- Aug 9, 2016
- AFL Club
- Sydney
Me and he still would be our number 1 ruckman,
Tippet > Nankervis by a comfortable margin
Me and he still would be our number 1 ruckman,
Boyd did but Tippo still got paid for his efforts. The same as Buddy is being paid for his efforts now.He definitely cashed in and his bank balance would of been at all time high when on the books
Geez did Boyd flog him
Nankervis has had a picture of Dusty engraved on the back of his p'ship medals so he doesn't ever forget the only reason he has them.LOL nank would've got rinsed. And his impact in the tigs grannies is mute, never rag dolled anyone in his career let alone in those grannies.
Truth: Nank isn't even the solid No 1 ruck in his own team. He would be ours though!Nankervis has had a picture of Dusty engraved on the back of his p'ship medals so he doesn't ever forget the only reason he has them.
Nowhere near a top ruckman & was battling for a spot, playing some reserves footy, until Soldo did his knee.
EFA. But he's not the reason why we lost 2014. 2016 our selection of unfit players certainly contributed greatly to the loss.Tippet when fit > Nankervis by a comfortable margin
I think he was on a hiding to nothing at North. A club that was in turmoil did not help. He did not get to pick his own list changes because by the time he was appointed they were all done. I think Noble is in the same space here.I think he is a good coach just took the top job too early. Didn’t have the right infrastructure around him to succeed. Shame. Happy with our current coach list but he would have been a valuable acquisition. Still, glad he got a role somewhere.....will help him overcome his mental health issues
The AFL has run on a mixture of the Soccer and Gridiron model for far too long. They copy everything but never think of the consequences of that. One of the reasons England had not won a World Cup is because player development is shitful and all the money goes to the Premier League and the leagues directly below. In Australia exactly the same happens. In The US football is developed through the college system, which we don't have here. But the minor leagues are basically disgarded or impoverished.Is the idea that we need a separate independent entity that looks after the rules + grass roots, and the AFL essentially becomes only interested in running their own competition?
Funnily enough there is plenty of money for Grass Roots footy without even impacting those salaries but $800,000 seems to me excessive for what they are doing.I got shouted down by some last month for suggesting exactly this, that the upper management of the AFL won't want an independent review and will protect their own interests and financial packages. I hope the second part of the prediction, that they'll find a way to punish Pridham and the Swans, doesn't transpire.
Imagine what just one of those management wages (av $880,000) could do for grass roots footy.
Interesting that the season is only about 2cmonths away and no details of this comp yet. The AFL have been dreadful at organisation for a long time but this and the list size late call are just unforgivable.Do we have a thread yet for 2021 2nd tier that's supposed to be start up this year? I'm not even sure what their calling it now we're supposed to playing VFL teams.
Yes he was fantastic. It is a pity he was injured so often. I think Tip had true abity and could have been a star of the game. But he just couldn't get his body right. In 2016, as you say, his pack marking was super. His goalkicking maybe not so super but he got plenty of ball and kicked plenty of goals. He was great on the ruck too. I was sad he was not able to fulfil his potential.Shame injuries prevented him from continuing his All Australian form with us from round 13 in 2016.
The AFL has run on a mixture of the Soccer and Gridiron model for far too long. They copy everything but never think of the consequences of that. One of the reasons England had not won a World Cup is because player development is shitful and all the money goes to the Premier League and the leagues directly below. In Australia exactly the same happens. In The US football is developed through the college system, which we don't have here. But the minor leagues are basically disgarded or impoverished.
Australian football always had a focus on development at a local level. You never knew where a good player was going to come from and strong country, local and amateur leagues were important. The current admin has run this down and made it impossible for the local footy to survive or if it does it just survives. There is a revolt in Tasmania over the exorbitant charges the AFL puts on being aligmed. Many leagues are walking away, not just in Tassie, nationwide. They are doing so to preserve their leagues and protect grass roots footy.
Development money goes to the AFL clubs not the local zones. With the introduction of the draft there was no longer any reason for clubs to spend money on developing their traditional zones like they previously did. The only clubs with this incentive are the Northern clubs who have the Academies. So clubs use development funds to develop their second tier comps like VFL, SANFL, WAFL etc. But grass roots footy suffers because the clubs are basically hamstrung by:
1. The draft system which is based on the American modal
2. Lack of development money or potential due to the run down state of local footy
3. Lack of capacity to perform a development role
4. Lack of will. The clubs seem to want development to be separate from their activities as professional football clubs because they seem to believe it needs to have it's own focus
5. Clubs would like to see more money spent at grass roots level. The deterioration if the local leagues is partly due to AFL fees and structure and in the Bush, due to population dissipation. If there was true grass roots support the leagues would not be paying to be members of the AFL it would be the AFL funding them for development and their structures to ensure continuance
On JAT-L29 using BigFooty.com mobile app
Yes NRL has always been like that. Rabbitoes develop the players and Mamley and Easts steal them lolIn Rugby league, the clubs essentially run the development of their local areas from Jersey Flegg all the way up the first grade squad. (Unless you're the Roosters who don't do any local development at all).
I can only tell you the amount of times I've seen fans get pissed off that a local junior signs with another team.
In years gone by the club juniors were very strong comps. We had a second division. They have withered so that only the direct leads into first grade remain. League is better than union but neither are great at grass roots.In Rugby league, the clubs essentially run the development of their local areas from Jersey Flegg all the way up the first grade squad. (Unless you're the Roosters who don't do any local development at all).
I can only tell you the amount of times I've seen fans get pissed off that a local junior signs with another team.
AFL ?In years gone by the club juniors were very strong comps. We had a second division. They have withered so that only the direct leads into first grade remain. League is better than union but neither are great at grass roots.
The thread was Rugby League vs AFL.AFL ?
Says nothing about RugbyThe thread was Rugby League vs AFL.
Not to mention the umpiring. The definition of a handball is what ? Or let them just drop the ball when tackled. Slide into Hanners' legs, take out one of our best players at a crucial moment in the game then give them a f&^king free for it !! How about the lopsided free kick count ? The AFL had already decided the Bravedogs should win that one and there was f-all we could do to change a foregone result. We paid a heavy price for pissing them off, stealing Franklin, stealing Tippet and beating Clarko's pups in 2012 but it took almost a decade to drag us down.EFA. But he's not the reason why we lost 2014. 2016 our selection of unfit players certainly contributed greatly to the loss.
I don't know about stacking trophies , 1 will do in the next decade , take 2 even , i've only had 2 in 90 decades. All you said is absolutely spot on. Hope your safe over there , we are all Swans .Not to mention the umpiring. The definition of a handball is what ? Or let them just drop the ball when tackled. Slide into Hanners' legs, take out one of our best players at a crucial moment in the game then give them a f&^king free for it !! How about the lopsided free kick count ? The AFL had already decided the Bravedogs should win that one and there was f-all we could do to change a foregone result. We paid a heavy price for pissing them off, stealing Franklin, stealing Tippet and beating Clarko's pups in 2012 but it took almost a decade to drag us down.
fu**em I say. Our phoenix-like rise from the ashes will be all the more sweet as we're stacking up the trophies over the next decade.
90 decades is a long long time - but it certainly makes '05 and '12 all the more special. Marngrook's longevity is also extra special - with very few rule changes and no administration with interfering political agendas. I like what you say. We are all Swans.I don't know about stacking trophies , 1 will do in the next decade , take 2 even , i've only had 2 in 90 decades. All you said is absolutely spot on. Hope your safe over there , we are all Swans .
Well i get called old on here. I've been lucky now to see 2 flags , should have been 4 and then i look at the flog St Scum fans.90 decades is 900 years. Just FYI.
I consider myself lucky to have grown up in my primary school years in the early 90's. As you say, experiencing what being at one of the lowest ebbs is like makes you appreciate the successes all that more. I watch the kids nowadays, a majority were Hawks supporters 5 years ago and all of a sudden, they a Richmond supporters because they don't like following a team that aren't successful. I know Bedders will hate the fact that I am giving credit to St Kilda, but the kids that barrack for them will likely stick with them for life because they have watched them struggle for years so why change now?90 decades is a long long time - but it certainly makes '05 and '12 all the more special. Marngrook's longevity is also extra special - with very few rule changes and no administration with interfering political agendas. I like what you say. We are all Swans.
What you talking about again ! if Nankervis plays we were a bigger chance to win
I consider myself lucky to have grown up in my primary school years in the early 90's.