Preview 2019 Qualifying Final - Cats v Pies, 7:50pm Friday

Who will win?

Hawk loves wet weather footy too. I don't think conditions would be the thing that does us in.

Yep. Hawkins is the best wet weather KF going around IMO. Sav is also really mobile, he'll crash the packs and bring the ball down to ground for our small forwards, so I don't think he'll be too disadvantaged by wet conditions either. If anything, we will benefit from these conditions more than the Pies IMO.

And yet the media and the ******* other supporters call the club sooks

Im over it , it’ll be a solid tight 3 hours to get out there .... and that’s if I even make it as I finish work at 5.00

The AFL doesn’t give a fu** about us
You're likely to miss the first bounce due to the security line up at each gate.

Yep. If he gets through, you can just about lock him in for the first final, I reckon. At least he won't be affected by the post-bye curse, he will have played the week before ;)

I thought someone posted that if you play VFL the week before you're ineligible to play the Finals game the next week ??? Or did I dream it?

Combined 130k memberships -and sell 9.5 k and 16.5 k tickets respectively for friday.
So much for the AFL and opposition clubs "members can't miss out" so you play the MCG.
Excluding MCC and AFL members, where are the other 70k for this game coming from?
AFL BS- sold their souls.

If you finish work at 5.00p.m there are logistically TWO trains that can get you there for the start of the game.
That's a lot of extra carriages? i know those trains are crowded at the best of times- and away games not enough seats.
Not to mention the difficulty factor for Western District supporters of whom we have more of than any other club.
Or take your chance driving into peak hour, feral Friday night Melbs with limited parking.

As Malthouse says (I will reference him) this sort of inequity can psychologically galvanise a club.
as it did with West Coast, to go all the way. Or cause a dirty big spray from Daz. Haha.

Combined 130k memberships -and sell 9.5 k and 16.5 k tickets respectively for friday.
So much for the AFL and opposition clubs "members can't miss out" so you play the MCG.
Excluding MCC and AFL members, where are the other 70k for this game coming from?

If you finish work at 5.00p.m there are logistically TWO trains that can get you there for the start of the game.
That's a lot of extra carriages? i know those trains are crowded at the best of times- and away games not enough seats.
Not to mention the difficulty factor for Western District supporters of whom we have more of than any other club.
Or take your chance driving into peak hour, feral Friday night Melbs with limited parking.

As Malthouse says (I will reference him) this sort of inequity can psychologically galvanise a club.
as it did with West Coast, to go all the way. Or cause a dirty big spray from Daz. Haha.
They intially only offered 55k tickets to the members of the competing teams - so both Geelong & Collingwood members had access to 27.5k tickets, meaning 45k for the MCC, AFL members and probably corporates

I don't think non-competing clubs get an allocation of general finals Richey's really which they can insert on-sell in packages, the same as they can with GF tickets

It also says Clark will require post-season surgery for his elbow, but can play out the year.

If the VFL hitout is a guide could be shutdown time for Clark. He also came off minimal pre-season.

Esava didn't get back last season either, Clark looked like he really struggled in the 2's. Not sure exposing a well documented injury to an 18-19 year old in big cut throat finals is the way to go personally.

If he got through VFL a bit better I would of been likely to pick him

Richard Hinds event went to the trouble of handing us a drive-by in his homage at the shrine of Bucks on the ABC website...

Just laughable that media who supposedly understand the game can be so dismissive of a clear inequity in the way the game operates, to the clear detriment of those stakeholders who are considered expendable. How pathetic for a supposedly objective observer to pass off the AFL's blatant manipulation of the finals fixture as nothing more than the 'luck of the draw'.

As if the bleating wouldn't last from here to eternity if the Cats ever tried to insist on playing our actual home games against the Pies at our home ground. But, no, let's go on pretending that it's just the Cats who are precious about these matters...

I really hope the team is primed to stand and deliver on Friday night, in the face of patently biased fixturing and scheduling. If they're even half as angry about how this issue gets dealt with as I am, I feel confident that we'll see a worthy response from the boys at our latest 'home' final.
Hinds is an A-grade ****wit. Blocked him years ago when he ranted about Selwood ducking.

Richard Hinds event went to the trouble of handing us a drive-by in his homage at the shrine of Bucks on the ABC website...

Just laughable that media who supposedly understand the game can be so dismissive of a clear inequity in the way the game operates, to the clear detriment of those stakeholders who are considered expendable. How pathetic for a supposedly objective observer to pass off the AFL's blatant manipulation of the finals fixture as nothing more than the 'luck of the draw'.

As if the bleating wouldn't last from here to eternity if the Cats ever tried to insist on playing our actual home games against the Pies at our home ground. But, no, let's go on pretending that it's just the Cats who are precious about these matters...

I really hope the team is primed to stand and deliver on Friday night, in the face of patently biased fixturing and scheduling. If they're even half as angry about how this issue gets dealt with as I am, I feel confident that we'll see a worthy response from the boys at our latest 'home' final.
Honest question: apart from one question in one press conference by the coach, where is any evidence we have "complained vociferously"?

I keep on reading that we as a club have gone on and on about the issue, but I see no evidence of that, unless there's something I'm missing?

Honest question: apart from one question in one press conference by the coach, where is any evidence we have "complained vociferously"?

I keep on reading that we as a club have gone on and on about the issue, but I see no evidence of that, unless there's something I'm missing?
The kent probably reads bigfooty

Club has never even brought it up once throughout this latest farce.

Which makes clear what Mark Twain said best of all, I think...

'Never let the facts get in the way of a good story'.

Boy the whingeing on this board is unbelievable ( and an absolute waste of time reading it )

I think im lost - i think im on the Norf board - you know the AFL hate us - its an actual conspiracy you know - plus the umps shaft us

Ha Ha Ha

That's a nice whinge.You need to think deeper.
Ticketing and transport affect our members attendance.
Members affect the game. Even from interstate, like you.

Can see the headlines on Saturday morning already. Should we lose, it'll be we were too focused on campaigning on playing home finals in Geelong. If we win, it'll be why were they so focused on hosting games in Geelong when they can win at the 'G.

:rolleyes:

That's a nice whinge.You need to think deeper.
Ticketing and transport affect our members attendance.
Members affect the game. Even from interstate, like you.
News flash finals at the MCG is not something new,Geelong Members have dealt with it for ever.

Unfortunetly the minutia of who bought tickets will be lost in the euphoria of... look how many have turned up ... With the expected weather.. anything above 80G will be an enormous turnup.

Yes trains are not great ... the road atm is no better mostly worse..

Can see the headlines on Saturday morning already. Should we lose, it'll be we were too focused on campaigning on playing home finals in Geelong. If we win, it'll be why were they so focused on hosting games in Geelong when they can win at the 'G.

I think if we win ...it will all be about Collingwood...

This is exactly how the narrative will run. With no thought at all for the fact that the Cats have been denied any meaningful advantage that should derive from finishing on top and earning 'home' finals. In fact, the team that was entitled to a home final has ended up with:

1. Another home final played at the home ground of their opponent.
2. Another home final played in the most inconvenient time slot for their actual supporters, ensuring less attendance from home fans.
3. Scorn and ridicule from all and sundry (including some of their own supporters) for daring to point out that the AFL exploits the finals system to its own advantage, and for the express benefit of its pet projects.

And the refuge of those who have no coherent grounds for their refusal to engage with these legitimate claims is to label those with an opposing view 'whingers'.

If it wasn't so transparently obtuse and obfuscatory, it would be hilarious.

Anyway, I remain hopeful that the hoops will really turn up on-field on Friday night so that the last laugh is on the AFL and the failure of its naked nepotism.

News flash finals at the MCG is not something new,Geelong Members have dealt with it for ever.

Its a all day thing going to the footy in Melbourne.
You need to get the extra early train.
Too many delays so you need to get the early train.
Get there early enough he get your seats.
Then travel home sometimes standing up all the way.

I can see why some supporters dont go.

I've been to heaps of games this year its just the normal thing.

You and play it sam are both right.

How do you figure that? Sure, they have Degoey, Elliott and Stephenson which may be an advantage to them up forward. But Miers, Atkins, Ablett and Dahlhaus will also thrive in these conditions. We're also susceptible to fast ball movement by opposition teams so the rain actually slows it down and prevents us being exposed by fast ball movement.

The rain could also limit Grundy's influence around the ground, something we're all worried about with him coming up against an inconsistent Stanley. Hawkins is probably the best wet weather key forward in the AFL. I think taking all this into account, if the wet conditions favour any team, you could make a good case it'll benefit us more than them. But in all likelihood, it probably doesn't favour any team more than the other imo.
I'd say it plays a bit more into Stanley's hands as well. He doesn't need to finesse the ball or Grundy, rather relies on his strength to nullify him or to move the ball forward. He can make it an ugly game and let the contested beasts such as Selwood and Danger shove the ball forward.

Only the media...and a few Scott haters around here.