Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion

Besides wanting to have $10 on Smith for the Norm and having a mate talk me out of it (he was paying $51 by the way) it was a delightful day.

I usually jus ignore being a saints supporter on GF day and try to enjoy being a nuetral.
I enjoy being a neutral until the siren goes and then I start feeling sorry for myself.

Just looking at the ladder prediction thread on the main board and many people have us as a bottom three team next year.

Unless something dramatic happens I can only see us being a mid to bottom team.

Who will we push out and where will we improve to go past them

Dogs / Dockers.
Dockers because they can't even buy a forward 50 and rely on midfield dominance far too heavily for their own good, Dogs because whilst they can buy things they rely wholly on running and struggle when bogged down.

Our issue is that we are running a less skilled Brissie outfit, so here's potential for 20+ goals on the back of work and things going well, but if you run into well drilled and sustainable structures you get pumped because they just pick you apart and you can't work hard enough to plug all holes on a field.

So in "best case" scenarios, we can be up there with Brissie in playing for PF's and falling short, only we have the aspects ina way to limit damage against the well structured teams, we just don't do it nearly as enough as we need to, so much like the Swans in a way, you'll go on a tear and do well, then have that one or two instances where nothing works and you have no plan b competent enough to fire a shot.

So simply put, we improve on consistency and we don't then fall away in the second half of the season and retain a 4-6 range with Dockers or Dogs dropping for the above reasons and Tigers taking more risks since they then needed to push that little bit harder to hold. Instead, we vary as nothing is best case scenario, so here's a decent fist half and when launch is meant to happen to lead into finals we bottle it instead as yay variability, and well run sides like Cats, Swans, Pies go "thank you for 10+ win streaks" because they are well run organisations.

Not a foreign concept that we can make and hold a top 8 with current mob, issue is that faith isn't there to say it's a given whereas with the two above you can make arguments about why both retain above anyone chasing.

Is what it means to be middle. If Richo was still at the helm we remark about how we escape last since no resources are then given to the footy dept so we can have resources now since we had no base to draw from under his reign.

Unfortunately the night grand final seems like a inevitability at this point. I hate it.

Liked the twilight finals, hope they go with that instead

Unfortunately the night grand final seems like an inevitability at this point. I hate it.
Wonder how many gave up because of how difficult it was to get 7plus working. Or found out at 2 that it wasn’t available on Kayo.

The last two years shouldn’t count for much. People were locked in their homes with no chance of the grand final parties they had this year. Channel 7 treats the sport with such contempt, it’s a shame they have the rights for another 6 years at least.

Day Grand Final is the best day of the year. A twilight or night just doesn’t come close to matching it.

Wonder how many gave up because of how difficult it was to get 7plus working. Or found out at 2 that it wasn’t available on Kayo.

The last two years shouldn’t count for much. People were locked in their homes with no chance of the grand final parties they had this year. Channel 7 treats the sport with such contempt, it’s a shame they have the rights for another 6 years at least.

Day Grand Final is the best day of the year. A twilight or night just doesn’t come close to matching it.

I had it on my phone since noted the Foxtel feed cut prematurely to replay at 6:30pm, so no chance then kayo would have had it. Would have stated such if I wasn't eating at 2, but yeah far as I'm aware the only watchable was live app and 7, the 7lus app had re-runs of border force on main channel, they don't simulcast on app.

So dumb comparing it to the lockdown years. Who writes this sh*t?

They don't understand that there is more choice than ever. More channels, more streaming services, more options to take away from ratings. A lot has changed in the last three years.

Using it to call for a night GF is just agenda driven. The people don't want it.

Personally love the day game, would like them to not mess with it BUT...

its definitely not accurate to say no one wants a night grand final, theres a pretty dedicated group the push the spectacle and TV broadcast angle. They have a point too.

My personal love of a midday barby and day drinking for the granny will never change but i can see why they want the night.

Personally love the day game, would like them to not mess with it BUT...

its definitely not accurate to say no one wants a night grand final, theres a pretty dedicated group the push the spectacle and TV broadcast angle. They have a point too.

My personal love of a midday barby and day drinking for the granny will never change but i can see why they want the night.
Roughly 70% of every single poll I’ve seen is in favour of a day grand final. It’s remarkably consistent.

Seems to be a stretch to blame the poor ratings on it being a "day game".

My ex was outside the G and was able to wander in when people leaving gave her their tickets.
I took my kid for a driving lesson.

Boring game is boring any time of day.

My Ex did say that it was really nice sitting in the sun watching the screen. That sort of stuff would be a bit cold at night this time of year.

So dumb comparing it to the lockdown years. Who writes this sh*t?

They don't understand that there is more choice than ever. More channels, more streaming services, more options to take away from ratings. A lot has changed in the last three years.

Using it to call for a night GF is just agenda driven. The people don't want it.

Its not like a weeknight where people get home , eat dinner, and watch the news and home and away.

Especially with a long weekend , younger viewers are likely to be heading out in the evening.
If people want to watch it they will. Yes some people work during the day Saturday.
Most people who aren't working can find time to watch it. Not many WAGS would dare to suggest that you'd better go out and mow the lawn on Grand Final day.

Is the declining quality of the game pushing people to switch off?

Nah must be the time slot.

the simpsons adult GIF

Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion