2016 NAB cup - We're #1!

My thoughts on the game:
I think we are getting a bit excited on Weller. Yes, he did some very good things (pass to Pav) but I'd never pick him in the team before someone like Mzungu. Being at the game, you really notice the difference in body shape and how that can influence a contest. Gu is just a far more hardened afl player - and is looking good again after having a down year through injury and limited opportunity last season. This is not having a go at Weller, who I reckon should play 10 - 15 good games this year.
I think Ibbotson had a very good game against Tigers, and is just growing as the general back there.
Darcy Tucker seems like a natural footballer. Yes, a few of his disposals were not correctly flighted but he probably had a few nerves and I actually thought it was a brilliant debut. He will be a 150 game player for Freo. Bookmark it now.
Danyle Pearce seems like a really nice guy (chatting to fans after the game) but there is still a lot of banging it on the boot which will result in turn overs in the high pressured games.
Walters is a brilliant player.
I know Fyfe had a good second half but he still didn't quite seem 100% Could be an idea to sit him out of the next one?

I have a spare ticket and I am retired so we can make arrangements on how you can get it off me. PM me but I am going down to be at the Sebel in Mandurah at 12.30 to do lunch with Salim Malik and Harry Reems etc Probably best to PM me through conversation function on BF .
Hi Danny. Sorry I didn't see this note from you until later. Thanks for getting back to me. I did make it to the game and had a great day. Will catch up for a beer next time.

If Adelaide bring over their kids next week (as expected) we may only get one serious hit out before round 1. Which I'm sure RTB won't think is ideal.

If Adelaide do bring over their kids, I hope we play ours too, I'd love to see Langdon and Hughes play.

If Adelaide bring over their kids next week (as expected) we may only get one serious hit out before round 1. Which I'm sure RTB won't think is ideal.

If Adelaide do bring over their kids, I hope we play ours too, I'd love to see Langdon and Hughes play.
So you think you'll play the kids next week then?

We'll send over a reasonably young team but it just won't be all kids. Brad Crouch, Sloane and Menzel will all play. A few other experienced players will make the trip as well.

Do you think Sandi will play?

I doubt that what Adelaide do will effect what we do, but would love Langdon, Hughes and Grey to get a run. Crozier needs it too.

FORWARD; Pavlich? Not sure why we would bother running him again. Bring in Clarke if he is ready. Focus on Taberner, Mayne and Griffin/Clarke as our tall forwards. Rest Sandilands. Drop Hannath. Crozier or Langdon in for Ballantyne.

MIDFIELD; Go easy on Fyfe, rolling him forward, but get him more game time. Get Mundy in, maybe instead of C Pearce. Bring in Langdon, maybe rest another Pearce or see how we go with more run/less blocking and rest de Boer/Suban.

BACK: Get Hughes or Grey in, perhaps for Spurr and let his shoulder rest and recuperate. Keep Collins.

That's my calls for now. Most of those players have a serious possibility to get game time.

My thoughts on the game:
I think we are getting a bit excited on Weller. Yes, he did some very good things (pass to Pav) but I'd never pick him in the team before someone like Mzungu. Being at the game, you really notice the difference in body shape and how that can influence a contest. Gu is just a far more hardened afl player - and is looking good again after having a down year through injury and limited opportunity last season. This is not having a go at Weller, who I reckon should play 10 - 15 good games this year.
The point for me though is whether it's Weller and/or Mzungu, if the form of either up forward can permit someone like Walters to play more in the midfield, we have improved. Weller only played 59 minutes / 75% of the game yesterday during which time he kicked a goal, gave 2 assists, had 3 inside 50's, 3 tackles and 2 rebounds out of their defensive 50 - I am more than a bit excited with that.

If Weller,Blakley ,Mzungu,Suban ,De Boer are depth we are in a very good place.

I doubt that what Adelaide do will effect what we do, but would love Langdon, Hughes and Grey to get a run. Crozier needs it too.

FORWARD; Pavlich? Not sure why we would bother running him again. Bring in Clarke if he is ready. Focus on Taberner, Mayne and Griffin/Clarke as our tall forwards. Rest Sandilands. Drop Hannath. Crozier or Langdon in for Ballantyne.

I think it's important that Pavlich plays. Forward structure has been our biggest weakness, and we should take every opportunity to get it sorted before the start of the season proper. We should be testing what we consider to be our starting forward 6.

They sent a pretty full squad against the eagles. I figured they would do so again.

I think Langdon, Hughes and Crozier are montys to play no matter what the strength of our team next week.

Yeah, they may do. I just don't understand why we have received three home games when it's likely every travelling team won't send their A team. On paper it sounds like an advantage, but it may not work out that way.

Geelong will front up full strength Their last chance to settle the 22 and they have two weeks of to recover.

I think it's important that Pavlich plays. Forward structure has been our biggest weakness, and we should take every opportunity to get it sorted before the start of the season proper. We should be testing what we consider to be our starting forward 6.
I don't see it that way. It has been indicated Pavlich will be managed through the season so the structure needs to be less about him as an individual and more about the role he plays. We also don't have a best 6 forward set up per second, with heaps of tall and small part timers looking for time forward.

It could be the most important practice match of Zac Clarke's career as I expect him to play. If he is going to play in Round 1 against the Bulldogs he will have to play exceptionally in the two remaining practice matches and perhaps the Round 1 Peel game. For what it is worth Sandy is a player who need to develop touch. Both times when he came back after a long layoff from his foot injuries he took weeks to gain touch. I think they will want Griffin to develop his forward play as well, so perhaps all three play with one always off the ground.
For what it is worth after the first game my prediction for round 1 is now listed below.
There are at least four positions that I think could change depending on NAB form.
B: Ibbo Dawson Spurr
HB: Sutty Johno Hill
C: Walters Mundy Bennell
HF: Weller Clarke Mayne
FF: Balla Pav Tabs
R: Sandy Neale Fyfe
I/C Barlow, D.Pearce, Sheridan
Last place in 22 to whoever plays the best in preseason games from Gu, Blakely, Langdon, Suban, De Boer, Tucker or Crozier
I don't think we need three tall defenders unless the Bulldogs play a taller forward line than expected. De Boer is more of a chance to play IMO than the majority view on this board as he could play a negating forward role on Murphy or Woods. I thought Blakely was a certainty only one week ago so things can obviously change quickly.

It could be the most important practice match of Zac Clarke's career as I expect him to play. If he is going to play in Round 1 against the Bulldogs he will have to play exceptionally in the two remaining practice matches and perhaps the Round 1 Peel game. For what it is worth Sandy is a player who need to develop touch. Both times when he came back after a long layoff from his foot injuries he took weeks to gain touch. I think they will want Griffin to develop his forward play as well, so perhaps all three play with one always off the ground.
For what it is worth after the first game my prediction for round 1 is now listed below.
There are at least four positions that I think could change depending on NAB form.
B: Ibbo Dawson Spurr
HB: Sutty Johno Hill
C: Walters Mundy Bennell
HF: Weller Clarke Mayne
FF: Balla Pav Tabs
R: Sandy Neale Fyfe
I/C Barlow, D.Pearce, Sheridan
Last place in 22 to whoever plays the best in preseason games from Gu, Blakely, Langdon, Suban, De Boer, Tucker or Crozier
I don't think we need three tall defenders unless the Bulldogs play a taller forward line than expected. De Boer is more of a chance to play IMO than the majority view on this board as he could play a negating forward role on Murphy or Woods. I thought Blakely was a certainty only one week ago so things can obviously change quickly.

I agree with most of what you say but Muz is easily best 22.

I really hope croz can trial in Mayne role vs adelaide Nab match , let Mayne had another week off since we already know what he can offer , with Langdon replacing ballas, clarke (Tab, Griff).

If D. Pearce play I hope he score 2 goal and got 13-15 disposal with 90 efficient.
Don't think a big ask , Dawson last match 100 efficiency.
( if not I totally lost hope on this guy , will never ever comment on this spud (first and last time to call him ).

I really hope croz can trial in Mayne role vs adelaide Nab match , let Mayne had another week off since we already know what he can offer , with Langdon replacing ballas, clarke (Tab, Griff).

If D. Pearce play I hope he score 2 goal and got 13-15 disposal with 90 efficient.
Don't think a big ask , Dawson last match 100 efficiency.

( if not I totally lost hope on this guy , will never ever comment on this spud (first and last time to call him ).
But that's just silly. He needs match fitness and is a player who has been out of form, to not play him would make no sense, hes a certainty to play.
Also, no way would Tabs be getting dropped, these practice games are crucial for him.
Big difference in roles between D. Pearce and Dawson mate, that's not how it works.

2016 NAB cup - We're #1!