List Mgmt. 2016 Draft Prospects(Poll Added)

Which player do you want at our first & second pick?

• Daniel Venables

Votes: 14 9.2%
  • Will Hayward

Votes: 20 13.2%
  • Jy Simpkin

Votes: 15 9.9%
  • Sam Powell-Pepper

Votes: 7 4.6%
  • Shai Bolton

Votes: 9 5.9%
  • Zach Sproule

Votes: 3 2.0%
  • Harrison Macreadie

Votes: 8 5.3%
  • Todd Marshall

Votes: 38 25.0%
  • Jarrod Berry

Votes: 19 12.5%
  • Jordan Galluci

• Oliver Florent

Votes: 12 7.9%
  • Jack Scrimshaw

• Luke Ryan

• Josh Battle

Votes: 25 16.4%
  • Willem Drew

Votes: 3 2.0%
  • Jack Maibum

Votes: 1 0.7%
  • Joe Atley

Votes: 1 0.7%
  • Tim English

Votes: 31 20.4%
  • Josh Rotham

• Patrick Kerr

Votes: 4 2.6%
  • Alex Witherden

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Brennan Cox

Votes: 6 3.9%

I'm really unsure about Simpkin. Is he any more than a small forward? I wouldn't spend a first rounder on a small fwd. Pick 18 maybe and he sounds like a decent kid but I think there might be a player with more scope at that pick. Could be wrong.
It's pick 18. Would you give pick 18 for Betts? Greene? Breust? Rioli? Wingard? Walters (prior to this year's form)? The respective value of Charlie Cameron and Fantasia are growing every year as well and both play most of their footy up forward. I haven't seen a huge amount of Simpkin (nor is my interest in the draft particularly strong this year) so I can't really comment on whether he's good enough to make that list, but it's a pretty significant list of (primarily) small forwards that would fetch a top 20 pick on the market in my opinion. Philosophically, using pick ~18 on one - provided you think they're best available - is okay I think.

Personally I think we have plenty enough high half forward/mid rotations, the role I think Simpkin will play at his best. I think the places on our list which we are opening up are midfield places assuming Hrovat/Stevens/Jong or some combination are moved on. Would much prefer to add more mid depth. Just my opinion of course.

It definitely seems easier to recruit midfield depth outside of the first round....at least when its Dalrymple ;)

fwiw I wouldn't mind Simpkin, I still have my man crush on Berry & Scrimshaw. I just doubt they'd be available.

It definitely seems easier to recruit midfield depth outside of the first round....at least when its Dalrymple ;)

fwiw I wouldn't mind Simpkin, I still have my man crush on Berry & Scrimshaw. I just doubt they'd be available.
Surely Berry's a good chance of being there at 18

Mentioned earlier in this thread that Simpkin does seem to be a type that Dalrymple would go for. High level character, smart footballer, high potential, vision, composure and works hard both ways. I really like him too, but I expect him to be gone.

In regards to Marshall, I was very disappointed in his TAC finals form. I thought in all 3 games he was often leading to the wrong spots. Not the smartest footballer and didn't show any improvement throughout the year. I'm not surprised he's fallen out of favour.

Here are some players that I reckon could be decent selections at at 18, 36 or mid-second round from a Jong, Hrovat etc. trade:

Josh Battle - Goalkicker, ripping set-shot, elite endurance, strong mark, and a truck around the ball. No qualms about picking this bloke up whatsoever. Very low-risk selection. I'm supremely confident that he'll be a successful pick, no matter whether we pass on a one-in-a-generation player (unlikely), Battle will, at worst, be a solid first rounder.

Jy Simpkin - My personal favourite for pick 18. His broken leg has made people forget just how good he was last year. If we can snag him at 18 we are getting a massive bargain. Dav1d feels that we don't need another half-forward player, however none of the guys we have filling that role are quite like Simpkin. Only Toby McLean comes close. Elite skills, acceleration, good decision-making, footy smarts and crumbing and goal sense. For me, that's too good to pass up.

Willem Drew - If we really want to replace Jong, we need to draft Drew. He is a clone of Jong, except with more versatility. A real chance to bolt, but I still reckon he's sitting around the early-second round at the moment. Strengths are his contested ball-winning, tackling, overhead marking, endurance and speed. I wouldn't mind him having a quiet combine, but that looks unlikely.

Jordan Gallucci - I can see him sliding à la Mathieson last year. Reckon he's a real chance at 36, or if we can get a second rounder for Jong. Similar to Simpkin, but much better on the inside. Outstanding acceleration and speed, damaging footskills, vertical leap and goal sense make him an elite offensive player. I see huge potential in Gallucci, would love to see the Dogs snap him up.

Jordan Ridley - With Ridley, I wouldn't be prepared to use 18 on him. Even a mid-second rounder might be a reach, but if he's on the board at 36 I can't see Dalrymple passing on him. Huge potential to make an impact at AFL level in many positions. At 192cm, he can lock down a medium forward as a third tall and rebound well, he can run off half-back, he can be a link-up wingman, or he could become a tall, lanky extractor from the guts. A bit of risk he busts, but I'd be willing to take a punt.

Zac Fisher - This year's Caleb Daniel, slightly taller. 175cm, 61kg is his downfall. Everything he does is superb, and he will be a success at AFL level, no doubt. Strong on the inside, and that's where he plays his best footy. Because of this, I don't see him as the perfect fit for the Dogs (where we already have Caleb and Dahlhaus), where he would suit other teams to aplomb. That said, I would not be unhappy if his name was called out for our club.

Dan Venables - Another one who could slide, or bolt. Combine will decide where he is placed. So much like Stringer in his impact on games. His production hasn't been terrific, as he fades in and out of games. See him as a pick 18 or nothing. If we pass on him, he'll get snapped up. Him and Stringer could become the most deadly combo in the game, but there is a big risk he can't live out his potential.

Josh Rotham - His output this year hasn't been great. The same size as Ridley, and where his attributes outweigh Ridley's, his performances haven't been consistent enough to give me enough confidence that he'll be a success. His athleticism and skills are up with the best, but his U18 Champs were a tad underwhelming. Not worth a first rounder. Not feeling it at 18. At 36, he could be a huge steal. Could be just a role player at AFL level, could be the next superstar.

Zach Sproule - A bit iffy on Sproule given he isn't a true goalkicker. A terrific mark and set-shot player, and can pinch-hit in the ruck. The contested side to his game should improve, and he doesn't offer heaps defensively. Despite this, he could become a premier swingman, with his ability to defend and beat opposition defenders as a forward. (I don't reckon GWS will match a bid for him, especially given Rory Lobb is staying)

Jarrod Berry - Not a huge fan of Berry, and he's in a similar boat to Rotham. Super highly-touted prospect at the start of the year as a medium defender, his performances all through the year until the end of the Champs were pretty ordinary, for a player of his calibre. Picked up his output when thrown forward and into the middle, but as a defender he didn't show the level of consistency he would like. Terrific leader, good athleticism, good skills, but there are blokes with much more upside than he, in my opinion.

Tim English - I was really big on English after the Champs, but I've cooled on him lately. Now seeing him as a huge, huge risk. Massive bust potential, and to be honest, I wonder about the true ceiling of he, should he simply be a ruckman at AFL level. Will need a few pre-seasons to mature, so will also take a while to develop. On the plus side, this is a 204cm bloke who moves like a midfielder and has elite ball skills, however his ruckwork needs improvement, and will need to develop a forward game.

I have watched a few more games now and am about to Back-Flip.
Tim English is not worth our first round pick. I have wanted us to draft him off viewing a couple of early season games but later year games are not inspiring. He is a second round pick and then he is a high risk reward prospect. He looks years off competitive football and looks like an A Cordy style player.
There are too many good midfielders and tall flankers in this draft to not take one early.

Here are some players that I reckon could be decent selections at at 18, 36 or mid-second round from a Jong, Hrovat etc. trade:

Josh Battle - Goalkicker, ripping set-shot, elite endurance, strong mark, and a truck around the ball. No qualms about picking this bloke up whatsoever. Very low-risk selection. I'm supremely confident that he'll be a successful pick, no matter whether we pass on a one-in-a-generation player (unlikely), Battle will, at worst, be a solid first rounder.

Jy Simpkin - My personal favourite for pick 18. His broken leg has made people forget just how good he was last year. If we can snag him at 18 we are getting a massive bargain. Dav1d feels that we don't need another half-forward player, however none of the guys we have filling that role are quite like Simpkin. Only Toby McLean comes close. Elite skills, acceleration, good decision-making, footy smarts and crumbing and goal sense. For me, that's too good to pass up.

Willem Drew - If we really want to replace Jong, we need to draft Drew. He is a clone of Jong, except with more versatility. A real chance to bolt, but I still reckon he's sitting around the early-second round at the moment. Strengths are his contested ball-winning, tackling, overhead marking, endurance and speed. I wouldn't mind him having a quiet combine, but that looks unlikely.

Jordan Gallucci - I can see him sliding à la Mathieson last year. Reckon he's a real chance at 36, or if we can get a second rounder for Jong. Similar to Simpkin, but much better on the inside. Outstanding acceleration and speed, damaging footskills, vertical leap and goal sense make him an elite offensive player. I see huge potential in Gallucci, would love to see the Dogs snap him up.

Jordan Ridley - With Ridley, I wouldn't be prepared to use 18 on him. Even a mid-second rounder might be a reach, but if he's on the board at 36 I can't see Dalrymple passing on him. Huge potential to make an impact at AFL level in many positions. At 192cm, he can lock down a medium forward as a third tall and rebound well, he can run off half-back, he can be a link-up wingman, or he could become a tall, lanky extractor from the guts. A bit of risk he busts, but I'd be willing to take a punt.

Zac Fisher - This year's Caleb Daniel, slightly taller. 175cm, 61kg is his downfall. Everything he does is superb, and he will be a success at AFL level, no doubt. Strong on the inside, and that's where he plays his best footy. Because of this, I don't see him as the perfect fit for the Dogs (where we already have Caleb and Dahlhaus), where he would suit other teams to aplomb. That said, I would not be unhappy if his name was called out for our club.

Dan Venables - Another one who could slide, or bolt. Combine will decide where he is placed. So much like Stringer in his impact on games. His production hasn't been terrific, as he fades in and out of games. See him as a pick 18 or nothing. If we pass on him, he'll get snapped up. Him and Stringer could become the most deadly combo in the game, but there is a big risk he can't live out his potential.

Josh Rotham - His output this year hasn't been great. The same size as Ridley, and where his attributes outweigh Ridley's, his performances haven't been consistent enough to give me enough confidence that he'll be a success. His athleticism and skills are up with the best, but his U18 Champs were a tad underwhelming. Not worth a first rounder. Not feeling it at 18. At 36, he could be a huge steal. Could be just a role player at AFL level, could be the next superstar.

Zach Sproule - A bit iffy on Sproule given he isn't a true goalkicker. A terrific mark and set-shot player, and can pinch-hit in the ruck. The contested side to his game should improve, and he doesn't offer heaps defensively. Despite this, he could become a premier swingman, with his ability to defend and beat opposition defenders as a forward. (I don't reckon GWS will match a bid for him, especially given Rory Lobb is staying)

Jarrod Berry - Not a huge fan of Berry, and he's in a similar boat to Rotham. Super highly-touted prospect at the start of the year as a medium defender, his performances all through the year until the end of the Champs were pretty ordinary, for a player of his calibre. Picked up his output when thrown forward and into the middle, but as a defender he didn't show the level of consistency he would like. Terrific leader, good athleticism, good skills, but there are blokes with much more upside than he, in my opinion.

Tim English - I was really big on English after the Champs, but I've cooled on him lately. Now seeing him as a huge, huge risk. Massive bust potential, and to be honest, I wonder about the true ceiling of he, should he simply be a ruckman at AFL level. Will need a few pre-seasons to mature, so will also take a while to develop. On the plus side, this is a 204cm bloke who moves like a midfielder and has elite ball skills, however his ruckwork needs improvement, and will need to develop a forward game.

Will Hayward needs a mention too.

9 goals in a Preliminary Final, 4 in a Grand Final in the SANFL 18's. Very capable above his head and on the lead, has a lot of x-factor, a long and very accurate kick and looks like a natural and very smart footballer every time I see him play.

It's all about Battle and Simpkin for me, assuming Venables is gone already.

JAMES_B_101 knows a bit more about Tweedie in that case.
I played at the same junior club as him, he played as a midfielder/wing from memory for most of his junior days before a growth spurt. His dad has an indigenous background. I would be surprised if he was up to 196cm but if he was then he's genuine key position height and will move well for that height.

Somewhere had him listed that tall but the most consistent is around the 189-191cm mark.

List Mgmt. 2016 Draft Prospects(Poll Added)