List Mgmt. 2015 Trade, Draft, Rookie Draft and FA Megathread

Francis plays a really attractive game but Im not a real draft student so will have to leave it to the experts but he looks like a future champion from the bits I have seen. Not sure we need another middle sized back man.

I said it here earlier when people were discussing Parto for our 1st pick, he's a great U18 player but doesn't have the standout traits of other players. That's not too much of a knock on him, he's still extremely consistent, a good leader and pretty well-rounded, but most midfielders in the AFL have at least 1 elite trait.

Seems like another ANB - a bit vanilla.

Cal does not have Partington in his 20?? Do people agree with that? Very consistent for SA!

Personally, I would have him around 12-15 however Callam knows a shit load more than me.

Parto's knock is he doesn't really have a point of difference. He's not overly quick, he's not big and strong and there's not a lot of hurt factor with his disposals. He does most things to a good level without having any elite traits. But I'm confident he will be a good value pick and have a solid AFL career.

Personally, I would have him around 12-15 however Callam knows a shit load more than me.

Parto's knock is he doesn't really have a point of difference. He's not overly quick, he's not big and strong and there's not a lot of hurt factor with his disposals. He does most things to a good level without having any elite traits. But I'm confident he will be a good value pick and have a solid AFL career.

I was talking about Newnes on Saintsational and stood up for him but the one thing I conceded was that he is a very even player but doesn't have a real party trick in his arsenal so gets looked past. I said he had a good year and so checked his stats to actually look like I knew what I was talking about. He's pretty much 3rd or 4th in every stat besides hit outs. I reckon that sounds a bit like Partington, no bad qualities just not a smack you in the face kind of player.

can't think but danger to stay at the crows is a greater opportunity to occur now

I know is macabre but I thought the same thing. It's got to be something that the players almost need each other now. Dangerfield needs people around him that have gone through the same horrific experience. It was a horrific death that sparked a bond at Port Adelaide too I feel. Mc Carthy was a huge shock this one is almost bigger. Actually Adelaide seems to be having horrible luck at the moment. Dean Bailey was only recent as well. They handled themselves with a great deal of respectfulness and professionalism today and the people who got up to do all the media should be commended as they must be really struggling internally.

to put it bluntly, he's not a midfielder nor is he a KPD. amazing intercept player in the champs off half back as the loose man and serviceable up forward but not as a KPF

he basically ran around and did what he wanted. when he was chucked into the middle he struggled with the harder stuff as a mid like taking a hit, doing the team thing or finding the ball in close. just doesnt like the closeness and folds, prefers to open play where he's in space. which he just wont get at AFL even as the loose defender

has shades of simpkin as a defender. not big enough not small enough not agile enough. big risk to select a bloke as a loose half back intercept mark

A kids character is THE most important thing to us as a club. Doesn't matter how good a player is, if he does not display important character traits then we will not draft him. Take from that what you will....
when did we start doing this? because we have some guys who wouldn't be the poster boys for charter on our list atm.

I have been to a few club events this year and usually try to get to at least one a year. I was super impressed by the character of the younger guys we have now so it's working. Paddy Mc, Daniel Mc, Billings, Sinclair etc all are fantastic people. Newnes strikes me as a future captain, so professional and mature. Even Maverick Weller who came with a few question marks over his off field demeanour is a really fantastic ambassador for us. They are all very generous with their time and respectful people. Big holmes and Paddy were at the jumper presentation early and I reckon the must have had blisters from hand shaking and signing stuff but were happy to get around everyone. Lee, Siposs and Roberton were fantastic guys too. Farren Ray is a gun too.

This will be the third draft that character will be a definite factor in our recruitment.
so then your saying it wasnt a definite factor before that. okay

Very good point

I'm still on game 1 of the streamed games so haven't seen the last game where he apparently had some attitude issues

But on Francis I don't think he necessarily has attitude issues, he just can't play one on one or do the hard contested stuff. He's big but doesn't play like it. Just isn't prepared to take the hit or do the defencive work. Its like having a Sam fisher with the contested side of a milera and the unfortunate in between size of a Simpkin

I can see him sliding out of the top 5 very easily unless he can turn into a midfielder which he never will be

Poor mans scharenberg

This will be the third draft that character will be a definite factor in our recruitment.

It's worked well for us so far. Massive tick

Without the inside word you have, it sounds like a big part in taking paddy was on his character compared to petracca. The fact he was very committed, mature and had already shown he'd do the extra work required (I.e. Took on extra fitness classes to trim weight after advice from recruiters on his weight). Also just a loveable down to earth bloke. Where as petracca came off immature, almost disloyal (see pies rumours and his questioning at the dees) and then his weight ballooned by the time of the draft. A bit of an immature flog apparently

It's worked well for us so far. Massive tick

Without the inside word you have, it sounds like a big part in taking paddy was on his character compared to petracca. The fact he was very committed, mature and had already shown he'd do the extra work required (I.e. Took on extra fitness classes to trim weight after advice from recruiters on his weight). Also just a loveable down to earth bloke. Where as petracca came off immature, almost disloyal (see pies rumours and his questioning at the dees) and then his weight ballooned by the time of the draft. A bit of an immature flog apparently

Impossible not to fall in love with Paddy the first time you meet him. You just know he'd have your back on the field, off the field and he'd be the first to offer to buy you a beer. Has been brought up the right way, helps he'll be a champion forward for us too.

That's how I was with him too. Didn't care if he was shit after that. He is disarmingly nice. That's not a negative by the way.

pendels playing at a different pace this game has wanted me to get balic even more.

their not slow but their different styles of game are what we need

I watched that last game and Balic moves like he's gliding over the ground. He's silky smooth. I'm on board too.

going to be the best player out of the draft form what I've seen. more confident on him than anyone I've seen personally since patton.

dewah07 , who would you want at our second round pick?

How confident are you that we won't take a KPD with our second pick?
Sorry, but I reckon it might be a second year in succession.

Does he kick the ball like Pendlebury?

Is there any confirmed reports of us being keen on balic? Heard it a fair bit on this thread.

In my books the 3 i would most like at our club in order is darcy parish, rhys mathierson, harley balic.

Darcy's run, dash and ball getting ability will only get better once he puts on size, he has MASSIVE upside!. I can see him getting the hard ball and bursting from the pack like chris judd.

Rhys is a bull, he puts his head over the footy an gets it more often then not, and he also has the skills to finish on the outside aswell. Much like josh kennedy from the swans.

Harley is so composed, he looks slow but everything seems to slow down around him when he has the ball, but most importantly he makes great decisions. The pendlebury comparasins are an early call but spot on!.

Id be over the moon with any of these 3.

dewah07 , who would you want at our second round pick?

How confident are you that we won't take a KPD with our second pick?
Sorry, but I reckon it might be a second year in succession.
the players i really like are
- balic
- keays
- partington
players i don't really like
- ah chee
- clarke (or whichever one the WA one is)

i hardly know any players outside of the top 20 players that get spoken about all the time so I'm not the person to ask, rahul/barrels/BS are the ones that would know buckets loads more than me.

in saying that collins reminds me of a poor mans rutten. so basically he reminds me of key delaney, unless he shows he can play forward then i would pass him up