List Mgmt. 2015 Draft Prospects (Poll Added 31/8/15)

Which player do you want at our first selection?

• Harry McKay

Votes: 23 14.4%
  • Kieran Collins

Votes: 40 25.0%
  • Ryan Burton

Votes: 15 9.4%
  • Darcy Tucker

Votes: 6 3.8%
  • Callum Ah Chee

Votes: 4 2.5%
  • Harley Balic

• Riley Bonner

Votes: 13 8.1%
  • Other (Specify Below)

Votes: 7 4.4%
  • Ben McKay

Votes: 22 13.8%
  • Mitch Hibberd

• Daniel Rioli

• Jade Gresham

• Clayton Oliver

Votes: 8 5.0%

Maybe not. But I'm pretty sure that someone said we didn't interview him. I've liked Burton in the past but if his body is made of glass...
I remember reading there were only a few clubs that didn't talk to Burton and we were one of them. Either we think he'll be gone or we rate the injury as too severe/risky to take him. We seem pretty good at assessing risk/return with injured youngsters so if our guys don't fancy him, happy to back their call.

Been informed by a mate thats related to Luke Goetz that we have kept him under wraps and it was his first season of footy
Looks like it was his first season of eating too.

Toomey hasn't said that at all - his is a phantom form guide not draft - rating of players rather than the order they go in, Collins not going past the Hawks guarantee u
Ffs just read the article. There's a section where he addresses where they might end up. Said Collins to us is a possibility if he gets there, that's all. there's a bit of an inference it's not totally out of the realms of possibility.

The big thing i take from it is there's a chance at least one of he or Mckay get to us. Would be nice

Has anyone else watch Oleg Markov's highlights. That celebration at about 2:30 :p

Edit: also suggest watching Brolic's highlights he has only been in the elite program for a year but showed some real promise late in the year. possible Rookie pick.

Has anyone else watch Oleg Markov's highlights. That celebration at about 2:30 :p
I really like Markov, just hard to find a spot for him on our list. His dad was world pole vault champion and he is a real athlete with plenty of tricks. Would be a great story if someone gives him a go.

Edit: also suggest watching Brolic's highlights he has only been in the elite program for a year but showed some real promise late in the year. possible Rookie pick.
Yes on Brolic, a promising cricketer before he focused solely on footy this year. Great body size and a versatile player who performed consistently for Eastern this year. Would be a handy addition and could really fly under the radar.

Maybe not. But I'm pretty sure that someone said we didn't interview him. I've liked Burton in the past but if his body is made of glass...
I did, and I still doubt the chances of us drafting him. Looks way too fragile - wouldn't feel safe drafting anyone with the amount of cartilage removed from his knee.

Yes on Brolic, a promising cricketer before he focused solely on footy this year. Great body size and a versatile player who performed consistently for Eastern this year. Would be a handy addition and could really fly under the radar.
Needs to get rid of some puppy fat but I like the way which he reads the play and uses the ball, just a smart footballer.

Anyone seen Goetz play? My mate has seen him a couple of times for Altona and reckon he's the goods?
Attacks the ball in the air, moves very well, lacks strength (only been in TAC Cup system for half a season). Very raw but impossible to put a ceiling on him because of a lack of quality delivery to him in the fwd line from a bottom-age-heavy Jets list. Played more key forward than ruck.

brett anderson's on the clock draft preview for us a bit of the same. He really seems to get little to know info so just plugs us in with who he thinks should go to us. He has Fiorini, Tucker at our first. Tom Cole and Josh Dunkley at the second and Callum Moore (but as a key back) and Nick Coughlan at the last one.

Strangely he didn't have us taking Coughlan in the podcast so may have heard something and plugged it in for the written version.

FWIW i really like Callum Moore as a key back prospect. Crazily athletic. here's the link (to the tweet):

Attacks the ball in the air, moves very well, lacks strength (only been in TAC Cup system for half a season). Very raw but impossible to put a ceiling on him because of a lack of quality delivery to him in the fwd line from a bottom-age-heavy Jets list. Played more key forward than ruck.
To see some of his contested marking ability, watch the play from 1:10 in this link
And the play from 1:35 in this link

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-11-...an-gardner-attracting-interest-ahead-of-draft

Strange that they don't have video's for some of these Tassie kids in the draft hub.

15.8 beep is pretty good for Franks who is 193cm especially with the interchange cap and I have seen an article that said Dodge ran a 2.80s sprint. I'd like to get a player either this year or next year that could replace Dickson in time goal kicking wise.

Do you guys think we might put some loading in favor of kids from Ballarat, either TAC, or matures, in the draft or rookie picks. This considering we are trying to establish a footing in the town. I'm not suggesting we would select players solely on that basis, but could we lean that way, all other things being equal, bit like we seem to have favored Victorian kids recently. I know Tucker is Ballarat, are there any others who might tweak our interest this, or next year.

Newspaper article today about the last 10 premierships sides having around 10 first round drafted players in each side....to my calculations we have six and have just given one away for two second round players....in this age of stats we can get a bit overwhelmed though this one does make sense.....gotta have quality to beat the top sides....just hope dal & macca are not outsmarting themselves

I don't watch any TAC Cup games but I have just watched a bunch of different highlights on Draft Machine and was wondering what everybody thought about these guys.
Harrison Himmelberg
Oleg Markov
Greg Clark
Luke Surman
Dylan Smith
All seem to by later picks but seem to have nice highlights and a point of difference.

Newspaper article today about the last 10 premierships sides having around 10 first round drafted players in each side....to my calculations we have six and have just given one away for two second round players....in this age of stats we can get a bit overwhelmed though this one does make sense.....gotta have quality to beat the top sides....just hope dal & macca are not outsmarting themselves

Murphy, Bonts, Wallis, Stringer, Macrae, Hrovat, Smith, T Boyd is 8
Libba makes 9, he would have gone first round if not for F/S
The first two picks of the second round this year are pretty close

Hrovat at P21 in a compromised and weakened draft doesn't appear to be a genuine first rd pick IMO.

That's fair but I think we're close enough that we shouldn't be too worried about a bit of an abstract statistic
You could have said 11 in 2015 before we lost Grant & Ayce Cordy, but were we a better side with them on the list?
Our B&F winner was a 3rd rounder and 3 of the top 6 were rookies

Hrovat was a second round pick....all reports Wallis would have gone second round....maybe Libba a first rounder(makes seven)...and without trying to sound like a cynic (as last couple of years of recruiting has been brilliant) - three preliminary finals in a row is pretty close as well....but just not good enough....and as footnote I have been to seven preliminary finals losses - 85, 92, 97, 98 and the recent ones....getting tired of "pretty close"....

That's fair but I think we're close enough that we shouldn't be too worried about a bit of an abstract statistic
You could have said 11 in 2015 before we lost Grant & Ayce Cordy, but were we a better side with them on the list?
Our B&F winner was a 3rd rounder and 3 of the top 6 were rookies

Don't think the number of first rd picks is a success metric in any case. Otherwise Carlton , Dees, GC and GWS would be awesome.