List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft

He has qualities likened to Walshy like being an endurance beast.

If Walsh was described as vanilla, then I can live with Holland being low fat vanilla...
I can't mate, that's where all the flavour is

Long-term rankings, with similarity traits and a draft range

1 Jhye Clark
Traits: Joel Selwood
Draft Range: 5-8

2 George Wardlaw
Traits: Luke Parker
Draft Range: 1-4

3 Mattaes Phillipou
Traits: Bailey Fritsch/Marcus Bontempelli
Draft Range: 4-8

4 Harry Sheezel
Traits: Christian Petracca

5 Aaron Cadman
Traits: Charlie Curnow

6 Cam Mackenzie
Traits: Travis Boak
Draft Range: 5-10

7 Will Ashcroft
Traits: Jack Steven

8 Jedd Buslinger
Traits: Rhett Bazzo

9 Lewis Hayes
Traits: Harris Andrews
Draft Range: 12-20

10 Elijah Hewett
Traits: Shane Edwards

11 Elijah Tsatas
Traits: Pat Lipinski
Draft Range: 4-10

12 Reuben Ginbey
Traits: Jack Crisp

13 Josh Weddle
Traits: Tom Doedee/Kamdyn McIntosh
Draft Range: 15-25

14 Coby Burgiel
Traits: Mitch Duncan
Draft Range: 20-30

15 Jaspa Fletcher
Traits: Hugh Mcluggage

16 Brayden George
Traits: Toby Greene
Draft Range: 16-26

17 Matthew Jefferson
Traits: Harrison Jones
Draft Range: 10-20

18 Olli Hotton
Traits: Daniel Rioli

19 Oliver Hollands
Traits: Sam Walsh

20 Bailey Humphrey
Traits: Patrick Dangerfield

21 Harry Barnett
Traits: Ben Miller

22 Billy Dowling
Traits: Harry Perryman
Draft Range: 3rd round+

23 Edward Allan
Traits: Mark Blicavs/Charlie Ballard

24 Alwyn Davey Jnr
Traits: Che Cockatoo Collins

25 Henry Hustwaite
Traits: Jordan Dawson

26 Jakob Ryan
Traits: Mason Redman
Draft Range: 18-28

27 Lachie Cowan
Traits: Justin McInerney

28 Charlie Clarke
Traits: Tom Papley

29 Jacob Konstanty
Traits: Lachie Shultz

30 Darcy Jones
Traits: Sam Switkowski

31 Isaac Keeler
Traits: Paddy Ryder

32 Mitch Szybkowski
Traits: Tom Sparrow
Draft Range: 3rd+

33 Tom Scully
Traits: Oscar McInerney

34 Jasper Scaife
Traits: Jack Riewoldt

35 Jed Hagan
Traits: Liam Baker

36 Blake Drury
Traits: Charlie Spargo

37 Harry Rowston
Traits: Tim Tatanto

37 Max Gruzewski
Traits: Mitch Georgiades

38 Jaxon Binns
Traits: Aaron Hall

39 Jonti Schuback
Traits: Bailey Dale

40 Harvey Gallagher
Traits: Jayden Short

Others I like, Harry Lemmey I rate as a 1st round talent but will drift 3rd round and beyond. Later picks, Munkara, Foster, Verrall, Long, Mitchell, Teal, Penny, Petric, Cole, Van Es, Knobel, Emile-Brennan, Edmends, Connor McDonald

Busslinger….who tf is Rhett Bazzo?

Most others have extremely good players or superstars associated and the Buzz gets a no name

I'll fight you.........
ice cream love GIF

I would absolutely do 14 for our future 1st.
Who would you be selecting at pick 15 though? Sydney are clearly flagging what common sense was telling us leading into the combine: you're looking at a top 5-6, then a group down to about 14, then you're in more of a niche/riskier pool until the end of the second round.

We'll never see another draft as bad as 2004, but this would be the modern equivalent, particularly after pick 30.

Who would you be selecting at pick 15 though? Sydney are clearly flagging what common sense was telling us leading into the combine: you're looking at a top 5-6, then a group down to about 14, then you're in more of a niche/riskier pool until the end of the second round.

We'll never see another draft as bad as 2004, but this would be the modern equivalent, particularly after pick 30.
you've been posting long enough on here to know - everyone fancies bling and whatever bling is drafted is gunna be great bling blingy blingy bling

and then mostly in the past it has lost its blingy shine in a year or so and people argue over the merits of the bling and the potential of the bling or what the club should do with the bling or whether to shuffle the bling around in order to extract the potential of teh bling or sack teh coach because he cant extract the true potential of the bling(s)

and then the bling gets you a charity late third-rounder which you don't even use in the draft ....and it all goes very quiet ..until the next round of bling raffle time comes along...

the fact of the matter is - the draft is a lottery and kids either have the requisite will power to fight through the developmental and experiential reality of professional football and roll with the inevitable kicks in the guts - or not. Most don't.

yeah lets give up earlier picks for more blingy picks down the order ...more bling the better cant have enough bling.

This suggests that Hewett, Hollands, Jefferson, and Busslinger will be gone by 15, so we're looking at the first break point of the draft, just a question of the order from about 5-6 onwards.

Hewett very much firming for our draft range, and I hope we go hard despite a need for talls to develop. Hewett and Keeler as a combo would be the right kind of moonshot to make, just need to be culturally strong.
Reckon Hewett will still be on the board.

You'd want to make top 4 next year just to somewhat draw even. Pick 14 this year could move out to 16. And next years draft is perceived to be much better.

A trade like this could come back to bite a club if they don't make the 8 next year.

If the Swans are keen to trade, they have shown their hand first.

The more I read the more I'm sold on Hollands. I personally wanted some more outside class but at the end of the day our gameplay revolves around guys running their ass off both ways all day, and he fits that to a tee. If he's naturally driven and has a drive to truly get the best out of himself then he'll fit in perfectly.
I completely subscribe ABOD to your sentiments. The massive issue I have (and subsequent little contribution) is we are beholden to chance. Yes analysis prob weeds out the outliers but for a Cripps that was too fat and slow and a Hird at mid 60's, a Dow at 3, a Chad Warner at 39. We can only hit and hope. A draft crop is exciting. Here's just hoping two of the 4 come on in a big way. Everyone is an expert till it f*cks up.

You'd want to make top 4 next year just to somewhat draw even. Pick 14 this year could move out to 16. And next years draft is perceived to be much better.

A trade like this could come back to bite a club if they don't make the 8 next year.

I think Sydney are interested in trading but I don't think Sydney would have approached a specific club with a specific trade proposal. The club basically said "we are open to trading picks 14 and 17, come at us with your best offer" to all the other clubs and wait and see how many clubs approach and what offers they are willing to make.

I don't think Sydney are calling specific clubs and trying to propose trade deals, but then again I could be wrong.

you've been posting long enough on here to know - everyone fancies bling and whatever bling is drafted is gunna be great bling blingy blingy bling

and then mostly in the past it has lost its blingy shine in a year or so and people argue over the merits of the bling and the potential of the bling or what the club should do with the bling or whether to shuffle the bling around in order to extract the potential of teh bling or sack teh coach because he cant extract the true potential of the bling(s)

and then the bling gets you a charity late third-rounder which you don't even use in the draft ....and it all goes very quiet ..until the next round of bling raffle time comes along...

the fact of the matter is - the draft is a lottery and kids either have the requisite will power to fight through the developmental and experiential reality of professional football and roll with the inevitable kicks in the guts - or not. Most don't.

yeah lets give up earlier picks for more blingy picks down the order ...more bling the better cant have enough bling.
Give me meat and potatoes any day of the week.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Full Interview up now with Oliver Hollands! A Phenomenal young man who has steep Carlton History in his blood! The Grandson of Martin Cross, He is a firm blue bagger!

We chat Cricket, Life and Footy in a great insight from a future star!

What an impressive young man!

I think a straight swap between 14 and your future 1st would be fair considering Carlton will very much likely be pushing for the top 4 next year.
Why would we give up a more valuable pick for similar the year earlier. You’re the buyer. Buying high for that matter into a stronger draft. And our pick could be anywhere from 4-18 depending on injury.

You gotta wait 12 months longer for it though, so evens it up a bit where you can get a season of senior experience and game plan into them

I wouldn’t mind getting some of Sydney’s 2023 picks, they were mauled in the GF and those scars could stick for sometime

Long-term rankings, with similarity traits and a draft range

1 Jhye Clark
Traits: Joel Selwood
Draft Range: 5-8

2 George Wardlaw
Traits: Luke Parker

3 Mattaes Phillipou
Traits: Bailey Fritsch/Marcus Bontempelli

4 Harry Sheezel
Traits: Christian Petracca

5 Aaron Cadman
Traits: Charlie Curnow

6 Cam Mackenzie
Traits: Travis Boak

7 Will Ashcroft
Traits: Jack Steven

8 Jedd Buslinger
Traits: Rhett Bazzo

9 Lewis Hayes
Traits: Harris Andrews

10 Elijah Hewett
Traits: Shane Edwards

11 Elijah Tsatas
Traits: Pat Lipinski
Draft Range: 4-10

12 Reuben Ginbey
Traits: Jack Crisp

13 Josh Weddle
Traits: Tom Doedee/Kamdyn McIntosh

14 Coby Burgiel
Traits: Mitch Duncan

15 Jaspa Fletcher
Traits: Hugh Mcluggage

16 Brayden George
Traits: Toby Greene

17 Matthew Jefferson
Traits: Harrison Jones

18 Olli Hotton
Traits: Daniel Rioli

19 Oliver Hollands
Traits: Sam Walsh

20 Bailey Humphrey
Traits: Patrick Dangerfield

21 Harry Barnett
Traits: Ben Miller

22 Billy Dowling
Traits: Harry Perryman
Draft Range: 3rd round+

23 Edward Allan
Traits: Mark Blicavs/Charlie Ballard

24 Alwyn Davey Jnr
Traits: Che Cockatoo Collins

25 Henry Hustwaite
Traits: Jordan Dawson

26 Jakob Ryan
Traits: Mason Redman
Draft Range: 18-28

27 Lachie Cowan
Traits: Justin McInerney

28 Charlie Clarke
Traits: Tom Papley

29 Jacob Konstanty
Traits: Lachie Shultz

30 Darcy Jones
Traits: Sam Switkowski

31 Isaac Keeler
Traits: Paddy Ryder

32 Mitch Szybkowski
Traits: Tom Sparrow

33 Tom Scully
Traits: Oscar McInerney

34 Jasper Scaife
Traits: Jack Riewoldt

35 Jed Hagan
Traits: Liam Baker

36 Blake Drury
Traits: Charlie Spargo

37 Harry Rowston
Traits: Tim Tatanto

37 Max Gruzewski
Traits: Mitch Georgiades

38 Jaxon Binns
Traits: Aaron Hall

39 Jonti Schuback
Traits: Bailey Dale

40 Harvey Gallagher
Traits: Jayden Short

Others I like, Harry Lemmey I rate as a 1st round talent but will drift 3rd round and beyond. Later picks, Munkara, Foster, Verrall, Long, Mitchell, Teal, Penny, Petric, Cole, Van Es, Knobel, Emile-Brennan, Edmends, Connor McDonald

Nice number 1.

Clark as your highest rated is predicted to go 6-8, if he’s there at 8, what would you offer to get up the extra 2-3 spots to get him?

Who would you be selecting at pick 15 though?
Assuming we take Hollands with our first, I would take either Allan or Hotton with that second pick.

Sydney are clearly flagging what common sense was telling us leading into the combine: you're looking at a top 5-6, then a group down to about 14, then you're in more of a niche/riskier pool until the end of the second round.
And yet there are other clubs looking to trade into that range.

What does that say about your “common sense”?

That’s fine, we’re looking at multiple picks within that range.
The pick number moving out is completely irrelevant unless you think we’re a genuine chance at getting of the F/S players.

Any pick exchange can come back to bite a club.

If we nail the pick it’s just about irrelevant.

Yep, and there’s no reason why both clubs couldn’t benefit from this.

I wouldn’t exchange our future 1st for an additional pick in this years cohort.
There’s a noticeable difference the quality available in the two cohorts, 2023 is a superior talent pool.

How often do we hear that next years draft is better than this years draft, and how often does that actually eventuate?

You’re talking as though there won’t be any good players in this draft class, which is absurd given how glowing you’ve been in your praise of certain prospects.

No way. Best case our future first ends up at 15-16, which becomes a wash if next year's draft is better. Worst case it's a top 10 pick in a better draft and we have ****ed up badly again. As George W Bush would say, fool me once, shame on... ... Won't get fooled again!

Best case is we get the player we want and he turns out to be a gun.

It’s bizarre people continually overlook that.

Best case is we get the player we want and he turns out to be a gun.

It’s bizarre people continually overlook that.
You'd want to be pretty sure on the player to take your trade risk though. This is my point. Last time when we traded down what should have been pick 3 the following year to get Stocker was a shocking outcome in hindsight.

List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft