Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion

I thought a large reason for spending the money was so they didn't report massive profits meaning that some of those profits had to be distributed to other, less profitable clubs.
On a less flippant note, any business model that is predicated on a creative performance minimisation model is bound to be shonky.
Sometimes life does imitate art.
As is the case here with the loss of the $4mill pa from TAS, and subsequent reduction in their ambitions.

The business case was a wonderful example of hubris.
$135mill declared cost of development announced only weeks after the threepeat.
Based on a continuing $4mill pa from TAS government and $4mill pa from pokies.
I think their ambitions will be dramatically reduced.
The smartest thing would be to stay at Waverley.
this is why i think Ameet didnt go anywhere near the hawthorn job

just an absolute poisoned chalice. that construction project alone is enough to kill careers. especially in todays climate.

j8j9bN0.gif

Can't see this huge development happening in the wake of recent events. Kennett is just stating the obvious and people are looking for someone to blame.

Money is being pulled from a lot of projects. Costs are spiralling, delays are long and governments are pulling their purse strings.

Hawthorn will now be stuck in at their oval in a housing estate, while we have state of the art facilities.

The tide is turning.
We are lucky with a good off field a good CEO and President that we got our site completed.

She might be a massive cynic like me. I was expecting a show trial where the outcome was going to end in a finding of lack of awareness that could be fixed by paying a donation to an indigenous charity and get them some cultural training.
Yeh, its odd to me people would criticise her for not wanting to be a part of the AFL process.

Its gonna be run by the AFL who have a very vested interest in ensuring their whole brand isnt tainted. I can also understand the counter that if she/they wont be involved in the process then they cant really expect any "justice" but if you already thought that wouldnt happen why go through the trauma again (actually similar to the pies players not wanting to be a part of that process again).

If i recall correctly the Hawks did this independently (which they should be applauded for) so it seems they knew there was an issue, im sure that most (if not all) the claims have validity, it seems like everyone would much rather avert their eyes which flies in the face of the whole process. At least Collingwood did their report and seem to be implementing the findings of it.

(Started watching in 03)
2003-2022
Enright-Scarlett-Hodge
McLeod-McPharlin-Burgoyne
Judd-Ablett-Goodes
S.Johnson-Riewoldt-Franklin
Milne-Pavlich-Chapman
Cox-Martin-Fyfe
Voss-Hird-Cousins-B.Johnson

(Started watching in 03)
2003-2022
Enright-Scarlett-Hodge
McLeod-McPharlin-Burgoyne
Judd-Ablett-Goodes
S.Johnson-Riewoldt-Franklin
Milne-Pavlich-Chapman
Cox-Martin-Fyfe
Voss-Hird-Cousins-B.Johnson

I'll just say, Diesel Williams best centre I've seen play, and any forward without Lockett and Dunstall is less. There's a very good reason Lockett won a brownlow and was the last KPF to do so, man was a monster, Pav would be tepid to tie his bootlaces.

The North board thread on Ratts is pretty funny. For a club that has won the last two spoons they really don't mind throwing some mud around.
Just had a laugh look & now they are talking premierships with Ratts appointment

Not the dumbest move for North.
If things go pear shaped with Clarkson they have a guy who can hold down the fort pretty well.
Just hope it doesn’t turn into a Cho, with Nth Melbourne winning a premiership before we do. 🫣

Just had a laugh look & now they are talking premierships with Ratts appointment
unironically think Ratten is the perfect assistant coach. Especially next to Clarko. That big teddy bear best friend doesn't work as head coach but is fantastic for an assistant. Similar to why Richo didn't work out, I reckon Richo is a top tier assistant too.

Agree. I wonder if the qualities that make a good assistant are actually pretty different to the qualities that make a good head coach? So hiring the guys who have a good rep as assistants might actually be a bad idea.

What like Roberto Harvey?

Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion