (when he was completely shit), Dawes, Brown, Pyke, etc. We have two elite KPF's, and even if we lose one, will still have one of the best forward lines for years to come. We have SFA to replace our aging stars, of which, only one is a forward (Hale).

Seriously, what are we going to do with a forward line of Rough, Gunston, Cameron, Breust, Rioli. They can't all kick the goals, which means Cameron is not providing anything extra, he is simply taking goals away from our other forwards. How does that make us a better team? And what happens when our star midfielders retire, and we can't even get the ball down there? Fat lot of good Cameron will be then.

I doubt any of our current forward set up is going to retire in the next 5 years.

Roughead (27), Gunston (22), Bruest (23), Rioli (24), Puopulo (25)

In the next couple of years we will loose the following players from our midfield and defence.

Mitchell, Hodge, Burgoyne, Sewell, Lake and Gibson.

That is a fair whack of talent. And whilst the young guys have done an admirable job so far, I just haven't seen anything yet that will suggest any of our young guys will reach the level of our retiring champions. I just can't see how we will remain in contention with these guys retiring, and just letting our young guys step up. We need to recruit elite players to replace these guys.

Be honest, how many of you blokes have watched this kid closely? I find your comments surprising Slips as I know for a fact you're a consistent watcher of BHH.

Nathan Buckley once said to me, the first thing he looks at when drafting a footballer is that he is an elite user by hand and foot. I can tell ya two things right now - there is daylight between Kelly and Talia in terms of skill. And the second, sure he's getting game time at the Dogs, but Talia wouldn't be close to a look in, in the Hawthorn defence right now. You look at every player that goes through that defence- with the exception of Duryea who is hit and miss sometimes- and they are all top line users of the footy.

It is quite often said by opposition players about Hawthorn that their run, and the accuracy by hand and foot is what cuts opposition teams up. This is why I hold the faith in this kid. His lack of fear, disposal and willingness to play a role, as well as get the footy, epitomises Hawthorn.

Ask DC - he'll give you an honest opinion on the kid.

It's obvious I'm with a poster who watches a stack of BHH from week to week and like an AFL coach understands the patience required for these young blokes.

Both are just 20 years old for crying out loud. I'd be laughing with these two in the reserves. Instead I have to put with the insipid efforts of my listed club, most of them doing it on name and not on output.

But that's another story...

Cheers Cashy..
Wait a minute mate have a look at my posting i just said that he wouldn't be first off the line to be culled. There were a few ahead on the chopping block that were ahead of him. He knows our structures and plays to his deficiencies and is also the designated kicker out of defence. Yes i have watched him very closely.

We need a KPD and we needed him a couple of years ago.
And then people will get off Schoey's back as he'll be in the forward line.;)

Jeremy Cameron is a red herring and is the best thing for our future recruiting aspirations.

"Wait! What?!" I hear you say? It's true. While every other club is chasing the red herring it will allow our club to focus its energies on obtaining the players that will actually make a difference to us.

OK, so i'm starting to compile our shopping list.. (In no particular order)
DANGERFIELD
FYFE
MUNDY
CAMERON
FRAWLEY
COTCHIN
???

I am quietly confident that we will land a big fish...Question is...who?

OK, so i'm starting to compile our shopping list.. (In no particular order)
DANGERFIELD
FYFE
MUNDY
CAMERON
FRAWLEY
COTCHIN
???

I am quietly confident that we will land a big fish...Question is...who?
If Freo don't go close this season what do people reckon the chances are of getting Mundy as a FA on the cheap? ie. Is he liable to return to Victoria with the intention of getting a flag or is he simply looking to return home and get one last big pay day and if a flag happens then that's just great?

I am amazed in the lack of faith in our up-and-coming mids. I could be wrong, but from what I have seen, Langers, Hallahan, Woody and Jed could become a great midfield. Add Smith, Hilly and Billy as the outside speedsters, and it looks pretty good to me. We could do with a Fyfe or Cotchin as build our mids into the most reared in the competition.
Anyway, them is my thoughts. However, I'll leave ti to the club, because I have faith in them.

I said I was done and I am, but as someone who's only seen the fella at Box Hill, would you care to enlighten me Carcass as to what Kelly's junior path was/where he comes from? Club, school, region etc...

I'm pretty confident he came out of Vic Country yes? But other than that I'm in the dark. Much appreciated - Cashew.

I don’t what I can tell you mate that isn't in this link or how it helps.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jordan_Kelly

For me I guess one thing that is misunderstood sometimes is the players that don’t get angry, rattled, or show to much emotion – it can be misread as laconic or lazy in there play. He’s certainly no fuss and never was when I watched him in his younger years. And remember he's going up against some pretty good HBF at the Hawks for a spot. I just can't see the pace/reflexes/quickness to rebound at the top level like a Birchall does for example....anyway hope I'm wrong.