2022 Hawthorn List Management Discussion (including Trade, FA period)

If Hardwick was the answer Sam would’ve played him there already and brought Morris in.

I’m happy with pretty much every list decision we’ve made in the last 12 months, but we still need to see some growth in the role that partners Lewis. That’s our biggest list gap at the moment, considering we know that the midfield has been set to “growth” mode.

In my view, we need three small forwards. Two if you count Moore.
I reckon we need 1, as MacDonald/Butler need to sit on a forward flank when not in the middle, alongside Moore.

Brockman could be that player.

HF: Butler Lewis Moore
FF: Brockman Kosi Meek

I reckon we need 1, as MacDonald/Butler need to sit on a forward flank when not in the middle, alongside Moore.

Brockman could be that player.

HF: Butler Lewis Moore
FF: Brockman Kosi Meek

I think we don’t have any

As Moore will play midfield going forward as his a bit like Dane Swan I think but we don’t have that Puopolo/Rioli kind of players combo I’m not saying we will find another Rioli but more players that a fast and can tackle hard like poppy was and players that can turn a game people say Rioli could do this but Poppy would stand up as if needed also.

I think we should be using our late picks in the draft on kids from the state leagues like VFL,SANFL,WAFL like we did on Puopolo

Poppy was a hard running tackling half back flanker when he came to the club.

As Moore will play midfield going forward as his a bit like Dane Swan I think but we don’t have that Puopolo/Rioli kind of players combo I’m not saying we will find another Rioli but more players that a fast and can tackle hard like poppy was and players that can turn a game people say Rioli could do this but Poppy would stand up as if needed also.

I think we should be using our late picks in the draft on kids from the state leagues like VFL,SANFL,WAFL like we did on Puopolo

Moore won’t play midfield going forward, he’ll only go in there occasionally. He’s training as a forward.

We’ve got Butler, Moore, MacDonald, Brockman who will all play roles as small forwards. To say we have none is just plain wrong.

Moore won’t play midfield going forward, he’ll only go in there occasionally. He’s training as a forward.

We’ve got Butler, Moore, MacDonald, Brockman who will all play roles as small forwards. To say we have none is just plain wrong.
Alongside Breust and Wingard.

I think for one or two seasons at least the rotations will continue to give the youngsters opportunity with minimised burnout.

Everything the club says seems to reinforce that, e.g. preferring players to have at least two positions.

Moore was one of the better ones rotating through the midfield

Agree with the point about forwards, we may never get back to having three permanent small forwards. It was great having poppy Cyril punky, but when hodge Mitchell and Lewis left, there was no one from that area moving into the midfield (permanently)

Everyone needs to stop using our threepeat team as the benchmark for what is needed for us to rebuild. That was a different team, in a different time, playing a different brand of football - not to mention that it was possibly the best to ever do it.

Let's wait to see how things go next season before we keep spruiking how many more players we need in each position. With how much has changed its hard to know what we've got to begin with.

This is just a simplistic take.

If there is someone in the state league's we rank higher than someone in the draft, we will. Obviously we didn't, so we didn't.

Saying 'we got poppy with a late pick from a state league' therefore we should just randomly do that, regardless of what players are around...I don't see any logic here.

Yep. Got two years left of Breust and prob same with chad. So have some cover as we transition guys like butler and brock in.

We also have o,Sullivan and Bennett’s as likely forwards plus a few failed forwards in seamus, morris and arguably Hardwick.

It’s a fair question if there’s enough top end talent (including match winners) in the forward group - but we’ll know a lot more in 12 months (and same question could be asked of midfield really - only time will answer the question).

Finding quality forwards is probably the hardest task in football. While lots of focus on elite talls, getting quality smalls is no easy task (look at issues geelong has had finding decent smalls - had to get lucky with Stengle).

And on elite talls, we have a big gap for a 2nd tall. And even with Lewis reckon there’s an open question on whether he can be more than a lead mark type.

Having one of our mids develop some real forward craft (eg Jai) could really add something to the mix. As could moving one of our talented hbfs forward (but doesn’t seem on the cards).

Lots of open questions on our side in 2023 - an interesting year ahead.

Ok for next year and perhaps the one after, but let’s not diminish the need to find xfactor forwards. I know you are not saying we have the stock, but we have to find at least two, probably three, together with at least one, if not two KPF’s (if Serong doesn’t make it).

I will be thrilled if they develop out of the current playing group, but I am not holding my breath.

I know I keep saying it, and we will do everything to turn these weaknesses into success, but it does not happen overnight and we need to be patient.

Over the next decade with a young midfield group that seem to compliment each other with the various traits they have this will result in much better delivery into the forward line …….. spells more goals. Watch the forwards licking their lips having Frenchy, Ward, Newk, Day, Weddle, CJ, Scrimmers, Amon, Macca etc coming down the ground with footy in hand!

I would think that Chad may be gone at the end of the year. He's the last remaining "oldie" that might have some trade currency. I suspect that we might get a second rounder + some change.
Will be a facinating watch. Last year of his contract. Already having his best pre season with us. If he performs and is not shifted he is a perfect candidate for a one year at a time contract.

Is he in Sam's plans beyond 2023?

Frost is interesting because he is training down back with Blanck. Does he play because of his experience i think s

I would think that Chad may be gone at the end of the year. He's the last remaining "oldie" that might have some trade currency. I suspect that we might get a second rounder + some change.
Mostly agree.

Chad hasn't worked - he has a body that is regularly breaking down and age is not on his side. I don't think he would demand a second round pick so I think we should cut our losses.

My expectation is he’ll be retained to help with culture etc