2021 Bendigo Football League

What do we all think about finals being payed without Melbourne based players? Gisborne south and burra seem to be the most compromised

It is tough on these clubs but their coaches have been good in accepting it is the environment the BFNL is existing in and have copped it on the chin. The alternative is no football which we all missed so badly last year.

To me the far bigger issue is what to do if supporters are locked out of the finals. We all hope it does not come to this as it would be a massive hurdle to clear.

You'd think it would impact Gisborne the most, will be interesting if Gisborne and Kyneton jump ship soon to play in the Riddell or Ballarat.

It's amazing country footy, no crowds but the AFL is still thinking of getting crowds in Melbourne for finals. Looks like how far Strath now

It is tough on these clubs but their coaches have been good in accepting it is the environment the BFNL is existing in and have copped it on the chin. The alternative is no football which we all missed so badly last year.

To me the far bigger issue is what to do if supporters are locked out of the finals. We all hope it does not come to this as it would be a massive hurdle to clear.

You'd think it would impact Gisborne the most, will be interesting if Gisborne and Kyneton jump ship soon to play in the Riddell or Ballarat.

It's amazing country footy, no crowds but the AFL is still thinking of getting crowds in Melbourne for finals. Looks like how far Strath now

Gisborne and Kyneton are going nowhere old mate

Kyneton yes, not sure about Gisborne... the jungle drums of Maiden Gully, and the possibility of a Junourtoun side is getting louder.

In my opinion Maiden Gully missed the boat. They needed to do a Strathfieldsaye and come straight in and build. Coming from a long way back from LVFNL to Bendigo. Junourton is a wish but a long way off.

Adding either would not force Gisborne to move

In my opinion Maiden Gully missed the boat. They needed to do a Strathfieldsaye and come straight in and build. Coming from a long way back from LVFNL to Bendigo. Junourton is a wish but a long way off.

My thoughts on M/G too Rootaman.
Although I dont think they have missed the boat. They just need to
make the plunge.

They aren’t going to be a Bendigo Football League Team, until they are in the Bendigo Football league. I think they will find attracting and retaining players, sponsors and supporters will be that little bit easier for them as well.

They’d be competitive against the bottom 2 BFNL straight up, and not far on their day from the next 2?

Could Junourton re-open the conversations with mounts?
My understanding was Mounts we’re red hot but Strath wanted to go alone.

Could LVFL be an option for Castlemaine? They are a long way off being competitive in the BFNL.

Gisborne and Kyneton are going nowhere old mate
Gisborne looked into going to Ballarat a few years back, put it to a vote and emphatically got knocked back.
Kyneton not going great on field at the moment, but off field have eliminated all debt according to a recent report I think in the addy, and have just run another car raffle which tickets sold out, from what I’m told sold either 2000 or 2500 tickets at $100 each, so if that’s true they’d now be flying off field and hopefully for them on field starts to follow.

Gisborne have strong traditional rivals with Sunbury, Melton, Darley and Bacchus Marsh. So it's always a possibility. Those clubs could all join the Riddell and make it a two divy comp, less travel for all, and Kyneton could also join the Riddell, which is now a good league. Castlemaine need to look central highlands
Gisborne looked into going to Ballarat a few years back, put it to a vote and emphatically got knocked back.
Kyneton not going great on field at the moment, but off field have eliminated all debt according to a recent report I think in the addy, and have just run another car raffle which tickets sold out, from what I’m told sold either 2000 or 2500 tickets at $100 each, so if that’s true they’d now be flying off field and hopefully for them on field starts to follow.

My thoughts on M/G too Rootaman.
Although I dont think they have missed the boat. They just need to
make the plunge.

They aren’t going to be a Bendigo Football League Team, until they are in the Bendigo Football league. I think they will find attracting and retaining players, sponsors and supporters will be that little bit easier for them as well.

They’d be competitive against the bottom 2 BFNL straight up, and not far on their day from the next 2?

Could Junourton re-open the conversations with mounts?
My understanding was Mounts we’re red hot but Strath wanted to go alone.

Could LVFL be an option for Castlemaine? They are a long way off being competitive in the BFNL.
Maiden Gully right now wouldn’t come close to a full strength Maryborough in my opinion. Obviously they would recruit better if in the BFNL but as they stand they are a long way off BFNL standard. How do they do off field? And idea who their major sponsors are?

Here's one to think about boys. How are they going to work out the 2021 Ron Best medal final tallies.
Sharpy leads on 68 but won't have a run in the final h and a round. Kyneton have forfeited.
South's Dossy Antonowicz is next on 63 and should bag 6 (at least) vs. Maryboro.
That would take him to the lead. Is it fair to hand Dossy the Ron Best when not all clubs got to play the last 2 h and a rounds ?

Current standings: Sharpy (Storm) 68; Antonowicz (SB), 63; McKenna (Gizzy) 53; Brett (GS) 47 and Burke (GS) 45.

Here's one to think about boys. How are they going to work out the 2021 Ron Best medal final tallies.
Sharpy leads on 68 but won't have a run in the final h and a round. Kyneton have forfeited.
South's Dossy Antonowicz is next on 63 and should bag 6 (at least) vs. Maryboro.
That would take him to the lead. Is it fair to hand Dossy the Ron Best when not all clubs got to play the last 2 h and a rounds ?

Current standings: Sharpy (Storm) 68; Antonowicz (SB), 63; McKenna (Gizzy) 53; Brett (GS) 47 and Burke (GS) 45.

Nearly just have to go the old “not awarded” I reckon. Season too compromised to sort out a genuine winner in many awards

Whilst the Maiden Gully/ YCW club are well positioned to eventually join the league, they are a long way off being competitive and having the resources/ monies available to be competitive. Why would you want to move into a competition that is dominated by the same clubs and has lost community support/ interest because of this.

You could also ask the question why isn’t their a BFNL club in the northern areas as we have a great facility out there that gets minimal use (Epsom Huntly Reserve) and heaps of new housing. Surely there is more of an opportunity in this area.

Finally, Gisborne are going nowhere. They are very happy in the competition and love coming north to play on top grounds and have good facilities. This is a big selling point for them when recruiting new players.

Whilst the Maiden Gully/ YCW club are well positioned to eventually join the league, they are a long way off being competitive and having the resources/ monies available to be competitive. Why would you want to move into a competition that is dominated by the same clubs and has lost community support/ interest because of this.

You could also ask the question why isn’t their a BFNL club in the northern areas as we have a great facility out there that gets minimal use (Epsom Huntly Reserve) and heaps of new housing. Surely there is more of an opportunity in this area.

Finally, Gisborne are going nowhere. They are very happy in the competition and love coming north to play on top grounds and have good facilities. This is a big selling point for them when recruiting new players.

Strath were further behind then maiden gully, they didn’t even have a side. My honest opinion is that you can’t build in a lower league then move up. I think you bite tbe bullet and jump in

The bfl need clubs, how long do Castlemaine and Maryborough stay in the league, add kyenton as well. I still think the Riddell league will be multi division league soon, with Gisborne, kyenton and the eastern Ballarat league clubs a chance to join, especially now the Riddell is independent outside of AFL Vic.

That leaves maiden fully/ycw and Huntly chances of joining and they've got to chase northern clubs like Echuca and Moama and even Kerang.

The bfl need clubs, how long do Castlemaine and Maryborough stay in the league, add kyenton as well. I still think the Riddell league will be multi division league soon, with Gisborne, kyenton and the eastern Ballarat league clubs a chance to join, especially now the Riddell is independent outside of AFL Vic.

That leaves maiden fully/ycw and Huntly chances of joining and they've got to chase northern clubs like Echuca and Moama and even Kerang.

I don’t think there’s an appetite for a 2 division riddel league mate. They are battling to keep clubs out of metro leagues.

I honestly believe that Maryborough, Castlemaine and Kyneton are essential to the Bendigo league. There are just too many clubs in close proximity to those clubs. There needs to be restructuring of footy in those towns to prioritise those clubs

Yep Riddell lost some good clubs like Rupo because their salary cap was so much lower then the edfl, they couldn't compete so they joined them, also how much they were paying AFL Vic and getting nothing back.

In regards to Castlemaine and maryborough, there doesn't appear to be any appetite amongst the locals to play major league football anymore. Most guys either join Bendigo town teams or go out the Maryborough Castlemaine league or central highlands.

I'm expecting big changes for country footy, through covid challenges and a AFL Vic report at the end of the year

I don’t think there’s an appetite for a 2 division riddel league mate. They are battling to keep clubs out of metro leagues.

I honestly believe that Maryborough, Castlemaine and Kyneton are essential to the Bendigo league. There are just too many clubs in close proximity to those clubs. There needs to be restructuring of footy in those towns to prioritise those clubs

I still think the Riddell league will be multi division league soon, with Gisborne, kyenton and the eastern Ballarat league clubs a chance to join, especially now the Riddell is independent outside of AFL Vic.
Unfortunately Riddell look to be going the other way. With the NFL eying off Wallan, Diggers EDFL talk not going away and Rockbank both demographically and geographically suiting WRFL, It doesn’t look good

2021 Bendigo Football League