List Mgmt. 2017 Trade and Free Agency Discussion - #Leverpulled and #Harleyrevved

Dodoro would want our first round pick for the next eight years. No chance of this happening.
Might be myth and mystique, the whole Dodo unreasonable at trade table business. After all, we appear to have worked pretty well and amicably with the Bombers for the past couple of years.

Saying that, I don't suppose they would be keen on parting with Fantasia unless he flat doesn't want to be there. Kid is a gun.

Might be myth and mystique, the whole Dodo unreasonable at trade table business. After all, we appear to have worked pretty well and amicably with the Bombers for the past couple of years.

Saying that, I don't suppose they would be keen on parting with Fantasia unless he flat doesn't want to be there. Kid is a gun.
Dodo has a bit of a rep but it's mostly because he is more than happy to deal through the media. He publicly states his demands and then everyone gets antsy at him doing so. The 'unfair to deal with' is ridiculous for him, goes back to the Sheedy days more than anything as Sheeds did similar but actually was outrageous in his demands.

Picking up Tippett would be Mitch Clark all over again.

Probably worse. At least there was good logic behind getting Clark - he had worked out, he'd be in his 6th season with us.

Tippett turns 30 next week, and I think he's cooked.

From SEN, good to see were hunting good options
Collingwood and Melbourne are said to be hunting Adelaide defender Jake Lever while the Demons are also monitoring the movements of Gold Coast co-captain Steven May and soon-to-be out of contract Swan Sam Reid.

From SEN, good to see were hunting good options
Lever I'd love! And wouldn't cost us as much as May, who I'd also love to get, but would cost the farm. Sam Reid is an interesting prospect for the right price, but I reckon there is going to be other teams who have a far greater need for him and therefore pay him a fair bit more than I'd want us to/he'd be worth to us.

Lever I'd love! And wouldn't cost us as much as May
I'm not sure how we would convince Lever to leave Adelaide though, given how good they look at the moment?

Go home factor? Maybe.

It's not game time or premiership opportunities.

Might cost more than you think if money was the only lever (pun intended) to pry him loose.

The disfunction at Sydney might make Reid interested in a move, that combined with a go-home factor.

They have a need for an inside mid after trading out Mitchell. ANB could slot in there.

What else would be needed to close such a deal?

I'm not sure how we would convince Lever to leave Adelaide though, given how good they look at the moment?

Go home factor? Maybe.

Might cost more than you think if money was the only lever (pun intended) to pry him loose.
Yeah I was more talking the trade cost for Lever and May. No doubt both would take a chunk of Cap Space, May because he's a star, and Lever because why would you if not for some good coin. Solid pun btw

The disfunction at Sydney might make Reid interested in a move, that combined with a go-home factor.

They have a need for an inside mid after trading out Mitchell. ANB could slot in there.

What else would be needed to close such a deal?
Reid is a Restricted Free Agent, and I wouldn't have thought Sydney in a great position to be matching too many offers

This is true, but they're also supposed to be keen to offload Tippett and most of his salary. They have a few well paid aging stars that will start to free up space soon as well. If they lose Reid, they're tall forwar stocks are pretty thin on the ground.

You'd no doubt know better than me, but isn't Buddy's salary supposed to amp up around now?

I'm not sure how well they'll go with getting rid of Tippett or his salary to be honest. His value would be likely be dropping each game the way he's going, more injuries and minimal output.

I have faith in our young forwards. Hogan is already halfway there to being a top 3 forward in the competition IMO and Weidemann, Hulett have shown good signs.
It's our backline that worries me. OMac needs to start showing something before the end of this year, and I'd really like to see him improve his footy smarts. Seems scared of the ball sometimes and doesn't know what to do. His defensive ability will be good in the future, I'm sure, as he bulks up, but ATM his ceiling looks like Sam Rowe.
If OMac doesn't show anything we need to draw up a list of defenders we can go after. I'm personally more than happy if TMac and Frost are there but we either need a third tall defender who can take intercept marks, OR a very capable defender who would release TMac to play that McGovern role(which he would excel in games some great marks).
My free agency/trade targets big board would be:
Steven May
Sam Reid
Nick Haynes
Jake Lever
Sam Day
James Sicily

Anyone from this list and I'd be happy to give up a first rounder + steak knives to get the job done. Additionally, guys like Michael Talia, Matt Buntine, Aidan Corr, Darcy Gardiner are all worth an enquiry if they are being let go for 2nd round pick or less.

If we can't get one of the major targets, I'd really like us to pursue an experienced key back to help OMac and Kielty and Frost, ideally someone with finals experience. Heath Grundy, Eric Mackenzie spring to mind, and we could offer them a player into coaching sorta contract, similar to Daniel Cross' deal.

I have faith in our young forwards. Hogan is already halfway there to being a top 3 forward in the competition IMO and Weidemann, Hulett have shown good signs.
It's our backline that worries me. OMac needs to start showing something before the end of this year, and I'd really like to see him improve his footy smarts. Seems scared of the ball sometimes and doesn't know what to do. His defensive ability will be good in the future, I'm sure, as he bulks up, but ATM his ceiling looks like Sam Rowe.
If OMac doesn't show anything we need to draw up a list of defenders we can go after. I'm personally more than happy if TMac and Frost are there but we either need a third tall defender who can take intercept marks, OR a very capable defender who would release TMac to play that McGovern role(which he would excel in games some great marks).
Steven May
Sam Reid
Nick Haynes
Jake Lever
Sam Day
James Sicily

Anyone from this list and I'd be happy to give up a first rounder + steak knives to get the job done. Additionally, guys like Michael Talia, Matt Buntine, Aidan Corr, Darcy Gardiner are all worth an enquiry if they are being let go for 2nd round pick or less.

If we can't get one of the major targets, I'd really like us to pursue an experienced key back to help OMac and Kielty and Frost, ideally someone with finals experience. Heath Grundy, Eric Mackenzie spring to mind, and we could offer them a player into coaching sorta contract, similar to Daniel Cross' deal.

Agree OMac needs to show something, I would be a lot more positive about him if he showed some intensity at the contest.

What makes you want Day and Sicily? Day has never really had consistent good form at AFL level and Sicily is a m id sized forward.

Was confused about those two as well. Sicily is shorter than Wagner, and predominantly a forward anyway, and sadly Day is going to be up against it to play again after that horrific hip injury

With free agency, i'm keen to use that mechanic to lure needed experience players rather than trading away our first round picks.

In a 3 years guys like Jones, Vince and Lewis will be declining or gone, so we need to ensure young talent comes through. As long as we're near the 8th - 18th position our first round pick is still strong, so it'd take a superstar to make me willing to part with it.

With free agency, i'm keen to use that mechanic to lure needed experience players rather than trading away our first round picks.

In a 3 years guys like Jones, Vince and Lewis will be declining or gone, so we need to ensure young talent comes through. As long as we're near the 8th - 18th position our first round pick is still strong, so it'd take a superstar to make me willing to part with it.

Ideally I'd love to trade our 1st this year and/or next to secure an A grade KPD, if the list tracks like we hopes and goes into top 4/flag contention 2018 onwards I'd like to if possible retain our first rounders during that period. If we're going to go crazy for a big name and trade out a bunch of picks, now is the time IMO.

Steven May
Sam Reid
Nick Haynes
Jake Lever
Sam Day
James Sicily

There's been murmurs around the club that they have had secret meetings with Lynden Dunn and Jeremy Howe.

Go home factor? Maybe.

I think he put his contract talks on hold, something to do with his missus not being sold in Adelaide

Yeah i wouldn't be happy in Radelaide either if I had a partner earning good money and my youth to enjoy.

To be honest, recruitment teams are pad well and work full time. If they don't have enquiries out on pretty much every player coming out of contract who can kick a footy straight, I'd suggest they werent doing their jobs properly.

I'd love to know how this works. Is it somewhere mid season, a call is made to a manager.

" Hi mate. Can you let May know we'd like to have a conversation. Starting point is around 800 a year. When he's ready to talk let us know"

I know they can't give formal offers, but if managers don't have a file with potential salary at every club in the league I'd be baffled.

List Mgmt. 2017 Trade and Free Agency Discussion - #Leverpulled and #Harleyrevved