- Aug 17, 2012
- AFL Club
- Brisbane Lions
So Sam Walsh wins the rising star, what a surprise! 54 out of a possible 55 votes. Luke Darcy the only judge not to give him the maximum 5 votes.
He's an absolute clown
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
So Sam Walsh wins the rising star, what a surprise! 54 out of a possible 55 votes. Luke Darcy the only judge not to give him the maximum 5 votes.
Why would you want to get rid of Walker. Imo he is the only capable reliable tall def/fwd depth we have on our list at the moment. He can easily slot into either end of the field and perform well should injuries, long or short term, inevitability come about. Payne, Fullarton, etc are still atleast a year or two away from becoming reliable depth, comfortable steppeng up to the firsts. Until then Walker is a valuable player to this club, certainly worth another year or two on the list. Id hate to trade him out then get long term injuries to Harris, Gardiner or Adams.Straight swap for Walker.
Payne is untried but could be an instant stand out defender. At least a year or two away is guess work without seeing what they can achieve given the opportunity to shine.e.g Alex Keath at CrowsWhy would you want to get rid of Walker. Imo he is the only capable reliable tall def/fwd depth we have on our list at the moment. He can easily slot into either end of the field and perform well should injuries, long or short term, inevitability come about. Payne, Fullarton, etc are still atleast a year or two away from becoming reliable depth, comfortable steppeng up to the firsts. Until then Walker is a valuable player to this club, certainly worth another year or two on the list. Id hate to trade him out then get long term injuries to Harris, Gardiner or Adams.
McCarthy had 2 years he missed with foot injuries and then hip, back, quad and hamstring issues.Nah, neither of them had the same recurring hamstring injury as what Elliott has... Adams did both his ankles on the SCG 12 months apart..and McCarthy had ankle and groin/hip injuries
Both had great years but agree Walsh was heads and shoulders above every other nominated player.He's an absolute clown
McCarthy had 2 years he missed with foot injuries and then hip, back, quad and hamstring issues.
They debuted in the same year and Elliott has played 50 more games than Linc. Elliott is the less of a risk than McCarthy was last year.
Even the most confident supporter wouldn’t have expected McCarthy to play every game
No argument that McCarthy has had a spate of injuries...none were recurring hamstring injury...No doubt, Elliott can be a match-winner when he's fit. Recurrent hamstring muscle strain injuries generally get more severe each time and result in significantly more lost time as the player gets older in comparison to the initial injury...Elliot is 28...From memory, the recurrence rate in AFL players sits over 30%....
Injury rate, mechanism, and risk factors of hamstring strain injuries in sports: A review of the literature
Hamstring strains are one of most common sports injuries. The purpose of this literature review is to summarize studies on hamstring strain injury rat…www.sciencedirect.com
Sorry 27I'm nitpicking here, but Elliott turned 27 only a week ago.
I've seen how these discussions over trading go - by the trade period he'll be eligible to post in the over 50s thread.I'm nitpicking here, but Elliott turned 27 only a week ago.
I agree Payne can be and i hope he does become an outstanding key defender (the more sunny coast boys the better imo, lol) and i hope he gets the opportunity to show what he can do next season. Lets remember this young man mountain has already missed a season and more thru injury. I do hope thats the end of the injuries for a long time but then again they may not be. Yes a year or two maybe guess work but until we are sure he is good and ready, Walker plays a imortant role in our squad, not just as a backman but in the fwds as well. That may mean another year or two for Walker on our list. Im ok with that.Payne is untried but could be an instant stand out defender. At least a year or two away is guess work without seeing what they can achieve given the opportunity to shine.e.g Alex Keath at Crows
I guess you're talking about Payne or Skinner in defense and Fullarton, Wooller and Ballenden up fwd. I agree, some of these young blokes may be ready to step up and be ahead of Walker next year, i hope they all do. But there's a difference between being capable of stepping up and having the confidence and comfort level to do so reliably. We saw that with Keays this year, it was the first time i think he really looked comfortable in the firsts and his game showed that. Its a shame injuries didnt give him more opportunity to play. Its tough hey, especially now our window of success has opened a bit earlier than expected. We need reliable depth and we need that youth standing up to become that depth or to be best 22. Its this balancing act with players by the club that will see us strong for many years to come.There's already a couple of players in the twos who with another pre season under their belt will be ahead of Walker imo , who didn't overly impress me in the games he played except for one match when he was roaming free in the backline.
Hinge is hard to say. I want to re-rookie him as he's shown some good signs but he might get squeezed out. I would imagine we'd be willing to deal him, especially if we get another best 22 player who makes his path to the seniors even harder.Hi. I'm interested in the big trades. Is Mitch Hinge likely to be at Brisbane next year? I would have thought both SA teams would be interested for a late pick. Also... I used to think Cutler was going to be a very good player. That didn't work out? Cheers.
Mate, i hope very much Hinge is with the lions next year. He showed enough in the games he played in the firsts this year to suggest he is worth holding onto. He's quite often been mentioned as one of the best on ground in the neafl throughout the year. I like him.Hi. I'm interested in the big trades. Is Mitch Hinge likely to be at Brisbane next year? I would have thought both SA teams would be interested for a late pick. Also... I used to think Cutler was going to be a very good player. That didn't work out? Cheers.
I agree Payne can be and i hope he does become an outstanding key defender (the more sunny coast boys the better imo, lol) and i hope he gets the opportunity to show what he can do next season. Lets remember this young man mountain has already missed a season and more thru injury. I do hope thats the end of the injuries for a long time but then again they may not be. Yes a year or two maybe guess work but until we are sure he is good and ready, Walker plays a imortant role in our squad, not just as a backman but in the fwds as well. That may mean another year or two for Walker on our list. Im ok with that.
I'm not sure Walker is behind any of them yet when his flexibility to play both ends is taken into account. Skinner plays both back and forward, crashes packs and tackles with gusto but I'd say is just behind Walker in mobility. Payne is a wonderful prospect, cleaned up buddy Franklin in his first preseason match before getting injured in his first year. wonderful speed for a monster but only plays in the backs so far. Fullerton another great prospect with great hands but is still finding his way back into footy after a few years in basketball. Ballenden plays forward and back and helps in the ruck as well, is a wonderful kick but boy-oh-boy he is pushed off the ball way to easily when playing back, he needs a bit go mongrel yet. Walker for me is good people - I'd like to see him kept we can flip him into the seniors and we don't all go into melt down knowing we will get a honest effort every time with little risks.I guess you're talking about Payne or Skinner in defense and Fullarton, Wooller and Ballenden up fwd. I agree, some of these young blokes may be ready to step up and be ahead of Walker next year, i hope they all do. But there's a difference between being capable of stepping up and having the confidence and comfort level to do so reliably. We saw that with Keays this year, it was the first time i think he really looked comfortable in the firsts and his game showed that. Its a shame injuries didnt give him more opportunity to play. Its tough hey, especially now our window of success has opened a bit earlier than expected. We need reliable depth and we need that youth standing up to become that depth or to be best 22. Its this balancing act with players by the club that will see us strong for many years to come.
He had shin splints. A big kid running on hard grounds as a junior will do it every time in Queensland. It's not like he has lots of different injuries. Now he is on the AFL type training grounds he has no worries, full steam ahead bot the big unit. His only problem now is playing in the backs in our NEAFL side he rarely sees the ball.I must admit this part concerns me, give how effective our conditioning and recover staff seem to be. Maybe his body just can't deal with the sport, wouldn't be the first time. Hope I'm completely wrong on this one.
Payne only missed 1 game this year and pretty sure it was round 1. Looks like his body handles the load pretty wellI must admit this part concerns me, give how effective our conditioning and recover staff seem to be. Maybe his body just can't deal with the sport, wouldn't be the first time. Hope I'm completely wrong on this one.
I agree, i see Payne as a great player long term in defense, but now this window of opportunity has opened early we cant just give young blokes games for games sake anymore. We have to have both depth and potential. He will get his shot, our non injury run cant last forever and if hes ready and playing well, he will force the selectors to pick him. At this early stage of succes we are all loving at the moment, we still need the mature reliable depth Walker gives us fwd and back. Ah Chee will get here if he wants to be here but i dont think we need to sacrifice walker to achieve it.I think they genuinely see Payne as a long term option at fullback and will want games into him next year . Therefore I believe walker will be used as trade bait . I think we could potentially get ah chee involved in a walker trade .
There's no way we should give up Walker for Ah Chee. If Hipwood, McStay, Adams or Andrews gets injured, it's good that we have a proven player in Walker on the wings that can come in and play a role. It's rare to find KPP in the competition who can do that.