WaynesWorld19
But Sicily is an under-priced premo (more sub-categories haha, sorry). He's averaged 105 before, that's a top 6 defender.It’s one of Hewett or Sic for me. Otherwise you’re locking both in as keepers at D5 and D6 before the season starts. Hoping one of them is a viable D6 is fine but assuming they’re both going to be a success and viable at D5 and D6 with all the other options and the potential Pendles types might be wishful thinking.
To play devils advocate, with 35 trades, there is an opportunity to view Hewett as a luxury stepping stone but at $400k it’s expensive.
Hewett will probably go 115 tonight and we’ll all bring him in.
Cogs is an 'under-price premo', which is another sub-category of the mid price umbrellaTwo players
Kiddy Coleman $ 263K ....no history ....surely he's a stepping stone
Coniglio $261K ....with premo history ...surely he's a keeper
I'm not sure you can make categories based around price ?
Hinge $180K ....cash cow ....is he any different to Coleman
I agree, any player at approx $400K ...you're selecting as a keeper ....so have to be confident they can ave 95-100
Hewett is priced at 73 ....which is almost his career ave ....one outlier season of 88 ....is that enough to hold ?
I think if its one of them its Sicily. Proven to be a premo at various points and I expect the ball to be down in the backline a lot.It’s one of Hewett or Sic for me. Otherwise you’re locking both in as keepers at D5 and D6 before the season starts. Hoping one of them is a viable D6 is fine but assuming they’re both going to be a success and viable at D5 and D6 with all the other options and the potential Pendles types might be wishful thinking.
To play devils advocate, with 35 trades, there is an opportunity to view Hewett as a luxury stepping stone but at $400k it’s expensive.
Hewett will probably go 115 tonight and we’ll all bring him in.
Yes, I get this .....and it's a bit of dreaming ....but also as you say Injuries open doors of opportunityHow you bringing anybody in after 3-4 rounds?
Hold back $200k? (I actually started with $170k in the bank last year, don't even know why)
I'm sure we'll have injuries to deal with, so you can look at the mid-pricer that's gone bonkers then I suppose
Where's that SuperCoach Commandments threadCogs is an 'under-price premo', which is another sub-category of the mid price umbrella
I should a book on this sh*t
Yep there's an injury or 2 to popular premos early. It allows people to grab the hot-of-the-block mid-pricer. It was Trac a couple years ago, Hall last year, etc.Yes, I get this .....and it's a bit of dreaming ....but also as you say Injuries open doors of opportunity
Last year Danger went down ....allowed me to bring in Mills for that Hunter Clark guy
Yep I have more confidence in Sic being a viable D6 than Hewett unless I see something tonight. I have little confidence in wanting either of them at D5.But Sicily is an under-priced premo (more sub-categories haha, sorry). He's averaged 105 before, that's a top 6 defender.
That is all fair and logical.But you need to see the bigger picture. Where is that money saved being used? That's the whole point of picking mid pricers. We have a salary cap, so you need to spread the money evenly.
For example
I think Treloar will be a top 5 forward
If I drop Treloar down to Rowell (via rookie DPP)
that $140k allows me to turn a spud rookie destined for the VFL or a 30 average up to Berry, who could very well average 97 and get to $450k
I accept Rowell will be my M7/M8 and only average 95-105, realistically it won't be more, but I think the overall picture is positive
I really like this effort. It just seems like you've practically got the ideal structure for a guns n rookies team. The 2 mid-pricers you have are probably the 2 obvious ones that you want. Im more into mid-priced madness this season but i got to say that if i swung the other way, a team like this one is what id hope to make. You've invested a fair bit of money in rookies which is great as in the (unlikely) case that there aren't enough cheap rookies available, you will have the cash to get the rookies that are actually playing. Nice workI really like this team with 14 potential keepers. Don't love the Daniel pick as much as I did at this point last season, but to run with 3 premium forwards he's the option with the least amount of risk at D2.
View attachment 1337241
View attachment 1337242
Yep agree. I don't even want Sicily, I think he'll cause me a lot of stress, things like random 50m pens against, and he'll take a ripper intercept mark, badmouth the ump for a previous incident and it'll be reversed, I just don't want that stress in my life.Yep I have more confidence in Sic being a viable D6 than Hewett unless I see something tonight. I have little confidence in wanting either of them at D5.
Dunkley
edit: should this go in the injuries and suspensions thread?
Like it. That midfield is awesome. I like the Petracca selection and as long as enough defensive rookies are selected, you'll be in a good position. Dale and Weller are decent PODs too.omfg this is the team. 5 big boy premo mids. Gawndy. 3 premo defenders. 3 premo forwards. Without loading the bench with sh*t rookies (i've just got Tex and dean there but i'll fix that doesn't matter). Will use this week to figure out my D2 and M4 as well as rookies but this is 100% my structure.
View attachment 1337276
I really like this effort. It just seems like you've practically got the ideal structure for a guns n rookies team. The 2 mid-pricers you have are probably the 2 obvious ones that you want. Im more into mid-priced madness this season but i got to say that if i swung the other way, a team like this one is what id hope to make. You've invested a fair bit of money in rookies which is great as in the (unlikely) case that there aren't enough cheap rookies available, you will have the cash to get the rookies that are actually playing. Nice work
Nice team.omfg this is the team. 5 big boy premo mids. Gawndy. 3 premo defenders. 3 premo forwards. Without loading the bench with sh*t rookies (i've just got Tex and dean there but i'll fix that doesn't matter). Will use this week to figure out my D2 and M4 as well as rookies but this is 100% my structure.
View attachment 1337276
Yeah they're the only premos who can change, really but atm they are the best in the price range, especially Tracc.Like it. That midfield is awesome. I like the Petracca selection and as long as enough defensive rookies are selected, you'll be in a good position. Dale and Weller are decent PODs too.
Yeah rooks nowhere near locked in, I'm assuming Hayes replaces Wanganeen and comes on field.Nice team.
SDK on the field would be my biggest worry.
12 premos, 2 midpricers, 8 rookies on field.
Obvious ones mainly (Rowell/Berry/Cogs/Coleman). Ralphsmith and E.Richards are my POD mid-pricers. Not entirely sold on Ralphsmith and i may do a rookie shuffle to upgrade him to Curnow or Brodie. E.Richards is worth a punt i reckon. Should play a role conducive to decent scoring and the Dogs will look to him coming out of defence. Yes, they have Dale and Daniels but Richards offers that outside pace and should spend time on the wing as his delivery inside 50 will be valuable. I think he can average 80-85 which ill happily takeCheers. I can't see the structure changing at all now. Just potentially a few names.
You have a few riskier mid-pricers or more so the obvious ones?
You will have a lot more cash gen than most teams.Yeah rooks nowhere near locked in, I'm assuming Hayes replaces Wanganeen and comes on field.
As much as I loved the 5 premo mid structure I’ve gone away from it purely because Berry offers too much value. You could drop Trac down to him and make about $340k and probably only lose 15-20 points which you can easily make up by upgrading one of your defensive rookies.omfg this is the team. 5 big boy premo mids. Gawndy. 3 premo defenders. 3 premo forwards. Without loading the bench with sh*t rookies (i've just got Tex and dean there but i'll fix that doesn't matter). Will use this week to figure out my D2 and M4 as well as rookies but this is 100% my structure.
View attachment 1337276
Obvious ones mainly (Rowell/Berry/Cogs/Coleman). Ralphsmith and E.Richards are my POD mid-pricers. Not entirely sold on Ralphsmith and i may do a rookie shuffle to upgrade him to Curnow or Brodie. E.Richards is worth a punt i reckon. Should play a role conducive to decent scoring and the Dogs will look to him coming out of defence. Yes, they have Dale and Daniels but Richards offers that outside pace and should spend time on the wing as his delivery inside 50 will be valuable. I think he can average 80-85 which ill happily take
Nah I don't see the need mate, he's a good pick but you don't need every player who is good valueAs much as I loved the 5 premo mid structure I’ve gone away from it purely because Berry offers too much value. You could drop Trac down to him and make about $340k and probably only lose 15-20 points which you can easily make up by upgrading one of your defensive rookies.