2018 Draft thread

Was all for getting honourable losses and getting pick 2-3 in draft but at end of the day it’s a collective efffort and wins like these will do far more then getting a pick 2 in the draft . We will still get 2 or 2 high caliber talents at the end of the day . We are also performing like this without Harris Andrews and Charlie Cameron who have both been exceptional this year also have high hopes for Zac Bailey and starcevich .

What are people’s thoughts on Cedric cox ? I think he oozes talent but atm looks a little lost . Actually think he is the type of player who might thrive on a half forward
Flank where he can just play his own game.
I think cedric cox would benefit greatly from playing with hodge. Give him the rest of the season under hodges influence on field and we will see a vastly improved player next year.

Was all for getting honourable losses and getting pick 2-3 in draft but at end of the day it’s a collective efffort and wins like these will do far more then getting a pick 2 in the draft . We will still get 2 or 2 high caliber talents at the end of the day . We are also performing like this without Harris Andrews and Charlie Cameron who have both been exceptional this year also have high hopes for Zac Bailey and starcevich .

What are people’s thoughts on Cedric cox ? I think he oozes talent but atm looks a little lost . Actually think he is the type of player who might thrive on a half forward
Flank where he can just play his own game.

I don't think Cox is smart, intense or proactive enough to play forward. Let him be led to the footy by an opponent and then zone off when we're chipping the footy around half back.

As I've said before just because he's quick doesn't mean he'll be a good small forward.

Was planning on selecting McFadyen at our second pick in the Trial Run. Didn’t think he’d get through to us though with Knightmare picking at 16.

I’ve got someone in mind who I’d have taken over McFadyen. Just hope he gets through the next two picks.
Realistically he should almost make it to our third. Nobody has him ranked anywhere nearly as high as knightmare

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Anyone know if Zac Bailey is injured or has he not been setting the world alight In the Magoos ? Thought was very impressive in his 10 odd games so far still no extension in his contract as yet

Seems the Suns are now pretty sure today Lynch is leaving, their compensation I'm guessing for their captain and highest paid player will be the pick directly after their first round pick. We go another pick lower?
From the article you speak of.
Doesn’t really sound like Dew is doing much to try and help the situation?

Suns coach won't be surprised if his star forward walks http://m.afl.com.au/news/2018-07-18/lynch-staying-its-not-looking-great-says-dew

“With Lynch sidelined for the rest of the season and successful surgery behind him, it is thought the Suns want an answer sooner rather than later.”

"With Tom out for the year, we have parked it," Dew said.

"We're trying to snap a losing streak and Tom at the moment can't help us with that."

We're trying to snap a losing streak and Tom at the moment can't help us with that

Encouragement, helping with skills, going through tapes with the kids, coaching, inspiration, advice ... all things you would expect from a senior player in such circumstances!

He has been up until this week.

My point exactly!

Watched McLure tonight on 360 and always liked him but tonight was so self righteous about why we have been given priority picks and Carlton haven’t even when Whatley said they had he still stuck to his guns. He said when are the Melbourne clubs gonna get something. Fair dinkum Sellers how many players want to leave intestate clubs for Melbourne even traded Gibbs Out when he was contacted buy crying poor.

If Carlton select Lukosius at 1 and then the Suns end up with picks 2 and 3(Taking the Lynch compo), Sam Walsh and Bailey Smith would be two very handy additions to help rebuild their midfield. Two quality, inside/outside, pure mids with leadership potential and high character/drive to succeed. Exactly what the Suns need. If we have pick 4 take the punt on Rankine.

From the article you speak of.
Doesn’t really sound like Dew is doing much to try and help the situation?

Suns coach won't be surprised if his star forward walks http://m.afl.com.au/news/2018-07-18/lynch-staying-its-not-looking-great-says-dew

“With Lynch sidelined for the rest of the season and successful surgery behind him, it is thought the Suns want an answer sooner rather than later.”

"With Tom out for the year, we have parked it," Dew said.

"We're trying to snap a losing streak and Tom at the moment can't help us with that."
yeah, really sounds like a done deal. It's a wonder they are not stomping their feet and claiming they will match any offer unless the AFL have told them they will get pick 2 and 3 (as it stands) and they are happy with that. Last time they had 4 picks in the top 10 they didn't do so well hopefully they have a better plan this time for top picks.

Will be interesting to see what the Suns do. If they end up with 2 and 3 surely they might look at a Crows trade. Still think they might be a chance to take King. If it was me i reckon id be happy to trade 3 for 8 and 13 (iirc crows picks). Take King at 2 then draft mids with 8 and 13. They will still get some nice mids at those picks and secure another gun tall. They do have some tall talent, but i think King is a much more natural talent.

Suns need to rebuild the culture and try get extra talent in. Id trade out anyone showing signs of wanting out. They get a 2nd chance, no reason they cant do what we have done in 18 months.

2018 Draft thread