2015 Media Thread

Did anyone see on 360 last night when Gerard answered "real" to the question - Real or Overreaction: West Coast are the number one contenders from Western Australia?

Straight away Robbo looked at him and said "wow, you really do hate Ross Lion don't you?"

He's such a flog sometimes.

I laughed when he said real then laughed harder when Robbo said what he said. His reasoning is shit too. He did preface it by saying it's probably a bit premature though.

Did anyone see on 360 last night when Gerard answered "real" to the question - Real or Overreaction: West Coast are the number one contenders from Western Australia?

Straight away Robbo looked at him and said "wow, you really do hate Ross Lion don't you?"

Good on Robbo for calling him out. You can't be considered a quality journo if you're completely lacking in objectivity, surely?

For some reason in this country it's just perfectly accepted and reasonable that each footy journo is going to be biased. They don't even try to hide who they are biased about, it is well known who each journo likes and dislikes. It's so ridiculously unprofessional, it's actually a joke.

It seems every article I read these days is an 'opinion piece' rather than something resembling fair and balanced analysis. If I wanted opinion pieces I'd subscribe to some blogger. Australian sporting media just don't do professionalism. Way too much effort. Too far removed from the "blokeyness" culture we apparently need to subsist off.

Was discussing this with a mate. There's very little pure analysis in news papers, is it all to do with on line content and the need to grab a headline? Also the fact that journalists are semi celebraties in their own right now, which is ridiculous. They are commentators of the game, not the news makers themselves. They should be heard and not seen. It started with Eddie. The president of a football club being a commentator. A journalist shouldn't be officially associated with a political party or a sports club. Ex players would be an obvious exception.

It's all of the above, but also the need to pump out articles day after day. It's much easier to recite inane sound bites from press conferences and write a headline around it than it is to actually analyse games and teams and players.

We do more analysis about Freo, because we're passionate, but I know that, even though I enjoy watching a lot of football, I wouldn't want to dedicate loads of time and effort to analysing every team in the league.

I actually find some the ex-players the most annoying. They're so obviously biased and they pretend they're not, and many have a view of football from when they played (which is understandable) but the game changes so quickly that the football of 1995 is nothing like the football of 2015.

You watch if we finish better off than them, he won't be pulled up on that prediction at all and it will be brushed under the carpet.

on current form i can't disagree with Gerard TBH.

We are playing like shit with no forward line at the moment. We barely beat the bottom two teams.

on current form i can't disagree with Gerard TBH.

We are playing like shit with no forward line at the moment. We barely beat the bottom two teams.

Yeah, I don't necessarily disagree but... Gerard's still a Ross Lyon and Freo hating flog.

Tim Gossage trolled Freo fans on twitter massively on Sunday when he felt the need to tweet that he thought WC would win a derby played now. As if that's somehow relevant to anything.

I despise the way that 'journalists' make broad sweeping statements that are purely a result of the last week or two of form. They have memories of goldfish. I can't wait for a few weeks time when we're good again and the ludicrous reactive hyperbole shifts its focus to another team for a while.

Wow, my respect for Robbo went up massively.

Hey Whateley, if you ever read this, you're a weasely looking man who has most likely been cuckolded by your wife.

Already posted buddy.

Huh? It hasn't happened yet ... or has it. I'm confused, or am I dreaming ... Hold on, Freo haven't really been top of the ladder for pretty much all the season have they?? Damn, I had a feeling I was asleep all this time and it was just a dream. When I wake up Drum is still our coach and the news will be telling me we're about to trade Pavlich for Aaron Fiora.

lol one i posted for was dale lewis for this week !!!

2015 Media Thread