2018 Trade and FA thread (opposition supporters post in Trade Hypotheticals thread)

Our mate Ricky Nixon again, is saying we are meeting with Jayden Hunt. If it wasn't him reporting it I would like this to be true.

Edit. I think it might've just been another big night for the Chook. He's also saying we are interested in Jacob Townsend.

I highly doubt this will get done before today. Fremantle will posture a bit more over the weekend, may happen on Tuesday/Wednesday.

I didnt mean to get the trade done, more so just putting the heat of Freo to start getting serious in discussions over the weekend and come back Monday ready to actually start sorting something.

With Neale saying he has played his last game for Freo, does he intend to sit out the year if they don't trade him? I think that would be an amazing sign from him of how much he wants out if he openly said in the media "it's Brisbane or I take a year off"

I think it’s more a case of how badly he wants out of Freo and secondly how annoyed he is now with Bell. The guy’s made a decision and Bell end is telling him he can’t. I know how I respond when people tell me I can’t...and usually it’s pretty much the same response as Lachie. Don’t tell me I can’t, I’ll do as I want. And fella just watch me.

Imagine what position we'd be in now if we made the same "business decision" that Panthers Q.B. Cam Newton made in the Superbowl a couple of years ago, when they were getting flogged by Denver and he didn't jump on a loose ball.
We lay down in that last quarter against the Suns, we finish 17th. We get pick 2. With 4 wins, maybe some trade concessions and both Adelaide clubs offering us picks, players and probably the Cooper's Brewery.

Hey guys, new around here. We reckon we can work it so we get all of Neale, Adams, Macfayden and Coleman, without sacrificing next years first rounder or a best 22 player?

Imagine what position we'd be in now if we made the same "business decision" that Panthers Q.B. Cam Newton made in the Superbowl a couple of years ago, when they were getting flogged by Denver and he didn't jump on a loose ball.
We lay down in that last quarter against the Suns, we finish 17th. We get pick 2. With 4 wins, maybe some trade concessions and both Adelaide clubs offering us picks, players and probably the Cooper's Brewery.

We could've gotten Lachie Weller from Fremantle!!!

Of course, if you're using that analogy I'd check out how the Panthers have gone in the years since. I don't see a Super Bowl there.

We could've gotten Lachie Weller from Fremantle!!!

Of course, if you're using that analogy I'd check out how the Panthers have gone in the years since. I don't see a Super Bowl there.
Landing 63 yard field goals to beat the Cowboys. 2nd in the division with a game in hand. Doing okay.

That's like saying the miracle on grass season was a tremendous success because we pulled off something miraculous...

Panthers went 6-10 and 11-5 since, including a first round playoff loss. Not sure how that's great business

Such a shame that all we could get out of GWS was Jake Barrett and not any other player of any quality as these Melbourne clubs are getting on the ridiculously cheap.

I was thinking the other day of how the AFL tried brainwashing everyone that all clubs would benefit longer term by GCS and GWS being given so much assistance that it would get to a point that GCS and GWS wouldn't be able to retain them and have trade players for picks creating some sore of enduring cycle.

Well the AFL's plan sure as shit hasn't assisted us particularly at a time when we were languishing with GCS and GWS introduction's and were screwed with consecutive drafts to accommodate them and we still haven't benefited with players coming to us as some of the Melbourne clubs have (Coll - Adams, Treloar, Hoskin-Elliott / Ess - Smith / Carl - half of GWS etc.)

Agree although Treloar didn't come cheap. The top line players will generally not come cheaply. O'Meara is another example.

Or had a couple more games like the one against the tiggers? mate, you can't have it both ways!

That game against the hawks down in Tassie was what has given me hope for 2019. We'll trade a couple in and out and draft with what we end up with.

I'll take character building wins over dodgy planned "business decisions" as you call them, every day of the week!