2015 Draft, Trades and Free Agency rumours.

Channel 7 just reported Coniglio expected to be re-signed by the Giants as early as next week and believe Treloar will re-sign soon as well.

Also reported that James Aish continues to be linked to the Pies.

Channel 7 just reported Coniglio expected to be re-signed by the Giants as early as next week and believe Treloar will re-sign soon as well.

Also reported that James Aish continues to be linked to the Pies.
How can they afford to sign all these stars? Oh, that's right they have millions extra in their salary cap,

Actually it's because we have a very strong culture and bond between our players. Nearly to a man the star kids have taken unders to stay together and achieve a common goal.

It's a pretty unique thing. Player Managers are incredibly greedy, players do their best but are generally very loyal especially in AFL.

Even your young kids are all re-signing which is a very good thing.

Actually it's because we have a very strong culture and bond between our players. Nearly to a man the star kids have taken unders to stay together and achieve a common goal.

It's a pretty unique thing. Player Managers are incredibly greedy, players do their best but are generally very loyal especially in AFL.

Yeah it is a good thing really, but I was expecting at least one of the 'big 4' to leave, for home or for cash.

And you have an extra 800k in the salary cap. That pays for Coniglio and say, Smith.

GWS are known to lay heavy guilt trips on players and tell them there's no chance of being traded to their preferred team - "it's us or Carlton".

That's why a guy like Shiel, who would love to play for a big Melbourne club, re-signs for a short term when told "we're not trading you to Richmond".

He might well be a free agent next time.

And you have an extra 800k in the salary cap. That pays for Coniglio and say, Smith.

GWS are known to lay heavy guilt trips on players and tell them there's no chance of being traded to their preferred team - "it's us or Carlton".

That's why a guy like Shiel, who would love to play for a big Melbourne club, re-signs for a short term when told "we're not trading you to Richmond".

You can't possibly believe that's true.

That is exactly the sort of Big Footy fantasy which gets manufactured into fact.

We run our footy club the same way as any others in regards to recruitment and retention.

Our responsibility is to provide a good environment and to keep our kids happy.

The kids demanded better facilities, better conditioning coaching, some quality senior recruits and better results and all have been delivered.

As far as your claims that we "guilt" players into staying and tell them they won't get to where they want too, that is just rubbish.

Last year Jonno O'Rourke nominated Hawthorn and got there, Kristian Jaksch nominated Carlton and got there, previously both Taylor Adams and Josh Bruce nominated clubs and got to where they wanted.

I have no doubt at some point we will lose a few players that we want to keep but no reason to make up stories.

Looks like lots of clubs are trying to sign Robbie Tarrant as a FA. HUN reporting that the lions could offer as much as 500k, can't see us matching that personally but hoping the loyalty card plays some sort of hand given that we've stuck by him whilst he couldn't get out on a park for 3 years.

You can't possibly believe that's true.
It is true. Look at Dom Tyson. Look at what Shiel does if the AFL reduces free agency and he can go where he wants in two years' time.

That is exactly the sort of Big Footy fantasy which gets manufactured into fact.

We run our footy club the same way as any others in regards to recruitment and retention.
No, you don't. You were given copious extra first-round draft picks and the ability to steal uncontracted players on the recruiting side, and extra money in the salary cap on the retention side.

As far as your claims that we "guilt" players into staying and tell them they won't get to where they want too, that is just rubbish.
No, it's not.

Last year Jonno O'Rourke nominated Hawthorn and got there, Kristian Jaksch nominated Carlton and got there, previously both Taylor Adams and Josh Bruce nominated clubs and got to where they wanted.
Players you had no problems letting go.

I have no doubt at some point we will lose a few players that we want to keep but no reason to make up stories.
I'm not making anything up. Some guys will trade playing in front of 7000 because they can see success coming. Some will think they can enjoy success while playing in front of 50,000.

Our responsibility is to provide a good environment and to keep our kids happy.

The kids demanded better facilities, better conditioning coaching, some quality senior recruits and better results and all have been delivered.

What he said was absolute bollocks. GWS and Melbourne have traded very well together with Tyson and Frost, especially considering that the club didn't want to lose the big guy. It's a complete fabrication.

I would like to see hard fact about GWS playing hardball with their players about their prospects, until then, it is all hear say.

I would hope GC has the same outlook in keeping our players together, and that the players are willing to take a cut to stay at the club. Past couple of weeks it has seen to take a bit of an upswing with performances against top teams. However, if Dixon or Bennell (only saying these 2 cause they seem to be brought up a lot) want to move for the big dollars elsewhere I have no issue moving them on for the benefit of the club and the playing group, and bring in players who want to play for the club. Like the GWS players want to seem to do at the moment.

I would like to see hard fact about GWS playing hardball with their players about their prospects, until then, it is all hear say.

I would hope GC has the same outlook in keeping our players together, and that the players are willing to take a cut to stay at the club. Past couple of weeks it has seen to take a bit of an upswing with performances against top teams. However, if Dixon or Bennell (only saying these 2 cause they seem to be brought up a lot) want to move for the big dollars elsewhere I have no issue moving them on for the benefit of the club and the playing group, and bring in players who want to play for the club. Like the GWS players want to seem to do at the moment.

You guys will bounce back mate. Your injury toll is unprecedented...any club would struggle with that. You were probably the most exciting club to watch in 2014. Form is temporary, class is permanent ;-)

It is true. Look at Dom Tyson. Look at what Shiel does if the AFL reduces free agency and he can go where he wants in two years' time.

No, you don't. You were given copious extra first-round draft picks and the ability to steal uncontracted players on the recruiting side, and extra money in the salary cap on the retention side.

No, it's not.

Players you had no problems letting go.

I'm not making anything up. Some guys will trade playing in front of 7000 because they can see success coming. Some will think they can enjoy success while playing in front of 50,000.

It's difficult to have a discussion with someone who is clearly hateful and bitter.

Lighten up!! we will have our turn of success and it will then move onto someone else.

At different times every one needs some help, Richmond included.

Turn that frown upside down.

. Nearly to a man the star kids have taken unders to stay together and achieve a common goal.

I highly doubt your players have taken unders to stay at gws. the time will come when you truly have a salary cap squeeze and have to play the stay loyal to us when you could leave for far greater money card but that time isn't now.

Having said that it has been quite a good sign that so many have put pen to paper this year , and it's probabaly indicative of where the club is at in terms of looking like an attractive place to stay as they can see success in the future and probably a vote in confidence in the clubs staff/players.

I highly doubt your players have taken unders to stay at gws. the time will come when you truly have a salary cap squeeze and have to play the stay loyal to us when you could leave for far greater money card but that time isn't now.
I wouldn't say 'unders'...but unders compared to what the market is offering? Absolutely.

Having said that it has been quite a good sign that so many have put pen to paper this year , and it's probabaly indicative of where the club is at in terms of looking like an attractive place to stay as they can see success in the future and probably a vote in confidence in the clubs staff/players.

Mate it is widely reported by player managers, officials and press that Jeremy Cameron and Dylan Shiel took significantly less to stay.

The players that have left us with the exception of Boyd have either gone for homesickness or greater opportunity.

You are right though going forward as a higher volume become truly elite it will be more of a question.

Given players careers can end in a second it's a good sign for the club and positive character indictment on the players!

I wouldn't say 'unders'...but unders compared to what the market is offering? Absolutely.

every team would have a dozen players who would have taken less money then they were being offered elsewhere. It's the nature of the business. You don't think Sloane , boak and Mundy have had bigger offers then they signed for? In order entice a player out of their current club all teams would be realising they need to in the majority of cases offer more money than currently being offered by the home club.

As I said , this takes nothing away from gws and their signings , it's a good sign for the club. But it's not really the time to be lauding players to be signing for unders.

When I think back at players like Jamie Lawson from the Swans who lost their careers with an injury it makes me think any player willing to sacrifice up to $200k a season for between 2-5 years is pretty laudable.

I put myself in their shoes and if somebody offered me that much overs it would be pretty easy to leave!

Certainly not unique to GWS, I think most AFL players are really loyal and play for the right reasons.

Have all the deals put the players out of contract for the new tv rights deal? That's what any smart manager should be doing(unless offered a huge Boyd style deal). Sign for the short term instead of being locked away for an extra 2 years on what will then be way unders

Cap won't blow out that much ... And what does will be divided up , so will be a bit more cash up but not heaps

People whinge when players go....now people are whinging when players are staying loyal...which one is it? Stupid to say the least. You build a successful culture and you will get players taking enough money but not too much to play with their mates. Creates a great environment. Look at Geelong, don't tell me Enright couldn't have got more money at the peak of his career.

So who are the current FA rumoured to be changing clubs?
Danger, S Selwood, Suckling, anyone else??? (These names have come from the trade hypotheticals thread so I didn't make them up)

2015 Draft, Trades and Free Agency rumours.