List Mgmt. 2018 NAB AFL Draft: November 22nd & 23rd

Who would you prefer with our first selection?

• Max King

Votes: 91 38.1%
  • Bailey Smith

Votes: 47 19.7%
  • Connor Rozee

Votes: 17 7.1%
  • Jye Caldwell

Votes: 37 15.5%
  • Unknown Smokey?

Votes: 4 1.7%
  • Jack Lukosious

Votes: 12 5.0%
  • Isak Rankine

Votes: 72 30.1%
  • Ben King

Votes: 7 2.9%
  • Sam Walsh

Votes: 13 5.4%

I've kind of come round to that GC trade. Go 4 to 6 and nab 24; then get one of Caldwell, Rozee, King or Smith with 6. I like our recruiting of late - think we could get a gem with 24.

Walsh is superior to Smith in every way. Walshs decision making is elite. He knows how to move to create and draw space to setup ball movement. Smith is not there yet.

And this next part is the beauty of Walsh. He executes. Over and over and over again.

For example he'll bend the opposition into doing what he wants them to do and move them to where he wants them then pull the trigger and hit up his team mate. He can move down the line to pull the two defenders in front of him out of the corridor then switch and hit his team mate up in the corridor who is goal side of his opponent. All in 2 seconds. He does it through out games.

He's extremely clever but he also has the skill to pull it off. Elite traits.

Smith does not have that. Neither do others in this draft. Smith is a bull at the gates he does not have the smarts of Walsh or say a coffield who knows how the play is unfolding and where the options are. Smith would be more a Jack Steven type replacement without the goal sense and offensive positioning and ability that Steven has. I'd take the inside mids of rayner, brayshaw, Cerra, coffield, Clark and ldu from last year's draft ahead of him and i rate this years draft better than last year's.

So I don't think Smith's disposal is as good as walshs. Walsh is just so damn clean with it. I'd take Walsh ahead of anyone in this draft and last year's draft. He looks like a very very special talent.
I didn't actually say Smith was better I was explaining why he was getting a good wrap. Walsh is elite obviously that's why he's pretty much a clear number 1 and I've been saying he's the best in this draft since last year.

However, you pretty clearly haven't watched Smith if you think he's a stock standard inside mid. He's explosive and breaks away from contests with the ball like Dangerfield. He's a better kick than Danger (and Walsh mostly) and is one of the fastest players in this years draft.

But speaking of last year's draft. Rayner, Coffield, Clark and arguably Brayshaw aren't even insids mids. If Smith was in last years draft though he'd have been third or fourth and is leagues ahead of LDU who is actually a stock standard inside bull with literally nothing special about him.

I'm not disagreeing that Walsh isn't the best player because he clearly is but he's not perfect and other players in the top 5 have traits better than Walsh.

By the sounds of that article we are huge wraps for rozee. Stated he played well at half forward and half back for the seniors his attributes is obviously the thing that attracts to us but his no clear position and lack of midfield time has me worried. They said they are recruiting for what they’ll be over 12-15 years instead of what they have produced in 2 years. Has me thinking if we want a mid sized we will go him. Still think max is too good to pass up but I think our recruiters are frothing over his athletic ability and attributes rather than what he’s done. That said I wouldn’t be upset in getting him infact I’d be wrapped but I feel as though the bust factor is higher and I rate others ahead of him.

I reckon he sums up what's wrong with our recruiting. We seem to go after adaptable players who are okay at several positions and think a guy who plays one position really well is high risk. Rozee would be a massive stretch at 4 to me.

The question for StKilda supporters is, what is the value of pick 24.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/af...d/news-story/ac4ce6285e5be05d96853c010f81b9df

Pick 24: I like 7 players to become 200 game players

It's tricky, the real top talent will probably be gone at 4 and 4 to 8 seem the next best group. I'm warming to trading down, we don't draft well so the more chances the better nearly. We really need top end talent but if there is is a box of chocolates on the table Trout seems to pick from the cat's litter box instead anyway. Bailey Smith/ Caldwell and Ely Smith would be a pair of bull's that would create some real drive from the midfield for example.

It would be awesome if an Eli Smith or Xavier O’Halloran type slid to pick 36.

What has max king got that makes him a possible no 1 contentender (in shifters and others minds) should he have not done is acl, and his brother a pick 7-8. I am not being a smart a*se as I want max king, but I’d like to know what makes him so much better than his bro given he only played out 1 game this year...

i bet you the saints pick M King with 4, they always were and always will, there just trying to see if they can entice a club to trade a pick that will give them another one in the first round, I personally cant see it happening, any trading will be done only after pick 20 i think

So I’ve finalised my preference list...

Walsh
Rankin
Max King
Caldwell (risky, but could easily be best in the draft)
Smith (developed into an outside mid, has toe, great disposal, can win his own footy, but to me looks average in heavy traffic)
JL (recon he becomes an amazing 3rd tall, but a 3rd tall isn’t what we need)
Ben King
Rosee

Any 5 of those 8 and I’ll be happy.....

What has max king got that makes him a possible no 1 contentender (in shifters and others minds) should he have not done is acl, and his brother a pick 7-8. I am not being a smart a*se as I want max king, but I’d like to know what makes him so much better than his bro given he only played out 1 game this year...

Matthew Lloyd coached both Kings at Haileybury & the question was posed to him a while back. He said Max is a freak that jumps on heads & has genuine star factor whereas Ben gets on his bike & will come up the ground more plus is a swing man. Max is Joe Daniher, Ben is Jake Carlisle. Max is also 2cms taller being 204 compared to Ben 202.

His one game he had something like 16 shots on goal for 8 goals and had a very good year last year.

i bet you the saints pick M King with 4, they always were and always will, there just trying to see if they can entice a club to trade a pick that will give them another one in the first round, I personally cant see it happening, any trading will be done only after pick 20 i think

There’s a lot of mail getting around that Rozee is very much in the mix. I don’t think that would upset you guys because you’d just jump at Max King. Gold Coast however would love Rozee at 6 & I think he’ll be there. StK take Max & you guys take Ben. Saints won’t trade down with GC from 4 to 6 cos if they do they miss out on Max (to Port) & Rozee (to GC) - who look to be our main targets.

Matthew Lloyd coached both Kings at Haileybury & the question was posed to him a while back. He said Max is a freak that jumps on heads & has genuine star factor whereas Ben gets on his bike & will come up the ground more plus is a swing man. Max is Joe Daniher, Ben is Jake Carlisle. Max is also 2cms taller being 204 compared to Ben 202.

Hopefully Lloydy is right about that and wrong about Hanners

That's a good read
Certainly looks as if they had a plan with the new team, and it’s changed again with Gubby influence. I suspect there’s a kid that he loves down the order.

The next couple of years will be interesting to see unfold. I dare say we’ll have a completely different outlook in draft and trade periods.

Yeah you're absolutely right - I can barely tell them apart.;);)

Ben has played mainly in defence but played forward this year and kicked 12 in 6 including 5 against Murray Bushrangers.

Max has played forward in 17 & 18. Sure - he kicked 8 in his first game this year but in 17 he only kicked a total of 10 goals in 7 games.

Most of us haven't seen either of them live so it seems like a reasonable question to me.

Certainly looks as if they had a plan with the new team, and it’s changed again with Gubby influence. I suspect there’s a kid that he loves down the order.

The next couple of years will be interesting to see unfold. I dare say we’ll have a completely different outlook in draft and trade periods.
Nah I don't think we'd be trading down on the basis of hoping to pick a specific player @ Pick 24. Too many variables.

The only reason we'd trade down to Pick 6 with GCS is if they are intending to pick some at 4 that is 3rd on our list.

If you take out Luko Rankine and Walsh and then lets say we rate Smith and Caldwell pretty much equally, closely followed by King.

They want King, so we trade and then we are guaranteed one of the two we rated the highest plus a free hit @ 24.