All I will say about how the boys look this pre-season is this: compared to last year, they look leaner.
Apparently stoppages were down by something like 11 per game last season, so it makes sense to get all the inside bulls in particular to shed some bulk and get fitter to be able to cover more ground.All I will say about how the boys look this pre-season is this: compared to last year, they look leaner.
Joshy Battle picking up birds on Carlisle Street, having a ripper pre-season.
Degoey brings in supporters, supporters bring in cash, be it to the games or betting agencies. AFL has Gill come out with a few strong yet supportive words at the start of the year and then make the pies do some virtue signalling "Woke" song and dance. AFL looks great, Collingwood look like they've done something. Degoey carries on unhinged but is kept in check. A few years later he ends up being Ben Cousins 2.0doubt it. AFL is too weak.
The talk that they will have Hannerbery to be right by round one is interesting because who is going to come out to give him a start.
Having Crouch , Steele , Jones , Gresham , Clark , Hill , Billings , Ross all filling a role Hannerbery can play - he might be up against it to find a spot when you have kids like Byrne , Bytel and Connolly all looking a good chance of playing in round 1.
Also all the hype during the pre-season of how well the guys are going actually might be real this year , after last season the guys might have been knocked down a few rungs and the have now getting there act together.
Wood as usual is burning up the track like he does every year , but if he can reproduce his training to on field play he will be a star.
Battle looks to be in fantastic shape and hopefully he steps up this year once he is given a role that he will be stationed at.
Webster is having the best preseason he has had in years and to me it looks both Paton and Webster will be in the line up.
So if Hannerberry , Wood , Battle , Paton , Gresham are all in 22 it's going to hurt a few egos in players that thought they had cemented there spot in the starting lineup.
Might've been her, I've got no idea if he has or if he does what she looks like. I should've examined him further to see if he'd put on any size or got a few more tats but maybe next timeLet's hope he doesn't have a partner.
A couple of years ago I saw Tim Membrey walking a huge dog along Charman Road, Cheltenham in his StKilda footy shorts and a singlet, wearing thongs.Might've been her, I've got no idea if he has or if he does what she looks like. I should've examined him further to see if he'd put on any size or got a few more tats but maybe next time
The Herald Sun would have ran that story anyway.A couple of years ago I saw Tim Membrey walking a huge dog along Charman Road, Cheltenham in his StKilda footy shorts and a singlet, wearing thongs.
Fully smoking a dart. I was pretty shocked, to say the least. Turned out it wasn't him.
Barrett now has some content for his next podcast.The Herald Sun would have ran that story anyway.
We’re you expecting a different type of dog ?A couple of years ago I saw Tim Membrey walking a huge dog along Charman Road, Cheltenham in his StKilda footy shorts and a singlet, wearing thongs.
Fully smoking a dart. I was pretty shocked, to say the least. Turned out it wasn't him.
I wasn't expecting any kind of dog. The dog in question in size would have been a little below a hyena but looking more like some kind of a hell dog mix of doberman x bull mastiff. I'm no expert in dogs but it was big. The guy was a doppelgänger - tatts/sleeves, leg tatts, short gingering hair and short beard, ripped and about 6'3". A dead spitter. Not him though......possibly a member of an OMCG maybe.We’re you expecting a different type of dog ?
They want him gone. Bad news story after bad news story damages the brand.The AFL are investigating his situation now, so they may yet suspend him.
Palm trees. Come on.A couple of years ago I saw Tim Membrey walking a huge dog along Charman Road, Cheltenham in his StKilda footy shorts and a singlet, wearing thongs.
Dean Kent??A couple of years ago I saw Tim Membrey walking a huge dog along Charman Road, Cheltenham in his StKilda footy shorts and a singlet, wearing thongs.
Yep, with the occasional centre bounce attendanceI think Hanner's playing off the bench and then going to either a forward pocket or HHF and pushing up the wing would look good.
Great, another dumb idea that clubs will manipulate.
If they have 23 fit players, they play. It doesn't matter if they are some underdeveloped rookie, they are on your list, they play.
Clubs would need over 20 players unavailable for a match for the match to be postponed. Considering half the league already had COVID by now, I can't see this ever being an issue. Geez they are so weak as a league that doesn't like re-sche
I am with youI know we say it every year before it all begins, but I genuinely have good feelings about this upcoming season. Reckon a few little things may start lining up and falling into place. I think the list is the most balanced it's been in years. Jeez a little luck on the injury front would be handy. If I were to pick two players who I think may have real breakout seasons, I'm going with my man Snags and Roma. Wouldn't be at all surprised if snags gets close to 40 goals, and hopefully Roma is thru his injury issues to become one of the consistently most dangerous ruck/forwards in the game. Bring it on lads.
Go Saints!
Might've been her, I've got no idea if he has or if he does what she looks like. I should've examined him further to see if he'd put on any size or got a few more tats but maybe next time
Thats great that he is ok now but its not like he is going to get smacked in the head by a truck door every week , Paddy playing back or forward is just asking for trouble IMO
From the AFL site...
The Dan plan: Find out why there's still hype and hope for Hanners
Brett Ratten sheds light on Dan Hannebery's pre-season, and explains why the veteran is so valuable to the Saints
ST KILDA coach Brett Ratten believes injury-plagued star Dan Hannebery can put a nightmare start to his time at Moorabbin behind him and play plenty of football in 2022.
The three-time Therabody AFL All-Australian has been riddled with soft-tissue injuries since arriving at RSEA Park at the end of 2018, managing only 15 of a possible 63 appearances due to hamstring, calf and groin problems.
Hannebery played only two senior games in 2021 – the final two games of the home and away season – after finally overcoming the persistent calf issues that started in January, shortly after he won St Kilda's 3km time trial.
But the former Swan hasn’t missed a session across the off-season and pre-season, following a meticulously tailored running and gym program that should see him feature in match simulation in the coming weeks and St Kilda's intra-club later this month.
Under the guidance of new high performance manager Nick Walsh, Hannebery has followed a slower build this pre-season, with the club carefully managing his workload across December and January in attempt to get him to the starting line for the first time since moving to the club after 208 games at Sydney.
Those inside RSEA Park know how unlucky Hannebery has been with his body. They've seen the amount of work he has put in to get back on the park, only to be left despondent. They refuse to think too far ahead but are hoping he is rewarded for his persistence.
"He's had a pre-season that I think by the numbers is the most he's done in the three or four years here, which is great," Ratten told AFL.com.au.
"We still have a go-slow approach with him; we don’t need him firing like a 20-year-old right now; we need him to build and he's doing that.
"Last year he won the time trial when we got back and then within a week, he was sore. We started slowly (this pre-season). We're not getting him to jump into those sort of events. That’s the thing with Dan, he's so competitive, he wants to win it and show everyone. We don’t need him to be doing that right at the moment.
"As you get older people look at your performance in terms of handballs and kicks. He is one of those players that might not need as many handballs and kicks, but his voice and direction is critical to our team. That's so valuable for us and maybe we lack a little bit of that at times. He is a standout in that area.
"I think he'll have a contribution this year. Who knows with the soft tissue? We're working to a plan, but when he's out there we're a better team. We'd love to get him out there as much as possible."
That’s the thing with Dan, he's so competitive, he wants to win it and show everyone. We don’t need him to be doing that right at the moment
- Brett Ratten
While things haven’t gone to plan at St Kilda, the 30-year-old is regarded as one of the most diligent preparers at the club and has left no stone unturned in his pursuit of returning to full fitness. He has tried almost everything to improve his luck, turning to Pilates, yoga, acupuncture and dynamic neuromuscular stabilisation training, as well as tweaking his diet and sleep patterns in search of anything that will aid his return.
Hannebery has worked closely with physio Richard Citreon, rehab coordinator Marcus Krygger and strength and conditioning coach Steve Forcone at the club, as well as seeing renowned sports movement coach Mark McGrath – who helped Hawthorn star Tom Mitchell return from a horrific broken leg – on a regular basis.
Four years of persistent injuries can make you forget how good Hannebery was at Sydney. He played a key role in Sydney's 2012 premiership, earned three All-Australian blazers in the Harbour City, polled at least 20 votes in the Brownlow Medal on the three separate occasions – 107 in total – and won the 2015 AFL Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year Award, ahead of that year's Brownlow Medal winner Nat Fyfe.
St Kilda doesn’t expect to see that version of Hannebery. But if they can get 15 to 18 games out of him in 2022 – and performances like the 2020 finals series against the Western Bulldogs and Richmond – it could provide them with the extra boost they need this season.
Hannebery is out of contract at the end of this season and will need to play a chunk of football across the winter if he is going to get another deal at the Saints. But right now, club and player are only focused on building towards his next appearance in the red, white and black.
Collingwood is the least of our worries , the squad they currently have will be lucky to be above the bottom 4 teams at the end of the year , a aging squad with few new young kids will need more than DeGoey firing to beat us.
Sidebottom and Pendleberry are past there best and there star Ruck Grundy has never been the same after signing his 10 year contract.