Opinion 2018 Non-Crows Discussion - Part 2: Tom Doedee, Rising Star Nominee & Port's New Major Sponsor

If you think about it.

SA has the worst unemployment, has the lowest average wages, some of the worst education results and by any measure limited career opportunities.

So by definition SA fans are likely worse off than most in the country.

The question is, do we have more of the 'better off' fans which would mean Port have more of the 'worse off' fans to suit the stereotype? ( I'm going with yes btw, only going on feedback from local bars and restaurants that the post match spend from Crowsmatched is higher than Port matches)
People generally inherit their footy team of support from their parents. The youngest people born after the Crows are in their twenties, so we have to go back to the days when the SANFL was a big deal. Port Power supporters were largely Port Magpies supporters, with Crows supporters coming from the other eight clubs. The northern/port area has always been traditionally working-class, whereas there are affluent suburbs all over Norwood, North Adelaide, Sturt and Glenelg's heartlands.

I was having an interesting conversation with a work colleague before.

He's a diehard Port supporter who went to China last year. He was telling me today that while he isn't going this year, he still went to the information session about the China game and from what he was told it seems as though the interest/sales for the game have been markedly lower this year in terms of member interest in the game.

It will be interesting to see what the crowd is like this year, unless they resort to giving away tickets to Chinese nationals then I would expect the crowd to be lower this year than last year.
Also, given the China Sea tensions, China are going slow on visa applications...

If you reckon last year's crowds were low, this year's are going to be shocking... So the AFL will say now they will be AFLX only...

My mate at work that went last year said that the whole crowd was essentially either Port supporters from Adelaide/Australia or expat Aussies living over in the China and there appeared to be close to zero Chinese nationals at the game.

I would hazard to guess that once again there will be little to no Chinese interest in the game so if they hope to be generating local (Chinese) interest to fill the stadium then I expect it will fail.
I’d say it’s pretty obvious Port or the AFL don’t really expect any real interest in the game from locals. Port will spin it that way to supporters but in the end they’re piggybacking on the back of trade missions, business connections and government money. They are the sideshow pantomime in the background.

Also, given the China Sea tensions, China are going slow on visa applications...

If you reckon last year's crowds were low, this year's are going to be shocking... So the AFL will say now they will be AFLX only...
Reckon that the long-term Plan,
Play 4 teams of AFLX in China, Four Teams in India, And possibly NZ, US or Europe.
More realistic approach than there current setup.

Oh dear.... now I guess that, because they are reporting this, nine will feel the wrath of the powa supporters..... anyone know.. has the reporter in this report, jack berketa, ever been seen wearing gold, navy blue and red all at the same time?... if he has, he could be in for a bumpy few days..

Jack is male though. How is that going to flow with their male supremacist attitudes? They definitely won't be trying to find his place of residence, that's for sure.

Yeah... you’re probably right there... and I did note that Jack is white.. so they won’t be throwing fruit at him either..

Paid crows employee obviously

Great to see the return of funny thread titles. Remember that West Coast supporter who said the Non-Crows Threads are the best on Bigfooty :)

That would be me :) And I most certainly still believe that. These threads are brilliant - entertaining and also educational. For instance, I always thought Fremantle supporters were the worst when it comes to paranoia about their biggest rival, claims of media bias, victim mentality etc etc. And don’t get me wrong, they are bad! But Port supporters... My god. I have been routinely lost for words reading some of the posts and comments about recent matters. :eek: They are truly in a league of their own!