List Mgmt. 2015 Trade, Draft, Rookie Draft and FA Megathread

Is Stavro around to give us a midway weekend update?

What's next for the Carlisle deal?

How far off is the Freeman deal?

Any other surprises to look forward to?

IMO we'll know if we're getting Jake for zip in the PSD if Dildodoodo trades away 23 and 25 instead of dealing with us. Seems determined to have the last say in a do or die battle. RIP Dildo.

A lot can happen over the weekend but Monday should be interesting.

St Kilda FC are trying to maximise the improvement to our list during this short sojourn down the bottom of the ladder. We have spent so much time in the top half of the ladder over the last decade and a half that our list quality suffered. We have made the hard decisions to release club favourites and retire players that potentially had more to offer in order to turn the list over quickly and efficiently. St Kilda are not a "Big 4 club" and our membership and sponsorship dollars and stadium contract are all smaller than most other clubs. We cannot afford to wallow at the bottom like Carlton and Richmond have. We need to make the most of this short drop in the ladder.

I applaud the club's efforts so far. The way we have rebuilt our list so quickly is a credit to the professionalism of the club.

I understand that all other clubs want to maximise their list improvement from the resources they have (draft picks, traded players, etc) but no other club has the imperative that our club does.

I see the list manager at Essendon lie, cheat, use all his contacts in the media to try and alter the market value perception, bluff and carry on like a petulant child. He even used another club's coach to do his bidding. He wants the same result for his club as what our list managers do, but now the difference is there for all to see. The class of Bains and his team shines through. Calmly they deal with the ranting idiot at Essendon despite all his manoeuvring, and rancour. They are true professionals while Dodoro is an angry used car salesman.

That the St Kilda recruiters are so calm is testament to their natures as well. I would be pulling my hair out being under the pressure they have.

Just remember that we, more than any other club, need to maximise our list improvement before we rise too high in the draft. Essendon will have half a decade to rebuild theirs. We do not.

I asked Brian on Twitter today and he said...
brian_speaking: @cowboysteel6 @Saint_Lions PSD for Jake if no deal. Dons will look like the joke of a club that they have become.

.. couldn't Carlisle just nominate for the draft and we take him at 5? hahaha that would be hilarious. Both clubs lose, one significantly more so than the other.

Not going to happen, but I'd love to take a stand. We're being spoken down to by a club that hasn't won a final in 10 years, has been the biggest blight on the game ever, and that we effectively sent into turmoil by absolutely spanking them in one of the most insipid efforts of all time.

Did I mention they recruited Adam Cooney because they thought they were a shot at the flag? hahaha seriously, that is mind blowing. Ahh well, I spose it was only a one year contract. But wait! hahaha

Bottom line is this: they want overs on a player that they used as a pin cushion, and who most normal employees out of the media limelight, without wicked money in their pocket, would sue to Pluto and back. Disgusting rats.
Yes please this would be so Funny, No difference if swap 5 to Bombers for Carlise

I'm with you. makes the most sense. That gets us freeman as well for pick 5.
Carlisle & Freeman for pick 5 is a bit meh for me.

Would prefer to get Carlisle/Freeman/Mathieson.

Future picks should enable this.

This is playing out like a high stakes poker game with both players bluffing. We are asking overs but Essendon are worried we'll go to the PSD if they don't accept our offer. Bombers in turn are asking us for overs and the worry for us is JC gets tired of waiting and jumps ship to the Hawks. It's just a matter of which poker player blinks first.

It will be Carlisle + 23 for 5. It suits both parties and is a compromise.

0% chance it goes to PSD. Both sides wants this done.

I still think this is overs. Now Carlisle's manager has said it's the Saints and only the Saints, we shouldn't budge on our offer.

We need both 2nd rounders if we're looking at getting back into the top 10, and use our 2nd rounder for Freeman.

I still think this is overs. Now Carlisle's manager has said it's the Saints and only the Saints, we shouldn't budge on our offer.

We need both 2nd rounders if we're looking at getting back into the top 10, and use our 2nd rounder for Freeman.
Need a second for Bailey rice to one would think, so maybe a future for freeman if this was the case.

mate I love the Saints but Ess has rejected the offer. Pick 5 is on the table (which 90% of people in this thread never thought would happen) and now it's all about arguing over the second round picks. Saints will drop one and it'll be done.

Thanks for the heads up Adrian.

I think they knew pick 5 would be traded, just not to ess.

If we want to compromise we have a little room to move (we know Essendon aren't willing to do any moving) could either offer our third round instead of our 4th. Or ask Essendon for a second rounder and next year's 3rd rounder while keeping our 4th rounder on the table. I prefer the first option.

Ofcourse some of us would prefer to just go to PSD if they don't compromise, he's not worth losing pick 5 directly over. We're a few years away from a charge up the ladder and have got time to build up a few defenders and see which one stays or trade in a free agent.

Why do you assume that dropping one of the 2nds is the compromise? It could just as easily be adding one or two 3rd rounders to the deal. 5, 45 and 2016 3rd is a better deal than 5 and 63. It all depends on how much the Dons want pick 5.

Essendon are sweating today. Asking us to consider pick 25 and Carlisle.

Freeman will be done hopefully no later then Tuesday. It's just that he is an after thought right now for both pies and saints. Effectively he is a saint without it being officially. Has been training at seaford the last two weeks.

If we got picks 23,24 and 25 we will trade up but also see if the dockers will part with Weller. Situation has changed since I said he will stay. We are moving pick 5 it seems so we are looking at is Weller + filler better then pick 8

Essendon are sweating today. Asking us to consider pick 25 and Carlisle.

Freeman will be done hopefully no later then Tuesday. It's just that he is an after thought right now for both pies and saints. Effectively he is a saint without it being officially. Has been training at seaford the last two weeks.

If we got picks 23,24 and 25 we will trade up but also see if the dockers will part with Weller. Situation has changed since I said he will stay. We are moving pick 5 it seems so we are looking at is Weller + filler better then pick 8
Rofl, their idea of compromising from our offer is to offer up pick 25 not 23. I hope we hold first!

Knightmare in his power rankings has Clarke at pick 8 and Partington at pick 14. Most phantom drafts have them in the top 25.

Partington's size may see him slip a little and he had to deal with the death of his father early in the year, so it wouldn't be surprising if his form wavered a little. Given All-Australian honours after the Under 18 Championships.

I reckon Clarke will be a bolter, he came home with a wet sail and probably could slip into the top 10 somewhere. Basic seems to have drifted out the other way with no one really talking about him as a top 10 any more.

I'm starting to look at what we could do with some later picks. I reckon there are still some bargains in this draft Capiron who missed out last year could be a nice pick up as a smaller defender. I really like some of the raw small forwards- they are often the hardest to gauge at the junior level and you almost have to watch their speed of thinking and quick reactions. Guys like Hisham Kerbatieh

And Daniel Rioli- he turns over a heap of the ball in this but you can see the instinctive stuff of Cyril in him.

For more needs based stuff I would look at Goch Nuon if we do end up trading Hickey to me he's very like Naitanui, he's only been playing footy for one year but looks completely at home.

Still love Stephen Tahana looks like a Shane Savage type

And my boy Kieran Lovell he's tiny but he's a play maker and finisher.