List Mgmt. 2015 Trade, Draft, Rookie Draft and FA Megathread

Still not fussed about Carlisle ,
short term we are well served down back, Delaney , Fisher , Goddard & possibly young defender this draft.
Starts in the middle , If we get more quality ball it will take pressure off our defence.
Load up on Midfielders ( good ones ).

The club is confident. So I'll back them. If not then I can't really understand the motives for it considering the blues offer will be lower and he won't be seeing finals in a long time
Lives in Moonee Ponds doesn't he? 15 minutes to Princes Park vs an hour. That'd be it I'd say.

On Channel 7 game day - our mate "Stevo" just said that Carlisle will be a Blue with a "take it to the bank" call.

Hmmm - we all know he's a journalistic flog but even flogs can get some things right....

Hope next week Carlisle comes out and nominates and it puts all this stuff to bed...
Is Stevo Greg Williams daughter?

If Carlisle doesn't want to be a Saint well good riddance, i am not that keen on him anyway.

If any player doesn't want to be at the Saints, but are only coming for the coin? go play somewhere else.

On Channel 7 game day - our mate "Stevo" just said that Carlisle will be a Blue with a "take it to the bank" call.

Hmmm - we all know he's a journalistic flog but even flogs can get some things right....

Hope next week Carlisle comes out and nominates and it puts all this stuff to bed...
Hope I'm wrong But I would still have my money on him becoming a blue I was told about round 4 he would be blue

Lives in Moonee Ponds doesn't he? 15 minutes to Princes Park vs an hour. That'd be it I'd say.
Greg Williams daughter lives in Carrum and he spends most nights there

Even though they've broken up

I read that Bird is only 26 - decent player too.

I'm very big on also trying to fix the age profile of our list as well as bringing in top talent. I don;t ever want to be in our current situation again or situation from 2 years ago - group of kids, group of veterans, and a small number of 24-29 year olds which is when you're meant to be in your prime by and large.

It's exciting that we're being linked to quality players and that we're being active in the market to try and improve our club. I've said ti before but I love what we're doing off the field and has such an impact on the field but also in becoming that destination club that we need to be in order to first survive and then thrive. We need to get back to those 40k plus members day and in fact increase it to 45k-50k. We can as we have that latent membership base. I think Finnis and his team will do so as once we start to have more success more people will jump on, (a sad fact but there you go). The challenge will be to keep them but I think between the way the club is run, our list management, and our culture we can do that.

I'm meh on the potential Hickey deal but can see the benefit IF we get that mid first round pick.It would leave us light on in the ruck, especially if Longer goes down. Want to keep pick 5 and it sounds like we will so very happy about that. Mathieson seems the best fit at that pick unless he's taken earlier. Freeman assuming he can get out on the park will provide breakaway speed. Another mid for the Hickey pick would be lovely - Gresham or Bonner would be sensational.

Would the next 10 days just hurry up.....not sure how I am going to be able to work and keep up with this thread!!!
I'm with you on the age profile, but if we'd have gotten back to back flags and that was the result Id not give a flying one...

I read that Bird is only 26 - decent player too.

I'm very big on also trying to fix the age profile of our list as well as bringing in top talent. I don;t ever want to be in our current situation again or situation from 2 years ago - group of kids, group of veterans, and a small number of 24-29 year olds which is when you're meant to be in your prime by and large.

It's exciting that we're being linked to quality players and that we're being active in the market to try and improve our club. I've said ti before but I love what we're doing off the field and has such an impact on the field but also in becoming that destination club that we need to be in order to first survive and then thrive. We need to get back to those 40k plus members day and in fact increase it to 45k-50k. We can as we have that latent membership base. I think Finnis and his team will do so as once we start to have more success more people will jump on, (a sad fact but there you go). The challenge will be to keep them but I think between the way the club is run, our list management, and our culture we can do that.

I'm meh on the potential Hickey deal but can see the benefit IF we get that mid first round pick.It would leave us light on in the ruck, especially if Longer goes down. Want to keep pick 5 and it sounds like we will so very happy about that. Mathieson seems the best fit at that pick unless he's taken earlier. Freeman assuming he can get out on the park will provide breakaway speed. Another mid for the Hickey pick would be lovely - Gresham or Bonner would be sensational.

Would the next 10 days just hurry up.....not sure how I am going to be able to work and keep up with this thread!!!
Decent player?

The guy couldn't get a game over Cunningham, Lloyd, Brandon Jack, Zac Jones etc..... Couldn't even get a game when Keiran Jack & Lukey Parker got injured.... :eek:

Dogshit I say

Jon Ralph on Fox Footy -

Bennell being wined and dined by the Tigers.

Stevie J to Suns, Blues or Tigers.

Melbourne still working on Jesse Hogan's new contract.

No other trade news.

What a useless campaigner...

For those who didn't see Stevo this morning, he was anything but confident about his Carlisle to Blues call. Suggested the Saints were coming hard for him late. I wouldn't be too concerned about his comments this morning. He had Mitch Clarke as a lock to the Pies this time last year.
Widely reported as the first club to put a formal offer to him... The mans a ****ing idiot.

Widely reported as the first club to put a formal offer to him... The mans a ******* idiot.

It is for the non tragics like us that journos report for.

Many people dont follow as closely and he is putting some theatre in the trade.

Saints coming hard late I intrepret as Saints have the best deal and all the moves are being made by them.

He can then report the "shock" selection of Carlisle to the Saints if it happens.

All about clicks, nothing about fact.

I reckon Demand out ways value in some cases .
Bulldogs need a Ruckman to improve .
What are your options = Sinclair , Lobbe , Lacett, Hickey all will require a 1st round pick.

Who doesn't remember the 1997 Grand Final when Peter Everitt and Lazar Vidovic smashed the Crows's loan ruckman in Shaun Rhen to deliver the Saints our second flag?

Lucky we had healthy ruck stocks that day!

Let's keep Hickey.

Carlisle- granted he went through turbulent times, yes he's tall, agile and skillful. But the voices of recruitment have repeatedly said character amounts to something important too at the all new st kilda and that's- heart, brains and balls. At this time I judge Carlisle to struggle to prove he has them. In my humble and often misguided opinion Goddard would dwarf him. Much desired = over rated. But, if he's ours then in Richo we trust.

Who doesn't remember the 1997 Grand Final when Peter Everitt and Lazar Vidovic smashed the Crows's loan ruckman in Shaun Rhen to deliver the Saints our second flag?

Lucky we had healthy ruck stocks that day!

Let's keep Hickey.

And in 2009 we had Gardener and King ,
We were short 2 midfielders that year .

Travel is always going to be a consideration for Melbourne based players, who are settled in their home and area.
If its true Carlisle lives in Moonee Ponds it is a 14min drive to Princes Park, compared to 52min to Seaford. No body enjoys sitting in a car for hours each day just to get to work. Even if we were at Moorabbin the trip would only be about 10mins shorter. So there is a lot more at play than money or the club IMO! To play for us there is a lot more personal impact than if he goes to Carlton or Bulldogs.

I hear what BS and co are saying but there can only be one reason he hasnt said he wants to come to the Saints, is we are not his first preference and he is trying to squeeze more money out of his more preferred clubs!