Game Day 2022 AFL Grand Final : Geelong v Sydney

I know we aren't fond of Collingwood, but this style of football they are palying is really good. Run and carry, accurate field kicking, pressure when not in possession. If they can sustain this in the second half the Flogs would be nervous about them getting past Sydney I think.
They should have won last week. 2 costly mental lapses was the difference at the end. Poor positioning by the defence for the game winner and allowing such an easy centre clearance goal with the Rohan one. Cats wouldn't be thinking their going to do it easy. Only just beat Brissie last time to at GMHBA. Of the teams left they would only feel confident against Freo IMO.

Freo playing pies like hawks play cats
Just bombing it in for them to be picked off

Jack reiwoldt is like his cousin - pair of fig jams

Can’t imagine what dinner must be like with those two sitting at the same table

Jason Dunstall has always been the best football commentator for me. I also like Lyon.

Nick Riewoldt is almost as good already. He's a brilliant commentator. Him and Dunstall are exceptional together.

I know we aren't fond of Collingwood, but this style of football they are palying is really good. Run and carry, accurate field kicking, pressure when not in possession. If they can sustain this in the second half the Flogs would be nervous about them getting past Sydney I think.
Feel like Mitchell was trying to get us to play that way this season. We just need to improve our pressure which has been a massive issue for us since the threepeat…

Our forward half pressure this year was basically non existent.

Compare that with teams like Collingwood, etc who apply manic pressure in their forward lines.

After our midfield/contested ball issues out lack of small forwards/forward line pressure is number 2 on the list of things to fix.

Our midfield below where it needs to be to play this sort of style. Have to be able to win clearances when needed.

But I agree the pressure is the biggest difference. If you can pressure at a super high level you will always be in with a chance.

There’s no team currently that can stand up to the absolute top level pressure teams are putting out.

We have the players that can run and gun like they do - CJ, Ward, Day, Impey, Sicily, Amon, Bramble, Scrimshaw. Hopefully it's just a matter of time.

Our forward half pressure this year was basically non existent.

Compare that with teams like Collingwood, etc who apply manic pressure in their forward lines.

After our midfield/contested ball issues out lack of small forwards/forward line pressure is number 2 on the list of things to fix.
Even our defensive pressure in the back line wasn’t that good. Pies put teams under pressure every time they get the ball. Not just some of the time.

That’s how you break teams

I wondered why I was getting deja vu watching this match!

You are right the slow build up down the wings followed by the long bomb to the pocket. Clarko should sue Longmuir for copyright infrigement 😜

You reckon this one is done.

Freo have to outscore themselves in the final quarter. Can't see it happening

Lobb at times just looks so bloody scared of a contested situation.

Just gives ground instead of trying to win the ball in flight.

Game Day 2022 AFL Grand Final : Geelong v Sydney