Mega Thread 2016 Media Thread

Washes his hair.:cool:
Nah I reckon at the time RTB is supposed to be on 6PR he is on the phone to you as his mentor getting the good oil on what tactics to adopt on the weekend against Norf. o_O:D:)

I see on AFL 360 last night that BOMBER, Slobbo and Gerrard reckon Freo stink.
It is bloody easy for these Victorian pricks to snipe at Freo from the other side of he country.

Really infuriating , when it is easy to see what process Ross is undertaking to change the team.

Somebody stated there was a good interview piece with Kingy and Ross. Anyone know which show ?

I see on AFL 360 last night that BOMBER, Slobbo and Gerrard reckon Freo stink.
It is bloody easy for these Victorian pricks to snipe at Freo from the other side of he country.

Really infuriating , when it is easy to see what process Ross is undertaking to change the team.

Somebody stated there was a good interview piece with Kingy and Ross. Anyone know which show ?

The plus about losing a few games is having a free week without watching any of the Vic centric footy shows. ;)

The only reason I watched it is because I thought that might be the show with the King / Ross interview.

I tend to tune out to all the footy shows when Freo are losing. The Vic's are like a pack of starving Jackals.

It was towards the end of On The Couch.

Agree with your point - it's easy to go, "oh they're 0-4, they must be shite", without factoring in who we've played and how we've been playing.

Edit: I think I saw it online too - maybe Facebook.

You should've heard Rebecca Wilson on fox news sports last night... Apparently Pav and fyfe are hopelessly out of form. I doubt she has ever watched a game of afl let alone one involving us. Just look at the ladder, 0-4 must mean our best players are shite.

Enjoying football so much more since I stopped watching football media.

Yep same. Don't watch or read anything anymore other than stuff I see second hand on here. I even mute the tv during all the prematch/half-time 'analysis'.

The actual games are much more enjoyable when your head isn't polluted with all the agendas and soap operas the media tries to whip up during the week.

Totally understandable. I don't mind 360 and On The Couch. I normally take very little notice of anything they say about Freo, but tend to enjoy the frothing about other teams. At the moment the shitness of Richmond and Collingwood makes those shows quite enjoyable.

I have just given AFL360 the arse after watching Slobbo lead Bomber Thompson to agree that Fremantle are on the nose.
Half pissed Robbo : Hey Bomber " Freo are on the nose, you agree ? "
Bomber " grunt, mmm, mmm, grunt they are a bit "
Gerrard " so, Freo stink. We all agree on that."

That's the first episode I've watched this year and now I'm done.
David King is definitely a fan of Ross but we're not hearing enough of it.
The only other one I have watched is league teams and only to get the team selections. For what it's worth they have all tipped Freo to clean Carlton up.

Interesting Barrett's comment for the Doggies on this week's Sliding Doors about them being the team who deserves luck on injuries...yep they've had some key injuries...

For Freo...serves up crap about one positive for us being that we didn't get Cloke 3 years ago...

Sooo...Freo...lost Sandi & Bennell for an extended period...Mundy's been out...Mora had a set back preseason...don't bother about us mate...

Yep same. Don't watch or read anything anymore other than stuff I see second hand on here. I even mute the tv during all the prematch/half-time 'analysis'.

The actual games are much more enjoyable when your head isn't polluted with all the agendas and soap operas the media tries to whip up during the week.
The thing for me is I kept getting pissed off about the analysis on the (not unreasonable) assumption that people getting paid to write about something would do some research but realised that most of what gets written and said is just superficial.

Then I realised that there are very few outside actual football clubs that actually think about and enquire into the game as much as I (and no doubt many others here) do.

Its the same with 99.9% of the conversations I have about football with other punters. They just don't know anything beyond what gets served up on 7 news or the west. They have no idea of the players beyond the established stars and no feel for why the team is where its at with personnel and the game plan. They just see the ladder and read the back page of the West and conclude the sky is falling.

So now I discourage football conversations other than with equally knowledgable people here or at training and completely ignore what the talking heads and journos write because most of it is biased, superficial and disingenuous.

And I'm enjoying the game so much more!

That is because I'm excited about the emphasis moving to more attacking footy and so very much looking forward to seeing what the team plays like with Mundy, Bennell, Mora and a few other new faces when the game plan is bedded down. Its also a relief to see other teams jumping out of the blocks and garnering all the early season hype while we are written off. Its going to make it even better when we start smoking teams in the second half of the year when we get going and others are hitting the wall. Kind of the opposite of last year I'm hoping.

And that kind of long term in-depth analyses of where we are at is completely missing from any of mainstream footy media.

Interesting Barrett's comment for the Doggies on this week's Sliding Doors about them being the team who deserves luck on injuries...yep they've had some key injuries...

For Freo...serves up crap about one positive for us being that we didn't get Cloke 3 years ago...

Sooo...Freo...lost Sandi & Bennell for an extended period...Mundy's been out...Mora had a set back preseason...don't bother about us mate...

Our sliding doors have almost always been crap.

There have been on occasion a well researched one where it actually was applicable to our team. But again very, very rarely.

Easy fix, don't read them any more. I so very rarely go on AFL.com now because of the obvious bias.

I hate "the 10" videos for each round. Freo were top of the ladder last season and very rarely featured in any of "the 10" videos at all. I remember one where a game between two vic clubs had about 5 segements of the 10 while the rest were a smattering of other Vic clubs.

The thing for me is I kept getting pissed off about the analysis on the (not unreasonable) assumption that people getting paid to write about something would do some research but realised that most of what gets written and said is just superficial.

Then I realised that there are very few outside actual football clubs that actually think about and enquire into the game as much as I (and no doubt many others here) do.

Its the same with 99.9% of the conversations I have about football with other punters. They just don't know anything beyond what gets served up on 7 news or the west. They have no idea of the players beyond the established stars and no feel for why the team is where its at with personnel and the game plan. They just see the ladder and read the back page of the West and conclude the sky is falling.

So now I discourage football conversations other than with equally knowledgable people here or at training and completely ignore what the talking heads and journos write because most of it is biased, superficial and disingenuous.

And I'm enjoying the game so much more!

That is because I'm excited about the emphasis moving to more attacking footy and so very much looking forward to seeing what the team plays like with Mundy, Bennell, Mora and a few other new faces when the game plan is bedded down. Its also a relief to see other teams jumping out of the blocks and garnering all the early season hype while we are written off. Its going to make it even better when we start smoking teams in the second half of the year when we get going and others are hitting the wall. Kind of the opposite of last year I'm hoping.

And that kind of long term in-depth analyses of where we are at is completely missing from any of mainstream footy media.
95% of what's written is paper thin stuff (as Ross would say). You have to work hard to find the genuine insight but there is some to be dug out. The problem is the journos don't have access to the detail and the clubs rarely share it. Ross is as reluctant as any coach to give away anything meaningful.
That said, love his press conferences, in between the constantly repeated Lyonisms and his general disdain for the people asking him questions, you learn more there than almost anywhere else.
As for finding those 5% of gems among the cack, I hope people keep posting them here.

I like to throw in a disingenuous at times too ;) suggests more intent on the part of the person being superficial i.e. that they are deliberately leaving out the facts that don't fit their narrative.

That's the issue yeah. Their stories are moulded to a specific agenda, usually one formed from a week's worth of groupthink and shit trending on Twitter. What is actually most relevant, compelling or worthy of analysis is thrown by the wayside in favour of tabloid style, hysterical pandering. The chances of actually learning something or having thought-provoking discourse are basically nil, so why bother?

indeed. that's why all my conversation about footy takes place here. Those of us that go to training and or sift through the minutia of real information that gets out there and look at the big picture.

We wouldn't be Freo tragics otherwise :) And we're probably representative of a tiny fraction of footy fans, why bother doing things like 'research' or apply 'critical thinking' to cater to a small minority when you can still retain your lofty position as a 'footy head' and all its accompanying perks with minimal work?

The media are sheep and don't have an original thought amongst them. The only sports programme I watch these day is Back Page, and that's nice and light hearted.