Prediction 2019 "Hypothetical Trade, FA, random player you wish we could get" thread..

Who will you be happy with Hawthorn landing?

• Patton

Votes: 164 71.0%
  • Finn Maginness

Votes: 198 85.7%
  • Greenwood

Votes: 48 20.8%
  • Frost

Votes: 111 48.1%
  • Bonar

Votes: 66 28.6%
  • Pepper

Votes: 35 15.2%
  • Cox

Votes: 36 15.6%
  • Petracca

Votes: 77 33.3%
  • Elliot

Votes: 68 29.4%

I think the AFL money conversation bulls**t has to stop, we have had players that have had ambassadorships in the past. It is possible that a good player would rather stick with what he knows and his mates from the last half-a-decade then join his U18 mate.

On the topic of hypothetical trades: Dougal looks set to go to the Dons. Whitfield, Frost, Petracca and Elliot I have been convinced are not moving.

Bonar and Cox on the other hand are hugely get-able and I think they could develop in 1-2 preseasons as best 22 players. Cox has some insane defensive nous (think Campbell Brown), playing small pressure forward and back pocket; as well as fresh-faced Poppy closing speed. Closing speed is something we desperately need with Impey out for most of the year.

Bonar is interesting, incredible athlete, spent the last 2 year working on his skills. GWS were thinking he could be a Mitch Robinson type, skinny-side winger with some ability to make an impact in stoppages. But I think with his build he can become a Bateman type, play inside and outside midfield role who can lay a couple inside 50 tackles a game. Bonar would fit perfectly on our list with North and the Dees sniffing around James Cousins.

We could ask the Giants to pack up Bonar with Patton to send him over. And if Birchall wants to get some sun with Hodgey and Fages, we can send him up their for Cox.

That being said our priorities look like they are Magginess and McAsey. Which are extremely get-able if we decide that no big fish are worthy of Wrighty's time and effort

Maginness, mccasey patton and maybe another non fashionable like impey

Would be a disaster to trade pick 10 for 15 with other picks involved and then Finn gets bid on at pick12,13 or 14 thus wiping out 15 when we could have had 10 and Finn

Dont forget clubs with complimentary strategies could agree to mitigate each others risk with in draft live trading.

It has to be the blindingly obvious strategy and you wonder if in draft trading will be ceased as third clubs complain

Eg if hawks get pick 10 but mccasey has gone but maginness has not. Trade down with anothe club looking to trade up

Dont forget clubs with complimentary strategies could agree to mitigate each others risk with in draft live trading.

It has to be the blindingly obvious strategy and you wonder if in draft trading will be ceased as third clubs complain

Eg if hawks get pick 10 but mccasey has gone but maginness has not. Trade down with anothe club looking to trade up

Isn't this the whole point of the live trading though?

Would anybody be surprised if Jeff Garlett is picked up as a free agent? :$

I suggested this a few weeks ago and got no positive feedback.

He was almost All Australian only a couple of years ago. The fact he has been delisted makes me think he is just mentally cooked. Could Clarko get the hunger back into him again? The last 4 premiership sides have made it happen with players like Garlett causing havoc in the forward line. It's something we could use.

Just relax and see what GW has up his sleeve mate. Once our list is fully set then critique it then. Paying silly money to anyone but a top 10 player will never work.

Haha once the list is settled everyone will say “give it a year or 2 to judge”.. it’s the same rubbish rolled out. But yes, to an extent we need to see what the off-season brings, the start has been poor and we can only improve by selling assets so it’ll be interesting to see how we go at that.

Should we be worried that Greenwood is supposedly picking the Suns over us which I know might be because of 💰

I wouldn't be worried, he is a role player and wants to go cash out on his career as a mercenary at the Suns rather than seek success in a team-orientated environment at Hawthorn.

Glad we arent overpaying for him.

Tiges were 18th at scoring from stoppages, but 1st from scoring from turnovers. Let that sink in. Clarko will know this and adjust recruiting accordingly I reckon.

It tells you pressure on the ball carrier and having intercept markers is the key.
Hence we go after pacey players who are disciplined and love to get their hands dirty.

Should we be worried that Greenwood is supposedly picking the Suns over us which I know might be because of 💰
Nope a role player like Greenwood is always going to try and set himself up for life. Even more so considering he was late to footy.

I am looking at who is available, who they are rumored in joining and so forth.
It appears we may not even sign anyone and just use the draft.

There will be Patton and 1 other at minimum I reckon.

I honestly hope so. I think our list needs another core group of talented youngsters to build towards another dynasty. I just can't see us being frightening again by adding one key player each year.

Good ball users, apply pressure, and intercept. That's Richmond's list in a nutshell.
The good ball user bit has developed over time - that certainly wasn't as important as chase/pressure in 2017/8.

There will be Patton and 1 other at minimum I reckon.

Totally forgot about Patton, if true, I hope he remains injury free.

Attacking the Draft ain't a bad Idea this year, next year is apparently thinner than my hair. If we sign anyone else this year, hope it is for loose change.

Clarko doesn’t copy.

No his builds a game plan to beat them

The Clarko Cluster of 08 was to beat Geelong’s handball game plan.

The kick to kick keeping off game plan was to beat Collingwood. 11/12/13/14/15

Seeing teams copy the premiership team with there game plans he doesn’t he builds a game plan that beats them that’s why we most of the time we have a different game plan to other teams as if we have a game plan to beat Richmond we have one to beat every team.

2x players - neither ball carriers or pressure players - just isn't enough.

Correct all those 2 will do is improve us marginally from the status quo by adding some KPP depth, but nowhere near enough to have any meaningful impact of trying to win some silverware.