List Mgmt. 2014 Free Agency, draft and trades news and discussion **Not the trade hypotheticals thread"

Why just one....?
Three letters mate AFL.

The afl commission would bring in emergency rules if it even looked like we were going to get the best FA key defender and the best RFA midfielder. No way in hell they’d let one of their darlings like bitchmond lose Cotchin to a scabby hated club like our Hawks. Hell more chance the scum being booted from the comp for drug cheating than that happening.

But the Handbags would be allowed even outside the salary cap since their stadium is now absolutely crucial to the afl and their fixture driven by the tv networks. That club as a whole is the most protected club, esp by umpires, in world sport.

I am completely serious. You use Franklin as an example, yet look at our forwards post-Franklin. Breust is second in the coleman, Gunston and Rough are right up there as well. Also, Franklin added a lot more than just goals, which Cameron has not shown an ability to do. As for Schoey, if he were to play forward, i would see him playing a high half forward, almost a Riewoldt role, where he gives a bailout kick, and just generally runs his opponent off his feet. This would essentially mean he isn't in the forward 50 for the majority of the game, and when he is, it's similar to a resting ruckman.

Whether that is how it would work out is a different story. Either way, i think Schoey offers more outside of pure goals than Cameron, and also comes at a far, far cheaper price..

I hear what you're saying that's it's an area we are set in but, you are underrating Cameron big time here. He is only 21 mate and showed a heap more than Shoey, in contested marking, mobility, pace, reflexes, AGGRESSION. He takes better contested marks then Gunston. At TOB age he was pushing for the coleman. He already tackles better then Gunston......like I said you are underrating him big time.

But he aint worth a million yet; but the managers know that the afl will just keep throwing money at GWS to keep the players there, esp franchise players like Cameron (don’t be surprised the if a new franchise rule is brought in at year’s end for this club, so they are outside the salary cap, even if Cameron is determined to go home) not how unsustainable it is, and we the public pay for this crap, even though most are struggling to.

Instead what is this doing to the Tomlinson’s, Golds, and Frost and their armada of mids and flankers? They can’t keep them all even with COLA.

GWS has tried several times to initiate talks, but Cameron’s manager Alex McDonald has told them contract talks were on hold.

Shoey and our first round pick.....make it happen.
Surprised you haven't had half the board go off at you, only for the other half to agree. Which should have resulted in a ripper of a thread.

Maybe this idea needs a thread all of it's own :D

Oh and yea I'd do it in a heartbeat. Wonder if that will start things off :oops:

Sorry guys - I heard it on good authority that the Sydney Swans are the destination of all three players.

Apparently the AFL have set up a new academy that falls outside the existing salary cap called PEPSI (Priority Elite Players Sydney Incorporated)

Yes, and it will be labelled a "masterstroke"

Bloody pessimists, the lot of you.

I'll take all three. I'll offer up token draft picks around numbers 70 to 90 as compensation and sign them on to medium level contracts. If they want to play with us (and who wouldn't except for those interested in the Kings Cross lifestyles ahead of playing footy), then this is how we roll.

Next issue! :cool:

Well, we tried to keep Buddy on a $1mil a season, so we must have some cash. Obviously some of that has been used on other signings, so say we have $700-800kish. That gets one of those players. So to get the other we'd have to find another $800k.

You'd think in this case, Sewell would have to go, and possibly another older player to raise that sort of cash quickly. Sewell would be on, what $350-400k a season?? So where do we get the other $400k from?? Who goes?
Lake

I just can't see us getting a player like this to Hawthorn except for through Free Agency - so only Frawley.

We aren't the kind of club to pay overs and break the bank.

We don't have enough depth in any position, bar aging slow inside mids, to trade something away without it hurting us.

We won't have early picks.

Frawley it is then.

Everything alright where you are Thaihawk?

Fine thanks, RM. We only get it on the news the same as you. Life goes on. I have been through three of coups here already, and, in my opinion, the main problem this time is the health of the King. In the past he has stepped in, but now he is far too ill.

I think the recruitment of Mundy would be conditional on how Hawks finish the year.

If it looks like the group could challenge again then they will roll the dice, but if it continues to fall apart I don't think they will look for a short term solution like Mundy.

Obviously also depends on Mundy.

I think we have the cap space but not the picks to satisfy a trade for players of Fyfe or Cameron. Would need to lose 2 players for each.

Think Suckling might be on the table at end of season

I think we have the cap space but not the picks to satisfy a trade for players of Fyfe or Cameron. Would need to lose 2 players for each.

Matthew Suckling is the exact prototype that our game plan is based on. I'd suggest he won't be going anywhere.

Suckling is one that would have trade currency without it hurting us on-field, and I mean in big games, I don't count playing low clubs where Suckling shines!
Grimley and Lowden are 2 others I expect to be on the table, but realistically won't offer much other than list space
Lake and Sewell both have clauses in their contract for another season next year, and both will struggle to meet those clauses to get another year. Of the 2, Lake would seem more likely to get 1 more year to me

IMHO Frawley is a must, as evidenced by our year so far.
Even our back-up KPD in Spangher is injury-prone!

This year we chase a KPD, next year a mid

Matthew Suckling is the exact prototype that our game plan is based on. I'd suggest he won't be going anywhere.

Don't be so sure.

The single biggest myth in football is that Suckling is an elite kick. He is a long kick but his accuracy is no better than good/average and his decision making is often poor. As stated above, Suckling also struggles defensively. In my view he is absolutely tradeable.

Suckling is one that would have trade currency without it hurting us on-field, and I mean in big games, I don't count playing low clubs where Suckling shines!
Grimley and Lowden are 2 others I expect to be on the table, but realistically won't offer much other than list space
Lake and Sewell both have clauses in their contract for another season next year, and both will struggle to meet those clauses to get another year. Of the 2, Lake would seem more likely to get 1 more year to me

IMHO Frawley is a must, as evidenced by our year so far.
Even our back-up KPD in Spangher is injury-prone!

This year we chase a KPD, next year a mid

I agree unless either Brand or Heatherly shine like nothing else and that is not a likely scenario

I hear what you're saying that's it's an area we are set in but, you are underrating Cameron big time here. He is only 21 mate and showed a heap more than Shoey, in contested marking, mobility, pace, reflexes, AGGRESSION. He takes better contested marks then Gunston. At TOB age he was pushing for the coleman. He already tackles better then Gunston......like I said you are underrating him big time.

But he aint worth a million yet; but the managers know that the afl will just keep throwing money at GWS to keep the players there, esp franchise players like Cameron (don’t be surprised the if a new franchise rule is brought in at year’s end for this club, so they are outside the salary cap, even if Cameron is determined to go home) not how unsustainable it is, and we the public pay for this crap, even though most are struggling to.

Instead what is this doing to the Tomlinson’s, Golds, and Frost and their armada of mids and flankers? They can’t keep them all even with COLA.

I wasn't saying Schoey is better than Cameron, i was saying he offers more other than goals, at this stage, which means he fits our forward structure better. Also, i think you overrate Cameron a fair bit. His contested marking is not that good, averaging just one per game last year, and those other attributes don't mean anything unless he can fit into a functioning forward line structure and still prosper. He averages about 1 tackle per game, so if he is better than Gunston, it is negligible.

Like i said, apart from goals, he doesn't really do anything particularly well, which doesn't bode well for fitting into a forward line structure. Actually, statistically, he is similar to Fevola. Kicks goals, but doesn't really add defensive pressure, doesn't really help his teammates, doesn't really get up the ground. The perfect player for a one man forward line, but whether he can prosper in a team structure is yet to be seen. Am i willing to bet 5 mil over 5 years to find out? Not a chance. And it will cost a ridiculous figure like that, because Cameron can get whatever he wants because every team will be into him.

The issue is not really about how good Cameron is. It's that we don't have a particular need for him, he would cost a fortune, and he would prevent us from filling areas where we will actually have pressing needs in the next few years.

That's a joke right? He's our best player!

Remember we are spending cash on extensions of contracts. Hill would have got a pay rise (for example).

Salary cap increases every year, so small increases in wages get absorbed in this. Also, we don't know the details, might be on similar money next year, with larger increases the following year based on assumptions Burger might retire etc etc.

Suckling tradeable hey......I'd be ok with that I reckon. Not that I want to lose anyone, and his kicking is great, but lacks that hardness of, say, a dureya who can also play his role.