Review 2018 VFL Grand Final: Box Hill Hawks def Casey Demons: sore losers see red

Whilst I readily concede that Pits opposition was second rate, you can only beat the opponent you're faced with.
The quality of his tap work was, without doubt, the difference between the two team.
Time after time he gave his team mates first use of the ball with a combination of deft taps, and pack clearing long thumps.
The fact that he mixed up his tap work kept the opposition guessing as to how to nullify his influence.

Combine that with his strong marking and defensive spoils and it's hard to deny his status as the most influential player on the ground.
I most of all liked the post game celebrations where he met up with Max Bailey.
There was the knowing look of a job well done, followed by a very long hug.

There will be times ahead when the football Gods may not be as kind, but enjoy you're success young man because you earned it..

I have never been a fan of Willsmore, but he has been great in this finals series.
Well done Dallas.

I think Willsmore has played quite well all year, obviously missing something because I don't see all the flaws that others do. If he is to be delisted at the end of the year I'm glad he at least received a VFL premiership medal out of his AFL career :)

Whilst I readily concede that Pits opposition was second rate, you can only beat the opponent you're faced with.
The quality of his tap work was, without doubt, the difference between the two team.
Time after time he gave his team mates first use of the ball with a combination of deft taps, and pack clearing long thumps.
The fact that he mixed up his tap work kept the opposition guessing as to how to nullify his influence.

Combine that with his strong marking and defensive spoils and it's hard to deny his status as the most influential player on the ground.
I most of all liked the post game celebrations where he met up with Max Bailey.
There was the knowing look of a job well done, followed by a very long hug.

There will be times ahead when the football Gods may not be as kind, but enjoy you're success young man because you earned it..

Great post.
Couldn't agree more - especially the comment about Pitto's variation in tap work at stoppages. Really impressive stuff.
The Casey midfield employed close checking/ holding tactics against our midfield, especially against Cousins, O'Rourke and Lovell and Pitto's brilliant ruckwork simply made the difference.

I'd like to see Max get massive credit for the transformation of Pitto as an influential ruckman.

Coming from 6th spot, we had 3 really tough small-margin finals games, except for the Geelong game (I'm delighted to say they were a pushover), and we wouldn't have won any one of those 3 games without Pitto's work at stoppages. In my view he was the player of the final series and easily BOG in the GF (no disrespect to Mirra, Dylan Moore or O'Brien).

All kudos to Pitto - he's come of age this month.

One more point.
Where's the praise for CJ??
He's another who came of age in this final series - I'm surprised he wasn't named in our best players.
He did some great work under extreme pressure - especially goal saving spoils and intercepts as well as his lightning runs off the backline.

I'm going to get a lot of joy watching his continued development in the next couple of years.

I think Willsmore has played quite well all year, obviously missing something because I don't see all the flaws that others do. If he is to be delisted at the end of the year I'm glad he at least received a VFL premiership medal out of his AFL career :)

The 50 metre snap was a game changer. You can see he is passionate about his footy yet sometimes he just does not attack the ball with the same level of enthusiasm. Shame, as his disposal was probably the best out there.

Lovell does some interesting stuff. When he takes his time he shows a bit, under pressure he is too sloppy.

Was Jono being tagged? Again, when he hangs onto the ball he looks good. He doesn't seem to have developed much at all since being with HFC.

One more point.
Where's the praise for OJ??
He's another who came of age in this final series - I'm surprised he wasn't named in our best players.
He did some great work under extreme pressure - especially goal saving spoils and intercept as well as his lightening runs off the backline.

I'm going to get a lot of joy watching his continued development in the next couple of years.

Sorry but who is OJ? Is it Jiath?

One more point.
He did some great work under extreme pressure - especially goal saving spoils and intercept as well as his lightening runs off the backline.

I am no. 1 on his bandwagon. Have been all year. Thought he was a sneaky chance to debut late in the year.

Literally one second away from finishing 8th. And instead we win the flag!

What a brilliant finals series from Box Hill.

And a bloody great day at the footy. Two premierships.

You can see the attraction in dropping off following AFL footy and following the VFL instead. While it might be going on to some extent, there just isn't that feeling that they're screwing every last cent out of the comp at the expense of the game itself, like the AFL do. The suburban grounds, the lack of constant bombardment of peripheral crap.

I thought Pittonet was the dominant player on the ground. He was just immense. No one had 20 touches for Box Hill, but everyone played a part in stopping it from being the outside game that suited Casey early on. The number of times crucial efforts halved a contest and created a stoppage was amazing, and was the reason we got the game on our terms in the second half. Massive efforts from smaller bodies. They'd be sore but they'll be bloody proud.

As should the Women's team be. Was great to watch them win their flag, great to be able to have a chat to some of them afterwards. They are bloody thrilled with Hawthorn.

PPrOixN.png

nfHFE8A.png

Not enough credit is being given to the BHH listed players.

None of them, except Hams, would look all that impressive on stat sheet, but their ability to play the BHH game that's been so successful in the second half of the year.
The first half was like watching Hawthorn. Slow kicks along the boundary line with no attempt to use the corridor or find moving targets. Embarrassingly bad.

In the second half, you could see every time BHH had the ball, the BHH listed players were running through the corridor, looking central and, most importantly, as soon as they took a mark, they were looking up field immediately. If there was a target there, or a handball to a running target, they were rewarding them. This resulted in faster ball movement, which led to entry into an open forward line, which led to Demons players being under immense pressure, which led to their midfielders unable to get back and help.

The work of O'Donnell to pressure the Casey mids and make them feel it when they were tackle was one of those self-less roles. Took hit after hit and provided an option for his teammates around the contest. Wonderful game.
Hams was solid as a rock in the first half, and the main man for starting fast transition of the ball in the second half. Defended well and took some big hits for the team.
Kilpatrick's running in the second half was huge. He was often putting in hard running to space to prove an option in the link, then getting and going to ensure to ball reached the forwards ASAP and that high ball down the line bullshit was avoided.
Brolic was that typical big-bodied role-playing guy you want. Bumping, hitting, pressuring and working his opponent to, at worst, keep the contest a 50-50. An impressive workman-like game from him.
It wouldn't have surprised me to see Jones leave the ground at half time in disgust. To stand at the top of the square and just have the ball kicked on your head while 6 guys cannon into you, all for maybe $400 in match payments would be frustrating as hell. To his credit, he stuck to it and when the BHH listed players started playing how it needed to be played, Jones became more of a factor. Finally in the 4th quarter he got some reward and did some pivotal things that led to goals.
23rd Player, Maloney, has good composure. Not a whole lot of it, but plays much more mature than his age suggests.

These are the guys that stood up when the team needed some leaders and hard-workers to change the game. Their ability to step up, do the little things and big things for their team when the likes of JOR, Lovell and Lewis were having barry's for the most part is the reason BHH are premiers.

Well done to the boys; well done to Newman for his gameday coaching to show professionalism and leadership and know a change needed to be made.

I am no. 1 on his bandwagon. Have been all year. Thought he was a sneaky chance to debut late in the year.

It was only a small thing but there was a moment on the wing where Jiath had the ball
and realised a 2 on 1 (Box Hills way) was evident. Called his team mate to run with him
and then held the ball long enough to create the over lap.
Shows he understands those moments in the game.

Not enough credit is being given to the BHH listed players.

None of them, except Hams, would look all that impressive on stat sheet, but their ability to play the BHH game that's been so successful in the second half of the year.
The first half was like watching Hawthorn. Slow kicks along the boundary line with no attempt to use the corridor or find moving targets. Embarrassingly bad.

In the second half, you could see every time BHH had the ball, the BHH listed players were running through the corridor, looking central and, most importantly, as soon as they took a mark, they were looking up field immediately. If there was a target there, or a handball to a running target, they were rewarding them. This resulted in faster ball movement, which led to entry into an open forward line, which led to Demons players being under immense pressure, which led to their midfielders unable to get back and help.

The work of O'Donnell to pressure the Casey mids and make them feel it when they were tackle was one of those self-less roles. Took hit after hit and provided an option for his teammates around the contest. Wonderful game.
Hams was solid as a rock in the first half, and the main man for starting fast transition of the ball in the second half. Defended well and took some big hits for the team.
Kilpatrick's running in the second half was huge. He was often putting in hard running to space to prove an option in the link, then getting and going to ensure to ball reached the forwards ASAP and that high ball down the line bullshit was avoided.
Brolic was that typical big-bodied role-playing guy you want. Bumping, hitting, pressuring and working his opponent to, at worst, keep the contest a 50-50. An impressive workman-like game from him.
It wouldn't have surprised me to see Jones leave the ground at half time in disgust. To stand at the top of the square and just have the ball kicked on your head while 6 guys cannon into you, all for maybe $400 in match payments would be frustrating as hell. To his credit, he stuck to it and when the BHH listed players started playing how it needed to be played, Jones became more of a factor. Finally in the 4th quarter he got some reward and did some pivotal things that led to goals.
23rd Player, Maloney, has good composure. Not a whole lot of it, but plays much more mature than his age suggests.

These are the guys that stood up when the team needed some leaders and hard-workers to change the game. Their ability to step up, do the little things and big things for their team when the likes of JOR, Lovell and Lewis were having barry's for the most part is the reason BHH are premiers.

Well done to the boys; well done to Newman for his gameday coaching to show professionalism and leadership and know a change needed to be made.

Absolutely agree, SLB.
It's easy to concentrate on the Hawthorn listed players (as I have also) because we're intent on assessing the value and potential of our list, but those BH players you've mentioned were sensational.

I was particularly impressed by Kilpatrick who's come on leaps and bounds in the 2nd half of the season. And O'Donnell is a gun - deserves to be drafted.

This was a premiership for the ages.

It was only a small thing but there was a moment on the wing where Jiath had the ball
and realised a 2 on 1 (Box Hills way) was evident. Called his team mate to run with him
and then held the ball long enough to create the over lap.
Shows he understands those moments in the game.

Vividly recall that moment and said that was brilliant from such a young recruit.

One more point.
He did some great work under extreme pressure - especially goal saving spoils and intercepts as well as his lightning runs off the backline.

Reckon we’ve got a ready replacement for Hendo here - lightning quick, not afraid to take the game on and strong in the air.

Can’t wait to see where he is with another preseason behind him and will definitely get an opportunity next season based on his improvement this year.

Super exciting !!!

Anyone know where to watch the full replay? Doesn't seem to be on 7plus although the medal presentation is there.

Season stats

IScuIGM.png
Thank you grimlock for all your posts outlining the stats for the Box Hill Hawks throughout the season.
And thanks for Tom Mitchell as well.

On another note, can someone tell me what a tvote is?

Review 2018 VFL Grand Final: Box Hill Hawks def Casey Demons: sore losers see red