Draft Review 2015 - Redo the 2015 AFL Draft

Theres a far bigger gap as players between Walsh and Ben King right now than there is between Weitering and Oliver. But even then any I'd think theres teams that would take Max and Ben before Walsh.
Really? King is in discussions for All Australian as well and Oliver is better than Walsh at this stage. Pretty similar.

Harry McKay goes at 2 and is the one with the best chance of catching Oliver imo

I don't disagree that Oliver has been a top player. But many teams would still rather a high quality Key Forward or Key Back than a very good contested mid who doesn't hit the scoreboard. Doesn't matter who has had a better career to date if its going to a re-draft, Carlton would still take Mckay or Weitering at 1 as would Brisbane, and Melbourne would have at the time too. Top KPP still the most valuable assets in the game as they just don't come around as often.

Yet saying all this I bet you would rate Walsh at number 1 in 2018 would you?

Sent from my SM-G981B using Tapatalk

Right now yes, but theres a huge gap between Walsh and the next best player in the draft at the moment. There isnt as much of a gap between the top players in this draft. Theres a top 5 in the comp mid, a top 5 KPD and a top 5 KPF. Right now that is not the case for the 2018 draft.

Clarry clearly is the no 1 from the 2015 draft mate.

Very happy with Carlton's haul from that draft, if only Charlie Curnow can stay healthy.

Imagine if the Dees took Harry McKay instead of Weideman though in hindsight...

Hoping for a :melbourne: flag this year btw, got a real soft spot for the Dees, great club with fantastic people who have suffered way too many personal tragedies over the past 20 years (I knew Troy Broadbridge's wife Trish and Jim Stynes personally during my time at Reach Youth, in fact Jim let me crash at his place one night in the late 90s when I was kicked out of home, an extraordinarily beautiful and generous person who deserved a lot, lot better than what fate had in store for him)

I don't believe in the 2nd favourite club concept, but if I did, The Dees definitely would be it.

Right now yes, but theres a huge gap between Walsh and the next best player in the draft at the moment. There isnt as much of a gap between the top players in this draft. Theres a top 5 in the comp mid, a top 5 KPD and a top 5 KPF. Right now that is not the case for the 2018 draft.

Give it a spell mate.

I normally like and respect your opinions, but Clayton Oliver has been a star/borderline elite from the first game he has played. I love and rate rate Harry and Weiters as much as any passionate Bluebagger, but Clarry has the runs on the board and deserves to be rated the dux of his draft class.

Haha ok man

Always take the big man unless the little one is in a Carlton jumper

Clarry clearly is the no 1 from the 2015 draft mate.

Very happy with Carlton's haul from that draft, if only Charlie Curnow can stay healthy.

Imagine if the Dees took Harry McKay instead of Weideman though in hindsight...

Hoping for a :melbourne: flag this year btw, got a real soft spot for the Dees, great club with fantastic people who have suffered way too many personal tragedies over the past 20 years (I knew Troy Broadbridge's wife Trish and Jim Stynes personally during my time at Reach Youth, in fact Jim let me crash at his place one night in the late 90s when I was kicked out of home, an extraordinarily beautiful and generous person who deserved a lot, lot better than what fate had in store for him)

I don't believe in the 2nd favourite club concept, but if I did, The Dees definitely would be it.
Yeah Weideman over McKay/Curnow wasn't great and would really hurt if we didn't get Oliver earlier in the draft

carlton4lyfe was forgetting Blake Hardwick just an oversight or do you have him outside the top 23?

:drunk:

I guess it depends on what team you are. The Dogs would take Weitering at #1, no questions asked. But no question that Oliver has performed better over his career and thus deserves the #1 mantle.
Which is my point, Carlton and Brisbane both needed KPP. They would 100% select Weitering or Mckay in a redraft. If its who's had a better career obviously Oliver so far. I don't think thats up for dispute.

I think at the time there was a disagreement between Schache and Oliver. Think someone overruled the head recruiter in the decision to take Schache. Think we would go Oliver now

Also Hipwood being forgotten about massively. Still the best performed KPF of the draft over whole career with McKay just going past him now

wtf is this thread how have I ended up here????? barlow mate you've got the wrong guy
Correct! Sorry 4lyfe I was after 4ever.
Turns out I can't @ him so I accidentally @ you instead.

I think at the time there was a disagreement between Schache and Oliver. Think someone overruled the head recruiter in the decision to take Schache. Think we would go Oliver now

Also Hipwood being forgotten about massively. Still the best performed KPF of the draft over whole career with McKay just going past him now

In hindsight, I know Schache was the wrong call by Brisbane, but I know a couple of his family members fairly well, the lad has really had some brutal kicks in the teeth in his young.

Also he loved his time at Brisbane, and The Lions could not have been kinder or generous to him, but he had to move back home for family reasons, his Mother was going through a serious health battle at the time he left the Lions (his father passed away when he was a child) and i thought it was downright decent of The Lions to trade Josh for considerable unders to The Bulldogs at the time. Really decent from your club.

Reckon footy club rewarded you guys by letting gems like Lachie Neale and Charlie Cameron to your club, at the time it may have seemed you paid overs (at least for CC) but both boys have become legit champions at Brisbane

I guess it depends on what team you are. The Dogs would take Weitering at #1, no questions asked. But no question that Oliver has performed better over his career and thus deserves the #1 mantle.
For sure, but that's because the Dogs have the most stacked midfield since West Coast 06 if not Brisbane 01-03. If you were starting with a blank slate, its Oliver.

2 x AA, another AA squad & AFLCA winner with another 2 top 7 finishes as well as soon to be 3 x club b&f winner in 6 years

Pass him over at pick 1 and go Weitering though because he is tall

This game is simple, go the best not a solid player because he is tall

2 x AA, another AA squad & AFLCA winner with another 2 top 7 finishes as well as soon to be 3 x club b&f winner in 6 years

Pass him over at pick 1 and go Weitering though because he is tall

This game is simple, go the best not a solid player because he is tall

He is tall and very good. I think you're under selling Weitering - he is one of the premium key defenders in the comp.

Saying that Oliver has put a gap on him and everyone else in this draft as best performed player. Some clubs need a very good key back over a gun mid.

He is tall and very good. I think you're under selling Weitering - he is one of the premium key defenders in the comp.

Saying that Oliver has put a gap on him and everyone else in this draft as best performed player. Some clubs need a very good key back over a gun mid.
They do but I still think when you have a top 3 pick you pick the best player not go for needs

Im not so sure its that clear cut - would the Dogs want Weitering or Oliver going into this years final series? IMO Weitering would add more value. This is not taking anything away from Oliver who is clearly one of the very best players in the comp and the best from this draft.

Draft Review 2015 - Redo the 2015 AFL Draft