2016 Non-Crows AFL Discussion - Cont. in Part 2 (link in OP)

Port's current malaise is a very good example of just how quickly a team/club can go backwards at a rate of knots or get things right and taste success. One or two good or bad decisions by the board, a few key injuries during a season and it can go either way.
Adelaide in the last 10 years is a classic example of this also.
It's good for everyone to remember this, including me, when having a laugh at Port at the moment.

Good point, it's hard to call the deal 'poor' when the cheap rent was part of it. Gloss over it and you're not seeing whole picture

That's one way to look at it. Another is that we committed $20m to a state of the art training/admin centre at the precinct whose value was then placed at risk by the SANFL subsequently selling off their land. Prior to committing those funds, you'd like to think that we had secured our rights to the area in order to guarantee return on our significant investment. If we were forced to find alternate training digs away from our elite indoor and recovery centre then we would have looked very silly indeed. I think we find ourselves in what should have been the break even position following our $20m commitment to that precinct.

After 2012 all you ever heard from the crows players was 'we were one kick from a grand final'. It used to p*ss me off no end as to me it sounded like they were pretty happy with that and there did not seem to be any drive to improve and do the hard things as we already thought we were good enough. Port i reckon have been similar since 2014 every year it's 'we're top 4 certainties we were one kick from a gf in 2014 and we've improved or squad since'
I saw in Kane Cornes recent article saying how Walsh went to watch us play North in Tassie in '14 and ended up on the same plane ride home as the players and couldn't believe how happy some of them were despite our finals chances essentially being done at that point.

I think there definitely was a real sense of that "we were 1 kick away, we're still awesome" type mentality with some players in the group, a mentality that is hopefully gone now.

I saw in Kane Cornes recent article saying how Walsh went to watch us play North in Tassie in '14 and ended up on the same plane ride home as the players and couldn't believe how happy some of them were despite our finals chances essentially being done at that point.

I think there definitely was a real sense of that "we were 1 kick away, we're still awesome" type mentality with some players in the group, a mentality that is hopefully gone now.
Not to discredit Kane (he does a good enough job himself) but I'd doubt our players would have been 'happy' after a loss. Having said that there comes a time when you move on, hell after a rubbish day at work I smile as soon as I walk out the door.

I suspect there was some of that attitude about though, as it seems there is down the road.

I notice that is a real bugbear of Roo as well.

They knew there was a good chance they'd lose Ryder and failed to cover their bases in anyway shape or form. Absolutely horrible list management decision, that's on them and them alone.

It would be like us losing Jacobs, except we've been smart enough to cover that potentially happening by recruiting Lowden, O'Brien and Hunter. Port just said "she'll be right" with Lobbe and have no other options now.

The whole Ryder thing is stupid.

Port played great footy with Lobbe in '13 and '14. Then they waste a first round pick on Ryder (which ADADA/WADA bans hanging over his shoulder) when they desperately need a developing KPF to take over from Schultz. And then, as you said they don't bother to get a backup ruck (just incase). Seriously it would not have been that hard to rookie-list Baulderstone. OR even perhaps rookie list another clubs discarded ruck.

Point being, Ports list management is a joke and we are seeing it now. No good KPF's backup. No good defenders in backup. No strong inside-mids for backup. They are getting exactly what they deserve.

They knew there was a good chance they'd lose Ryder and failed to cover their bases in anyway shape or form. Absolutely horrible list management decision, that's on them and them alone.

It would be like us losing Jacobs, except we've been smart enough to cover that potentially happening by recruiting Lowden, O'Brien and Hunter. Port just said "she'll be right" with Lobbe and have no other options now.
Absolutely - I think they have under-estimated the impact ... and made bad decisions along those lines. Listening to Power supporters say all pre-season how easy it will be to cover Ryder made me shake my head.

They made their bed, no doubts.

Wingard is definitely down on form AND seems to be getting some niggly injuries, but he is quality. I've seen him go in plenty hard when needed and the chips are down. I don't see him as a "down-hill" player at all.

I don't mind the "we were one kick away"..... As long as you are proud of the progress, but at the same time it burns in your gut that you blew it. This is reflected in Talia's Bn'F speech. However, if you go in "we have now got the last piece of the puzzle" it is resting on your laurels.

I think Sando *tried* to tweak the game plan because he saw pure contested footy did not stand up in finals. But without Bailey he was lost at sea.

Port played great footy with Lobbe in '13 and '14. Then they waste a first round pick on Ryder (which ADADA/WADA bans hanging over his shoulder) when they desperately need a developing KPF to take over from Schultz. And then, as you said they don't bother to get a backup ruck (just incase). Seriously it would not have been that hard to rookie-list Baulderstone. OR even perhaps rookie list another clubs discarded ruck.

Point being, Ports list management is a joke and we are seeing it now. No good KPF's backup. No good defenders in backup. No strong inside-mids for backup. They are getting exactly what they deserve.
On Baulderstone, I had heard he told us that he didn't want to get drafted by us, because he didn't want to play footy against Norwood. I imagine the same would apply for Port too. Point still stands though that they should have gotten someone in.

The key aspect in our move and securing our club's security was the lease on Footy Park as a training venue. It is basically a Peppercorn rent from the SANFL, which is what Port have to use Alberton Oval with the Port Adelaide - Enfield council.

and I am so sick of moronic Port supporters saying "the Crows should be paying $2,000,000 dollars a year", yet when you ask them what the PAFC pays the Port Adelaide/Enfield council for their peppercorn agreement for Alberton they go silent.

On Baulderstone, I had heard he told us that he didn't want to get drafted by us, because he didn't want to play footy against Norwood. I imagine the same would apply for Port too. Point still stands though that they should have gotten someone in.

Port could have easily traded a third round pick for Giles or Currie. They were the ruckman to be traded last year and both commanded near worthless picks

Ryder was recruited on name value alone.

They had their "look at us", moment when he announced Port as his destination, but the club then had the tough job of actually finding a way to try and fit him into their squad.

No questions were asked because 95% of Port supporter base are insular and they stupidly thought that Ryder was a key position forward :$

and I am so sick of moronic Port supporters saying "the Crows should be paying $2,000,000 dollars a year", yet when you ask them what the PAFC pays the Port Adelaide/Enfield council for their peppercorn agreement at Alberton they go silent.

But, but, but... 1870, dat history tho; we are true club, not plastic franchise; Alberton would be nothing without us!

I don't mind the "we were one kick away"..... As long as you are proud of the progress, but at the same time it burns in your gut that you blew it. This is reflected in Talia's Bn'F speech. However, if you go in "we have now got the last piece of the puzzle" it is resting on your laurels.

I think Sando *tried* to tweak the game plan because he saw pure contested footy did not stand up in finals. But without Bailey he was lost at sea.
I was gobsmacked when they were interviewing wines after last weeks debacle and asking him if the game plan had changed (players must be still coming to terms with it, that's the only reason for their poor form surely...) He was at great pains to insist that they have had the same game plan for the past 4 years and couldn't understand why it they weren't winning.

Surely your game plan should be constantly evolving to keep up with advances in the game at the very least, but ideally leading the charge with innovative ideas. To still be rehashing the same game plan from 4 years ago and expecting it to still be working seems utterly ludicrous!

I was gobsmacked when they were interviewing wines after last weeks debacle and asking him if the game plan had changed (players must be still coming to terms with it, that's the only reason for their poor form surely...) He was at great pains to insist that they have had the same game plan for the past 4 years and couldn't understand why it they weren't winning.

Surely your game plan should be constantly evolving to keep up with advances in the game at the very least, but ideally leading the charge with innovative ideas. To still be rehashing the same game plan from 4 years ago and expecting it to still be working seems utterly ludicrous!

I think part of the problem is that powa think they are no different to the Hawks in that they are a powerhouse team and their game plan is a winning game plan that only needs slight adjustments. :rolleyes: Their form against the Hawks inflates their opinion of themselves. They are nowhere near Hawks both in gameplan and players.

I noticed rooch once again yesterday used the wins against the hawks as proof that they have a kickass gameplan that needs no tweaking.

That's right rooch, keep em on that path. They're doing great.

Dougal Howard shows promise. I'm sure he may swing through the ruck and make something of it.

Would prefer you address the points. You suggested that Vlad got Trigg the Carlton gig whilst no longer AFL CEO. Do you have anything to substantiate that? You've suggested Trigg held out for a better deal in the best interests of our club, that's absurd given that the deal was clearly average and it was the SANFL that we we'd be negotiating against, not the AFL. You certainly have a bias, perhaps it's not pro- Trigg but maybe against Vlad or someone else. What started this discussion was me saying that this was something that Vlad got indisputably right. Do you disagree?

Trigg was appointed ten weeks after Gil. Rumors were that Trigg came with high recommendations from AFL House - which absolutely meant the recently promoted Gil McLauchlan, but also meant Andrew Demetriou, who took great pains to make clear that Trigg was someone who had an ongoing career ahead in the AFL ("We are all very disappointed with what happened at the Adelaide Football Club, particularly with someone held in such high regard as Steven Trigg," said Demetriou. "It was completely un-Steven Trigg-like"). Demetriou went to great lengths with Trigg, inlcuding some dancing around the topic on Footy Confidential.

You can think that Gil came in and one of his first acts was getting Trigg a job. The balance of probability for me is that demetriou also had a strong hand in it, but I guess the politics that surrounds that (and perhaps what was promised Trigg for taking the Tippett fall) is impossible to know.

Regarding the Adelaide Oval, rumors at the time was Trigg was more of a hold out that Thomas and demanded the six-month review with the SMA. I guess we can't know that for sure, but the deal around rent-free training space and admin seems good.

I'm not anti-Vlad. I'm sure he got a lot of things right. I think his last year or so was a bit hit-and-miss, but he left the league in a good position.

Trigg was appointed ten weeks after Gil. Rumors were that Trigg came with high recommendations from AFL House - which absolutely meant the recently promoted Gil McLauchlan, but also meant Andrew Demetriou, who took great pains to make clear that Trigg was someone who had an ongoing career ahead in the AFL ("We are all very disappointed with what happened at the Adelaide Football Club, particularly with someone held in such high regard as Steven Trigg," said Demetriou. "It was completely un-Steven Trigg-like"). Demetriou went to great lengths with Trigg, inlcuding some dancing around the topic on Footy Confidential.

You can think that Gil came in and one of his first acts was getting Trigg a job. The balance of probability for me is that demetriou also had a strong hand in it, but I guess the politics that surrounds that (and perhaps what was promised Trigg for taking the Tippett fall) is impossible to know.

Regarding the Adelaide Oval, rumors at the time was Trigg was more of a hold out that Thomas and demanded the six-month review with the SMA. I guess we can't know that for sure, but the deal around rent-free training space and admin seems good.

I'm not anti-Vlad. I'm sure he got a lot of things right. I think his last year or so was a bit hit-and-miss, but he left the league in a good position.
There's that Essendon thing.

Wow they are getting really soft over at Alberton, first the players were deeply upset by Kochie being mean to them and now their supporters are upset because Vince had a dig at Toumpas. "Leave Jimmy alone:(", their underbelly is growing softer and softer by the minute,

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/mel...a/news-story/6d0705a79200a231458661921c5d753e

MELBOURNE midfielder Bernie Vince has given a cheeky clip to a former teammate who he says made a crucial mistake last time the Demons faced St Kilda.

In that contest back in Round 11 last season, Saint Leigh Montagna found himself free in a goalmouth scramble with seconds remaining to kick the winning goal of the match.

The Demons were heavily criticised for their defensive effort after the shocking loss and when asked about the incident on AFL Tonight, Vince clearly still felt the pain from it.

“We reviewed that last 30 seconds between 30 and 40 times and put things in place for what we’d do better if that happened again,” Vince said.

“There were certainly some guys that didn’t do the right thing.

“I won’t name names but one of them’s not at our club any more.”

At the time many blamed former Demon and now Port Adelaide player Jimmy Toumpas for allowing the game-winning goal.