2015 Media Thread

Why can't they ask questions like "what is Deboers role" and then follow up with "in light of the teams lack of scoring, is this role beneficial to the teams ongoing success?"

Because he'd probably have a tanty and storm out.

He's not Hardwick. Do you really think that little of Lyon?

I don't think little of him, but he clearly doesn't like answering tough questions and is frequently very snippy with journos.

The reason that these shows don't ask the coaches the tough questions is that coaches wouldn't agree to go on the shows if they did. There are clearly defined boundaries the journalists are allowed to go into. If they overstep then they get frozen out. If one of them started overtly bagging one of the club's players, they would end the interview.

Which is why it's silly to blame the journalists for the inane questions. They ask those questions because they are the only questions the clubs will answer on the record.

I don't think little of him, but he clearly doesn't like answering tough questions and is frequently very snippy with journos.

The reason that these shows don't ask the coaches the tough questions is that coaches wouldn't agree to go on the shows if they did. There is clearly defined boundaries the journalists are allowed to go into. If they overstep then they get frozen out.

Which is why it's silly to blame the journalists for the inane questions. They ask those questions because they are the only questions the clubs will answer on the record.
I think he doesn't like answering dumb questions, tough ones he actually engages the journo more so than the stock standard efforts. He got prickly with McInnes at Simmonds in 2013 because he suggested Fremantle played dirty and implied it was against the spirit of the game and one sided, so Lyon felt the need to dress him down. But do you really think Lyon would storm off if he was asked about the role of a fringe 22 player? I wouldn't think that is all that tough of a question really. If he was asked flat out how he keeps getting a game which is what I think Bicco and perhaps yourself are really getting at he would simply answer with a few Lyonisms and reiterate that selection involves the entire match committee. I think clogged said before he doesn't give much away, but few head coaches do really.

But do you really think Lyon would storm off if he was asked about the role of a fringe 22 player?

Storm off? No, probably not. But would he no longer agree to interviews with that journo if they insisted on asking tough questions all the time? Absolutely, in fact it's standard practice amongst AFL clubs to do just that. Which is why it's silly to criticise the journalists for not asking tough questions. If they actually want to keep their jobs then they can't be too tough.

Look at how well Caro is regarded. The only AFL journalist who actually does consistently ask the tough questions is treated like a leper by most AFL clubs. Clubs don't want their dirty laundry aired in public. Nobody does.

AFL journalism has always been a joke because clubs just never give journos anything. The same platitudes and cliches every week no matter the result. How anyone can be bothered sitting through post-match press conferences and the like has got me stuffed. You know what the coaches are going to say before they even sit down.

Storm off? No, probably not. But would he no longer agree to interviews with that journo if they insisted on asking tough questions all the time? Absolutely, in fact it's standard practice amongst AFL clubs to do just that. Which is why it's silly to criticise the journalists for not asking tough questions. If they actually want to keep their jobs then they can't be too tough.

Look at how well Caro is regarded. The only AFL journalist who actually does consistently ask the tough questions is treated like a leper by most AFL clubs. Clubs don't want their dirty laundry aired in public. Nobody does.
I'm not sure there would be too many questions he would be unprepared to answer, in some way shape or form. I know he and Whateley have had issues but I think that was more due to Whateley loudly questioning his integrity regarding the way he came to our club. I think most other pundits understand the scenario and the reasons it went down the way it did, and most actually applaud the move as it had to be done behind closed doors due to both he and Harvs being managed by the same bloke.

I don't think too many clubs put bans on particular journalists, however I'm sure there is some guidelines set down by the media manager I'll give you that.

After all, he was asked flat out at the bloody front door of the club if he had just been talking with Carlton about taking the head coaching position, he didn't spit it and storm off. He wasn't happy, and let it be known, but he answered it and I'm sure whilst the journo in question (I think it was Lachie Reed) won't be on the Christmas card list, I'm sure they will have future dealings.

Whilst it is an old boys club, they do probe a little deeper on 3AW with Ross for instance, always a heap more insight in those interviews for mine.

Caro does tend to be a little removed from the day to day grind at clubland and the majority of her dealings seem to be with boards, the AFL commission etc so she has a lesser role in dealing with coaches directly, this may be due to her approach, but I believe that is where her personal interest lies and she feels she gets the most traction.

I reckon he was talking about last weeks footy classified where Lloyd was talking about Ross not playing youth. In this interview ross pointed out that they had 6 young guys on the field just prior to jumping on Lloyd.

Yeah it is crap. We are currently playing
- A 2nd year Centre Half Back (Pearce)
-A 3rd year Centre Half Forward (Taberner)
-4 x 4th year mids. (Sutty, Lachy, Croz and Sherro)
Fair enough Tabs and Pearce have no real competition for spots at the moment, but the 4 from the 2011 draft are taking older players spots (Duff, Mzungu, Clancee etc). Can't say we aren't playing youth. Would love to see a debutant this weekend though.

Would have to be a grind doing 6PR, pre game, post game, mid week and Channel 7 pressers at a minimum each week. While his messages in the press tend to be general and simplistic - bring great effort etc - he does allude to some of the KPI's that are a focus internally.

For example, in that 3AW interview:-
- He points to the strength in Hawthorn's conversions from D50 and it sounds like we had dropped off relative to that earlier in the season but in the last 2 weeks we've been higher than the competition average.
- The most compelling thing in that interview is where he opens up by saying what has changed for us is our forward pressure... "Hawthorn's front half pressure and their ability to get it back in the attacking midfield. They average over 22 of them a week and in the last few weeks we have fallen away from that". He emphasises the importance of repeat entries (an Eagle's strength) and how we are collapsing back too much. The focus is to get it a bit more forward of centre. If I could take a guess at what is their priority, I suspect it is pressing up and forcing turnovers - that'd be made harder without Ballaz now.
- Another clear area of focus is around the stoppages - He mentioned how the Hawks did a couple of things that surprised us in how they structured up around the stoppages down in Tassie which threw us. We tried to hold our forwards in position and that and their great pressure meant that when we got possession, we rushed and bombed it forward in a straight line. We had open players everywhere but instead of spreading to these loose players laterally, we moved the ball forward in a straight line which played into their hands.

He no doubt deflects when questions get asked about individuals (and I think fair enough too) as was the case when 6PR tried to probe with Mzungu. The most you'll get is when he alluded to Tendai needing to work on some things he did not do well in Tassie with and without the ball in particular. Trying to join the dots, I think the view is that Mzungu is not pressuring enough and forcing turnovers and the likes of Deboer are in the team for this reason. Clancee was likely dropped for a drop off in the same.

If they have pinpointed a need to forward press and exert pressure to force turnovers, I'm suspecting the calls for Weller, Langdon and Blakely to get a run is inconsistent with what their GPS stats are showing they are capable of as first year players at AFL level. They live and breathe stats and GPS measurements - I'd expect the indications are that the kids are not the answers to the perceived present problems in house as otherwise they'd be playing ahead of the main culprits.

I reckon it Was Nathan Brown on the Sunday Footy Show who brought up the crap about Lyon "berating" his crew, so I dunno what Lloyd was getting sensitive about. I guess he said Lyon was animated, which he poo-pooed

The interview's already on their site.
4m55s in

https://audioboom.com/publishing/playlist/v4?autoplay=false&boo_content_type=channel&data_for_content_type=3177723&image_option=small&link_color=#033355&player_theme=light&show_title=true&src=https://api.audioboom.com/channels/3177723/audio_clips&player_theme=light&link_color=#033355&image_option=small&show_title=true&max_height=505px#Ross Lyon full of praise for Simon Lloyd on Sports Today

Lloyd thought that Ross was referring to Footy Classified last week.

Would have to be a grind doing 6PR, pre game, post game, mid week and Channel 7 pressers at a minimum each week. While his messages in the press tend to be general and simplistic - bring great effort etc - he does allude to some of the KPI's that are a focus internally.

For example, in that 3AW interview:-
- He points to the strength in Hawthorn's conversions from D50 and it sounds like we had dropped off relative to that earlier in the season but in the last 2 weeks we've been higher than the competition average.
- The most compelling thing in that interview is where he opens up by saying what has changed for us is our forward pressure... "Hawthorn's front half pressure and their ability to get it back in the attacking midfield. They average over 22 of them a week and in the last few weeks we have fallen away from that". He emphasises the importance of repeat entries (an Eagle's strength) and how we are collapsing back too much. The focus is to get it a bit more forward of centre. If I could take a guess at what is their priority, I suspect it is pressing up and forcing turnovers - that'd be made harder without Ballaz now.
- Another clear area of focus is around the stoppages - He mentioned how the Hawks did a couple of things that surprised us in how they structured up around the stoppages down in Tassie which threw us. We tried to hold our forwards in position and that and their great pressure meant that when we got possession, we rushed and bombed it forward in a straight line. We had open players everywhere but instead of spreading to these loose players laterally, we moved the ball forward in a straight line which played into their hands.

He no doubt deflects when questions get asked about individuals (and I think fair enough too) as was the case when 6PR tried to probe with Mzungu. The most you'll get is when he alluded to Tendai needing to work on some things he did not do well in Tassie with and without the ball in particular. Trying to join the dots, I think the view is that Mzungu is not pressuring enough and forcing turnovers and the likes of Deboer are in the team for this reason. Clancee was likely dropped for a drop off in the same.

If they have pinpointed a need to forward press and exert pressure to force turnovers, I'm suspecting the calls for Weller, Langdon and Blakely to get a run is inconsistent with what their GPS stats are showing they are capable of as first year players at AFL level. They live and breathe stats and GPS measurements - I'd expect the indications are that the kids are not the answers to the perceived present problems in house as otherwise they'd be playing ahead of the main culprits.

Good post.

On Mzungu, Ross has alluded to some issues off the ball with Mzu before. Must admit it's hard to pick as a fan, but clearly he's not putting himself where he's meant to be often enough. Even when he's had some statistically good games in recent years, I remember RTB saying something to the effect that it wasn't that great a game, his work off the ball needed tightening up. Given he's a hard runner etc., clearly it's more than simply getting a certain number of kicks and handballs.

He'll turn 30 next year too, so time quickly running out for the Gu.

Good post.

On Mzungu, Ross has alluded to some issues off the ball with Mzu before. Must admit it's hard to pick as a fan, but clearly he's not putting himself where he's meant to be often enough. Even when he's had some statistically good games in recent years, I remember RTB saying something to the effect that it wasn't that great a game, his work off the ball needed tightening up. Given he's a hard runner etc., clearly it's more than simply getting a certain number of kicks and handballs.

He'll turn 30 next year too, so time quickly running out for the Gu.

The thing is though, it's hard to imagine he's suddenly stopped doing whatever it was that made him an instant selection for the 3 years prior.

RTB said he got injured early in the year, and by the time he was ready Sheridan and C Pearce had cemented their spots which left no room for him in the team.

Ohh shit, it has hard enough defending Sheridan with people thinking he was directly responsible for keeping Mzungu out of the team. His form better not drop.

Personally I think outside mids who do not have elite skills or elite speed will always struggle in the AFL.

Anyone catch the puff piece in the Worst today on NN?

Basically saying he was the number 1 ruckman in the comp since he was 1% infront of Sandi for taps to advantage.
Shame they didn't mark them on other important facets of being a ruckman like contested marks. Although Goldstein and Nic Nat have taken the same number of contested marks as Sandilands. Sandilands has 29 while Goldstein with 18 and Nic Nat with 11 also have 29!

I don't really like the implication that Gu is only competing for the spots of two players. I like Sherro and I love Clancee but that's a bit crap.

Well I suspect that's part of it.

I think part of it is about balance and, for whatever reason, he doesn't rate Mzungu's physical inside presence, he is seen to play those flanking positions (Sherro, Hill, DPearce, Clancee). He doesn't see or rate him as a defender or fwd (the latter I think he could do myself), so there's only so many spots he's going to fill.

Suban and MDB are the obvious one's of course, but both have a physicality perhaps that Mzungu doesn't quite bring. Suban in particular seems to be honed in on a particular role that is special to him from what I can see. He is an interesting one.

2015 Media Thread