Hot Topic 2016 DRAFT

We trade this years 1st and next years second for the GWS 4 Mk 2. We also package our second and both third round picks this year (assuming a finish of 12th and the dogs 4th) 23 + 41 + 49 = 1497 points and get pick 10 = 1395 points (Collingwood) back from the Giants.

Out: Picks 5, 23, 41, 49 (2017 2nd rounder).
In: GWS 4, pick 10

GWS then ontrade pick 5 to Melbourne for their 1st round pick next year. This gives Melbourne two more guns this year to add to Petracca and Oliver etc for the new coach to work with next year. Melbourne bank on finishing higher than 13th next year.

GWS also get two second round picks from Freo for Macarthy (this year and next years).

Sets GWS up nicely with enough points (and list space) for this years half dozen 1st round academy boys (GWS 1st, Geelong 1st, GWS 2nd, Freo 2nd, Our 2nd, GWS 3rd, Bulldogs 3rd, Our 3rd), and leaves them with two first rounders (Melbourne and thier own) and three second rounders (ours, theirs and Freos) next year as a good platform for more academy points (and another crop of discounted first round academy players).

In addition to those points, the Giants will lose another gun or two over the next few years which will get them more 1st round picks, and will need to reduce the list size meaning they'll offload surplus players for points (to pay for more first round academy boys). They'll need a combination of list space, cap space and points to bring in a ton of academy 1st rounders every year while that rort lasts.
Sounds good in theory and there is no doubt we will be trying to get back a first round pick but I don't see Collingwood finishing high enough in the ladder to end up with pick 10. Theirs is likely to be around pick 5 or 6 which would make it very difficult to get the points to make it happen.

I think it is far more likely we get either their own or Geelong's first rounder back (which could mean we could possibly keep our second round pick).

Cool... Might have to watch it. I'm thinking of rewatching the country vs metro game again and keeping an eye on Warpol this time. The tackle in the third where he completely wrapped the kid up, including a scissor lock on his head, was impressive.

Will set the IQ and watch over the weekend. Its also a good way to go back and have a look when the draft gets closer.
Haven't watched the VC vs VM game yet.

Cool... Might have to watch it. I'm thinking of rewatching the country vs metro game again and keeping an eye on Warpol this time. The tackle in the third where he completely wrapped the kid up, including a scissor lock on his head, was impressive.

Yeah kind of hoping we still have a pick around late first or something if the gws trade goes ahead and we can unearth a gem like Crippa, don't have foxtel so everyone's write ups are much appreciated!!

Looks quite feasible. Looking at where their academy picks are likely to land, have you worked out the points the Giants will need to ensure they can use the picks we give them?

Not yet, but there should be around 10-12 academy boys (in total) picked up in the first 25 or so picks this year from the looks of it.

Around 6 Riverena lads.

Yeah kind of hoping we still have a pick around late first or something if the gws trade goes ahead and we can unearth a gem like Crippa, don't have foxtel so everyone's write ups are much appreciated!!
If you go to this page on the AFL website:

http://www.afl.com.au/draft/u18s

And scroll right down to the bottom, you can see the videos for the games in the bottom right hand column. That Warpel kid I was talking about looks like he could go mid-late first round or early-mid second. He really looks like a bull at the contest and could almost do a Cripps and step up into the senior side straight away.

That is (not) good.

Well I was going to say something about his teammates checking McLuggage in early at the airport then running away from him on those moving walkways so ... they .... can .... travelator.

Thank **** I thought better off it.

Speaking of travelators ... as I wasn't ... I once had to change planes at Phoenix Airport in Arizona and they had the bastards everywhere. Big corridors full of nothing but carpet and travelators. No levels, just flat moving walkways that travelled as fast as someone walking, if that. Now, that's pretty damn lazy.

Right, one more .... I hope McLuggage doesn't get drafted interstate. Having to fly every second week, McLuggage is bound to end up in the wrong city at some point.
Its not lazy ODN, its so you can get to the gates faster, youre supposed to walk on them like normal.

They have them at Denpassar and theyre actually super handy

We trade this years 1st and next years second for the GWS 4 Mk 2. We also package our second and both third round picks this year (assuming a finish of 12th and the dogs 4th) 23 + 41 + 49 = 1497 points and get pick 10 = 1395 points (Collingwood) back from the Giants.

Out: Picks 5, 23, 41, 49 (2017 2nd rounder).
In: GWS 4, pick 10

GWS then ontrade pick 5 to Melbourne for their 1st round pick next year. This gives Melbourne two more guns this year to add to Petracca and Oliver etc for the new coach to work with next year. Melbourne bank on finishing higher than 13th next year.

GWS also get two second round picks from Freo for Macarthy (this year and next years).

Sets GWS up nicely with enough points (and list space) for this years half dozen 1st round academy boys (GWS 1st, Geelong 1st, GWS 2nd, Freo 2nd, Our 2nd, GWS 3rd, Bulldogs 3rd, Our 3rd), and leaves them with two first rounders (Melbourne and thier own) and three second rounders (ours, theirs and Freos) next year as a good platform for more academy points (and another crop of discounted first round academy players).

In addition to those points, the Giants will lose another gun or two over the next few years which will get them more 1st round picks, and will need to reduce the list size meaning they'll offload surplus players for points (to pay for more first round academy boys). They'll need a combination of list space, cap space and points to bring in a ton of academy 1st rounders every year while that rort lasts.

What happened to the "trade our first round pick for two other first round picks" theory ??

I'd actually come around to that way of thinking and was looking forward to seeing if it could eventuate. Now you offer up some other convoluted load of whoopsie that has me scratching my head once again.

The flaw in that plan you outlined is there is no real reason for GWS to ontrade the pick (you said it was #5, I think it will be slightly later around #7 or #8) to Melbourne just to get their 2017 pick back in return. The Dees will finish higher again next year which also doesn't make it as attractive as you seem to think.

What happened to the "trade our first round pick for two other first round picks" theory ??

I'd actually come around to that way of thinking and was looking forward to seeing if it could eventuate. Now you offer up some other convoluted load of whoopsie that has me scratching my head once again.

The flaw in that plan you outlined is there is no real reason for GWS to ontrade the pick (you said it was #5, I think it will be slightly later around #7 or #8) to Melbourne just to get their 2017 pick back in return. The Dees will finish higher again next year which also doesn't make it as attractive as you seem to think.
That concept flew out the window when we started winning games, trading pick 1-3 has value. No one will trade for a pick #6 or #7

Its not lazy ODN, its so you can get to the gates faster, youre supposed to walk on them like normal.

These were set super slow and people stop on them. That was pointless.

You're one of those disturbed individuals who walks on escalators, aren't you, FBI?

We wont have a low enough pick to make it worthwhile (we are doing better than I expected) and this new plan kind of does that.

Marchbank (Pick 6)
Tomlinson (Pick 9)
Steele (North bid pick 15, it was matchedby GWS under the old system and he went at pick 24)

Effectively we would be trading this years first rounder down (from five or so) into the mid teens, and handing over a bunch of 2nd and third round picks this year and next, for 3 first round picks.

Mate, as soon as GWS have enough points to pay for the academy selections they want this draft, they're going to want to shore up more 1st round selections and points for the following years draft in 2017 (to pay for another half dozen first round academy boys).

If they feel confident they have enough points to pay for half a dozen first round academy boys this year, they'll then start trading exess stuff to other clubs for more picks next year.

Then they rinse and repeat next year.

My hypothetical assumes that they have enough points this year to pay for the half a dozen 1st round academy boys this year without having to use the 1st round pick we give them. Accordingly they dont need it this year (they pick up six discounted 1st round academy players with a huge discount, and then bow out of the draft). They instead trade it to a team in exchange for that teams 1st round pick next year (which lets them repeat this process all over again in 2017; farm as many points as they can till they can pay for a bunch of first round Riverena kids, and then trade out exess stuff for points to repeat it in 2018).

The academy system is a massive rort. GWS can convert 1st, 2nd and 3rd round picks into points to pay for 1st round pick players (with a hefty discount applied on top) and with a guaranteed right to match any bids. Its irrelevant to GWS where those picks are - only how many total points they have available to them in the draft. Once they're satisfied they can pay for the players they want this year (they have enough points), they'll look to trade excess stuff out to gain more picks (and points) next year to set themselves up to repeat the whole process all over again.

They are going to be completely unstoppable. They've positioned themselves to top up with around a half dozen 1st round players every year this academy system stays in place.

The best we can do is to take advantage of it while it lasts. With a shrinking list size (and cap space), and a steady influx of half a dozen 1st round players each year, and a constant need for points to pay for them, there will be opportunities. A shitload of talent is going into a club with a shrinking list and cap, which will squeeze a few out. Gun players will be looking for opportunities elsewhere. And the Giants dont care about where a pick is. They'll happily trade out a low pick (or a wantaway young gun) for a bunch of latter picks (as long as those latter picks add up to more points) or for picks the following year to let them repeat the process (and simply replace the kids that leave with more 1st rounders).

The worst part of the academy, or best if you benefit, is that GWS are getting young bodies into early development programs. They will come into the system ahead of their cohort, and probably play better football earlier because they have had top level instruction when other kids were getting local footy level development.

Ward, Shiel, Scully, Griffin, Kelly, Whitfield, Hopper, Kennedy and Steele is a ridiculous midfield without even considering the flankers like Dev Smith and co rotating in and out. Steele already being pushed out by highly rated kids. Come on down son.

Were getting Conigliio?
Has signed a new contract I think... would love to have him in Navy Blue... but it isnt going to happen.

EDIT: Signed it this time last year... so end of next year I think.