List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft

The commentary on wanting a key defender is interesting.

Wonder if it’s just Fox Footy putting 2 and 2 together or a genuine chance of happening?

If we trade up or add an early second rounder I could see us balancing out our list needs with Busslinger at 10 and grabbing someone like Konstanty at whichever pick we manage to bring in.
Wouldn't be overly upset with another KPP but feel it should be with later picks.
The real need for our list is a dynamic, goal kicking medium-forward and rebuilding midfield depth. Setters, Curnow, Dow, Fogarty, Cunners, Honey and Philp could all be gone by this time next year leaving our midfield and medium forward depth very bare. Our list profile is good, our best 22 are generally in the sweet-spot of mid 20s but we still need to be bringing in young talent and drafting the next generation of mids is a priority.

A lot of his kicks resulted in turnovers or were to contests where his team failed to retain possession
They did but his intercepting and marking was still very very good. Personally not a fan of taking him at 10 given Youngs breakout this year. Having some mature bodies as back up is all I'd be looking for with Weiters and Young potentially our 1+2 for the next 5 or 6 years.

It's a bit untidy, his aerial work looks good though. You wonder if West Coast pull the trigger at 8 if they think we're interested.
Seemed like a big guy out bodying little guys most of the time or just being the big guy in the hole. It would be interesting to see how he went against decent forwards in the Championships

There's a bit of chat on the main board that the Suns are pretty heavily into Ginbey with their first pick - they've apparently had some very in-depth conversations with him, and seen as a little less of a flight risk than other interstaters. If there's any substance to this, it could throw the cat among the pigeons so to speak on draft nite - especially if WCE were looking to jag him with their first pick.

Still speculation of course, but could play out something like...

GWS - Cadman
BRI - Ashcroft
NM - Wardlow
NM - Sheezel
ESS - Humphrey
GC - Ginbey
HAW - Tsatas
GEE - Clark
WCE - Busslinger/Hewett
STK - MacKenzie
CAR - Phillipou??

Cats get their man, WCE go for their home grown talent, and Aints jag their academy player.

I'm also tipping that if Phillipou is still there on the board at our pick on draft nite, Son of Curly would expect a sneaky little phone call from young Reid trying to trade back into the draft. Cows would no doubt love to get access to him - bringing in Rankine and Phillipou in the same year would be a dream for them.

There's a bit of chat on the main board that the Suns are pretty heavily into Ginbey with their first pick - they've apparently had some very in-depth conversations with him, and seen as a little less of a flight risk than other interstaters. If there's any substance to this, it could throw the cat among the pigeons so to speak on draft nite - especially if WCE were looking to jag him with their first pick.

Still speculation of course, but could play out something like...

GWS - Cadman
BRI - Ashcroft
NM - Wardlow
NM - Sheezel
ESS - Humphrey
GC - Ginbey
HAW - Tsatas
GEE - Clark
WCE - Busslinger/Hewett
STK - MacKenzie
CAR - Phillipou??

Cats get their man, WCE go for their home grown talent, and Aints jag their academy player.

I'm also tipping that if Phillipou is still there on the board at our pick on draft nite, Son of Curly would expect a sneaky little phone call from young Reid trying to trade back into the draft. Cows would no doubt love to get access to him - bringing in Rankine and Phillipou in the same year would be a dream for them.

Crows future first would be a dream for us.

Pick 23 involved to keep us present in this draft.

Would be all for a move like this.

nice highlights reel.

Hard to fault, better than most highlight reels....
Most of those highlights are the type of marks you would expect from a mobile key forward. Anti density rules in Juniors makes it more open and much easier that in the AFL. I would be hoping to see more crash and bash JDG rather than Josh Schache leading at the ball carrier. Also doesn't seem to play much difference in his game to Kemp. He did show a little dash towards the end.

I would want to seem more to his game to get excited. It is probably there in the champ games but I am too lazy to go back to watch so will have to take Coona Blues word or it.

Crows future first would be a dream for us.

Pick 23 involved to keep us present in this draft.

Would be all for a move like this.

Trying to work out how this would look given that we seem to want to pick up a few kids this year.

Carlton 10, 29 and 49
for
Adelaide Future first, 23 and 46

Then try to flip our future first for a pick in the teens? Sydney's 14 or GWS's 15?

End result being 10, 29, 49 and future first for 14, 23, 46 and Adelaide's future first? Reckon we'd still get a player we're happy with at 14, moving up from 29 to 23 could get us a gem, 49 up to 46 gets us ahead of Hawthorn and St Kilda who could be interested in similar players to us later in the draft. And then we deathride Adelaide and hope they've given us a significant upgrade on our future first in a good draft.

I think it's definitely overs from Adelaide, but it might be the kind of overs they're willing to pay to get an extremely talented local kid in a year early, and then back themselves to improve next year.

Feels like the kind of year to play that sort of game. Fairly even draft, hard to identify a standout at most picks, a few clubs with multiple picks who might need to be tactical about which they select first.

Reminiscent of 2015 when we took Harry first, because we were confident Adelaide wouldn't pass him up if we didn't and wouldn't take Charlie before our next pick.
I’m finding there aren’t many players I’m fanatical about bringing in.

I really want Sheezal but he’s one of the few prime prospects.

Reckon Tsatas could slip back a few spots but I doubt he gets all the way to 10.

I really like Hewett and I’m hoping he’s available - and if WC take Busslinger he likely will be - but I reckon the club will grab Hollands.

I wonder how close to the mark our list management team will be going into the room on draft night? As in, they will have done their homework on all the other clubs and their specific needs and wants and they'll have contingency plans ready to go as the picks start up but do we reckon they will pretty much already know who will be available for us?

As we all get ready for "we just couldn't believe he was still available..........".

Nowhere near his “entire footy craft”. Hate the one or two minute highlight reels, particularly ones like this which only focus on the glory of goal kicking. The boy is a complete midfielder with excellent forward craft. Good disposal, two way running, effective overhead as well as on the deck and a great athletic profile.

Phillipou is ultimately a mid first who has traits in the ilk of Bont or a better kicking Fyfe. He can go forward and possibly could become a focal point, but will be a midfielder with maturity. Has the bonus of having a secondary role which should get him early games.

Everyone also needs to be aware that he has a late December birthday and is likely to be the youngest draftee. His upside is enormous. If he is available at our pick, we absolutely must take him in my opinion. Arr0w has advised privately and on these pages that he is a flight risk. I do not suggest fabrication, but I read the vast majority of material on impending drafts and have not seen it elsewhere. I like to think that in any upcoming Carlton draftee’s initial contract we will be seriously contending for a flag. We have some good SA connected youngsters in Durdin and Motlop on the list for support as well. I am not concerned by any go home conjecture.

I am very high on Hollands and suspect young Hewett was not at his best during the carnival with injury and a Covid “hangover” so would support his acquisition, but Phillipou is “the dream”. He may go higher, but plenty are hyped and no SA teams pick before us so there is a chance(I hope). If indeed there is a “go home” suggestion, it would absolutely deter the northern teams more than VIC teams. Jackson and Kelly are pretty much outliers wanting to move from contending teams, I would backup in, and if he does go home expect a high first rounder or more back in return down the track.

I get people quickly adopt or dismiss draftees on a whim, I like to think I am impartial, but certainly concede like others, I can latch on to a player just as others can. It is the posters who like to then set about affirming or “potting” them based on minimal real knowledge who annoy me. Highlights packages are a tool which can display ability or potential. I watched every U18 championship game. Some multiple times. The Foxtel broadcast games (read VIC games) are available. The earlier games were streamed, but are poor quality productions and not an easy watch. They do however give us an insight in to the non Victorian prospects. The very first game showed two standouts early Phillipou who had some press and exposure and less publicised team mate, forward/ruck Phoenix Foster (played “out of position” ahead of some hyped key position types and was (almost) dominant against some highly rated opposition).

Phillipou looks like a great option as a 2nd or 3rd receiver - a guy who distributes the ball cleanly and effectively to other mids or to leading forwards.

North Melbourne trade its Round Four Selection (59) and Future Round Two Selection to the Adelaide Crows for its Round Two Selection (23).

So you're saying Adelaide can now trade its future first and 2nd???

How very interesting....

So you're saying Adelaide can now trade its future first and 2nd???

How very interesting....
Yes... They now have 2 x 2nds, 1 x 3rd and 1 x 4th. So can trade their first, and either of their two 2nds (but not both).

You thinking our pick 10 comes into play?

Yes... They now have 2 x 2nds, 1 x 3rd and 1 x 4th. So can trade their first, and either of their two 2nds (but not both).

You thinking our pick 10 comes into play?
I've got that wrong, they've traded out their 4th round pick. So they can trade out their future 1st, but nothing else.

List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft