Persevering Saint
He got creamed by his opponent early, but then seemed to get pretty steamed up by that. Sadly, then he looked fried by the end of the game.how'd rice go?
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
He got creamed by his opponent early, but then seemed to get pretty steamed up by that. Sadly, then he looked fried by the end of the game.how'd rice go?
I wouldn't, there is massive upside with these young kids, Treloar is a nice player but in my opinion over rated.
Haven't noticed Dunks as a particularly good or bad user of the football, but personally my preference is (assuming Hopper will be matched and Weitering, Francis and Schache are gone) Parish, then Mathieson, a bid on Kennedy or maybe even Callum Ah Chee.For the experts - Is Dunkley's kicking as big an issue as Knightmare makes it to be or is he just putting a spotlight on it because it is Dunkley's biggest weakness?
We all agree that we need class in the middle. We need guys who can pick the right option and kick the ball there with minimal margin of error.
KM's report makes it sound like Dunkley has a habit of shanking the ball out of the middle, hoofing it forward for distance rather than being able to hit a target.
While I have no issue with his talent over all (He looks like Jab Watson 2.0) I worry that between he, Dunstan and Ross we would have three averaged paced inside mids who, while handy up forward and dominant in the middle, arent going to be the sort of players we can trust with the footy in space.
Getting Dunkley would be putting alot of faith in Acres and DMac coming good as top end ball users who can win their own footy. If these guys were to start copping tags we might find it hard to move the footy with pace and accuracy out of the centre.
Not saying I dont want Josh btw. Looks like an inside beast. Just asking if we would have issues passing on Parish, Matheison etc given our biggest weakness (kicking skills) might not be addressed by taking "Best Available" if that is indeed Dunkley.
Rahul Daddy_Barrels Plugger35
your missing someone rahulHaven't noticed Dunks as a particularly good or bad user of the football, but personally my preference is (assuming Hopper will be matched and Weitering, Francis and Schache are gone) Parish, then Mathieson, a bid on Kennedy or maybe even Callum Ah Chee.
Who does Brett Anderson support. Thought it was either Saints or Dees? Anyone know?
i can see Francis being a slider on draft night. He played some great games but I can see the teams below us having other priorities than an under sized key defender. I understand he showed some versatility, but he also showed some emotional fragility when things weren't going his way!
I believe there are other players with much more room for improvement going forward!
Sorry, this has probably been asked and answered a million times on here, but what pick would we need to give up for Rice? Because I wouldn't give up our 2nd or 3rd round pick for him to be honest. I think we could use our picks for better use. We don't need him (we are loaded with HBFs), and nothing seems to be that special about him. Just an average all round player from what I've seen.
Bartel 187cm, Ling 189cm, Corey 190cm........ HmmmmWe should be definitely be going for another key position player in Weitering (preferably this guy) and Schache, or speedy and skillful midfielders like Parish and Mathieson. We don't need inside midfielders from this draft, we have Armitage, Steven, Weller, Dunstan, Ross, Acres (will end up an inside mid), and Billings could also end up an inside midfielder along with Sinclair. I also think too many people on here are caught up with the 'height' attribute. Although it's a bonus if it comes along with the skill, I don't think it's THAT important as some of you are saying it is to be. Look at geelong's midfield in '07 - '12.
Our players aren't short either mate, some of you are making it sound like we have a bloody mosquito squad, as if we are all sub 180.Bartel 187cm, Ling 189cm, Corey 190cm........ Hmmmm
I agree, but making a comment that implied Geelongs midfield didn't have a number of taller big bodied mids was wrong.Our players aren't short either mate, some of you are making it sound like we have a bloody mosquito squad, as if we are all sub 180.
Ross-187
Billings -185
Dunstan- 185
Acres -190
Newnes-185
D-Mac- 184, but plays a lot taller because of his length.
We shouldn't be drafting a player based on height. I would rather a completely skilled player than a "190cm prototype midfielder that looks like Pendles/Fyfe" that doesn't have a fantastic skill set. We need class and speed at the moment.
Not in the slightest IMO. Even if he does show a bit it's only that one little bit in four years. Far from a sure thing.Crazy, unlikely what if... but what if Markworth with his speed, height and footskills finally shows a bit in the second half of the year, especially on the wing? Does that change our drafting priorities?
Ainsworth reminds me of an U18's Tom Rockliff... just a super smart player who knows where the sticks are.I found Jacobs game an interesting one, he didn't look like a natural forward. I've been assured by a few who would know that he can be a very very good forward but I see him purely as a gun defender. For this reason, I reckon he could potentially slide a few spots. Not a huge slide, but could be anywhere within the top five I think. Perhaps there is a little bit of wishful thinking in my prediction, but I still think there is a chance others could leapfrog him, like Schache has done.
Schache would be #1 at the moment.
SA have failed Francis a bit I think. Playing all over the place, whilst showing his versatility, it also messed with him a bit. It was a bit of a Francis show and he has been disappointing in not actually playing a role properly - as good as he has been.
Either of those three, wow, these guys will be great, too early to tell but I can see us bottom three which would mean one of these three would probably come to us - I doubt Francis drops out of the top three.
Mids, well, still on Parish for our needs and he is probably still going to be the best mid in the draft, but he just looks like an underager still. Does anyone else get that feeling? He is a classy kid, but I hate seeing him knocked off the ball by kids who wouldn't even be half the size of an AFL footballer.
Oh, and how good is Ainsworth?! For those who have watched both as underagers, how does Ainsworth compare to Billings? From an underage dominance point of view?
If he could he would be towards the top, as is he could be. Has shown more than Ah Chee, but I guess it's easier to show a bit when your team is dominating.Ainsworth reminds me of an U18's Tom Rockliff... just a super smart player who knows where the sticks are.
Can he transition into the midfield in 2016? I say yes
Yep, I'm very serious. Surrounded by an elite midfield who were all gifted to GWS on a platter, even you would get a kick in their midfield.Are you serious? He is a gun, top 20 in fantasy scores about the 8th highest possession getter in the league and a prime mover. He is hardly noticed in Victoria so I can't see how he's overrated. If he was at a big melbourne club he'd be a big gun of the AFL already.
Weitering will destroy him, Schache played on spuds this carnival, Tom Boyd would have kicked 50 against the same blokes if he was 17.Also, start planning for next weekend already (11 July I think).
Collins/Weitering vs Schache. Will be a dead set cracker of a matchup!!
Yep, I'm very serious. Surrounded by an elite midfield who were all gifted to GWS on a platter, even you would get a kick in their midfield.
Just look at Lachie Neale. I've watched Treloar since the under 15's, so I reckon I have a fair handle on him.
Parish, Tucker, Matheison have a chance to be very special, I'm keen on them in 6 years time when they will be 23, Trelor will be 29 and almost washed up.
Why does everyone want instant gratification? It's the fast food generation I reckon, in my day we went and waited at the fish and chip shop for 40 minutes for a hamburger, now you drive through and you've eaten before you get out of the drive through.
Francis goes back to the SANFL so will get many chances to redeem himself.SA have failed Francis a bit I think. Playing all over the place, whilst showing his versatility, it also messed with him a bit. It was a bit of a Francis show and he has been disappointing in not actually playing a role properly - as good as he has been.
Mids, well, still on Parish for our needs and he is probably still going to be the best mid in the draft, but he just looks like an underager still. Does anyone else get that feeling? He is a classy kid, but I hate seeing him knocked off the ball by kids who wouldn't even be half the size of an AFL footballer.
Oh, and how good is Ainsworth?! For those who have watched both as underagers, how does Ainsworth compare to Billings? From an underage dominance point of view?