Teams 2022 Rate My Preseason Team

1646261530525.png

First real look at my team since Supercoach opened. Hoping to back up last years finish with another top 500 if I can somehow fluke it again.

Not entirely sold on a number of the players (Sicily, Hewett, Rowell, Titch, Coleman) at this stage. Will watch a lot of footy this weekend to see how they fare.

Have at it!

I
I really like this team with 14 potential keepers. Don't love the Daniel pick as much as I did at this point last season, but to run with 3 premium forwards he's the option with the least amount of risk at D2.

View attachment 1337241
View attachment 1337242
I prefer Dale over Daniel this year. Can you find the extra cash? I think Daniel gets thrown around a bit whereas Dale seems our go to out of defence. I also struggle to forget Daniels 19 last year.

View attachment 1337240

First real look at my team since Supercoach opened. Hoping to back up last years finish with another top 500 if I can somehow fluke it again.

Not entirely sold on a number of the players (Sicily, Hewett, Rowell, Titch, Coleman) at this stage. Will watch a lot of footy this weekend to see how they fare.

Have at it!
11 premos + 6 midpricers. 5 rookies on field
I think you need less midpricers and one more premo at least.
Your mids are over powered.

I

I prefer Dale over Daniel this year. Can you find the extra cash? I think Daniel gets thrown around a bit whereas Dale seems our go to out of defence.

Sure can. Still had $13k leftover. Will watch both quite closely this weekend. If Dale plays a ripper he might get the nod.

Only issue with that is Daniel allows me enough money to change Dylan Stephens into Josh Ward if that appears the move before round 1. Bringing in Dale doesn't allow me to make that change.

View attachment 1337240

Have at it!
It’s one of the better Rowell and Berry teams I’ve seen. The fate/success of Sic, Hewett, Berry and Rowell loom as pivotal this year. Can all 4 be a success?

Sure can. Still had $13k leftover. Will watch both quite closely this weekend. If Dale plays a ripper he might get the nod.

Only issue with that is Daniel allows me enough money to change Dylan Stephens into Josh Ward if that appears the move before round 1. Bringing in Dale doesn't allow me to make that change.
Yeah $ are getting very tight for everyone I think. A cheap Hayes/Dixon fwd would help.

We need a community meeting to discuss the term mid pricer.To determine the difference between a high price cash cow, a stepping stone, and a genuine mid pricer. 🤣

I only see 2 genuine mid pricers, Rowell and Hewett.

We need a community meeting to discuss the term mid pricer.To determine the difference between a high price cash cow, a stepping stone, and a genuine mid pricer. 🤣

A middle priced player is surely anything above a rookie (so JHF this year) and below a premo?

I think what you mean is we we more terms/categories?

It changes every year IMO
top 15 defenders = 95+ average or 514+
top 20 midfielder = 107+ average or 592k+
Top 4 rucks = 115+ or 627k
Top 15 forwards = 86+ or 467k
Best guess. If a player falls outside this window but has done a big enough average before they are still premo imo.
At the other end anything more expensive than JHF as we have to make a cut off somewhere, Clearly if a player is more than the number 1 draft pick they are not rookie priced.

A middle priced player is surely anything above a rookie (so JHF this year) and below a premo?

It’s not the label it’s the role. I prefer the simpler roles of keeper/stepping stone/rookie. What’s the individuals plan for them if things work out.
For example I can label Berry and Rowell mid price.But if I went with Berry it would almost definitely be with the assumption I’m trading him. Rowell I would have a hope he could be a M8. Different roles.

It changes every year IMO
top 15 defenders = 95+ average or 514+
top 20 midfielder = 107+ average or 592k+
Top 4 rucks = 115+ or 627k
Top 15 forwards = 86+ or 467k
Best guess. If a player falls outside this window but has done a big enough average before they are still premo imo.
At the other end anything more expensive than JHF as we have to make a cut off somewhere, Clearly if a player is more than the number 1 draft pick they are not rookie priced.
As Maybe Tomorrow said, I mean more categories for mid pricers

I've always categorised them separately:

high price cash cow
stepping stone (similar to the above, but the price cap raises slightly)
genuine mid-pricer

high price cash cows are just expensive rookies basically. You're picking them because their aren't good cheap options. Price cap of maybe 220k.
stepping stones are payers you're taking with the plan of trading them out, they'll give you decent valuable points early, but they'll still make enough money. Price cap of maybe 320k
genuine mid pricer is somebody you're expecting to be a keeper. You really need to keep them, because they're quiet expensive and won't make enough money to be worth trading out. Price cap of maybe 420k

Even if the figures change from person to person, I think the terms matter

eg.
JHF as a high price cash cow. If there's not enough cheapies, I'll need to take him. I think he'll only average ~70, so it's not ideal, as a $117k rookie averaging 55 or 60 will be better.
Berry and Caldwell as stepping stones. If they average somewhere between 80 and 90, with a couple big scores, they'll get to $400k, which is $140k growth. That gets me a premo early
Rowell as a genuine mid pricer. At $360k, if he fails and only averages ~85, he'll only make $70k or something. Hurt my starting side because he was expensive, then I'll likely have injuries to deal with, upgrades to make, so I'll be stuck with him. Or he averages 105 and is a huge win.

It’s one of the better Rowell and Berry teams I’ve seen. The fate/success of Sic, Hewett, Berry and Rowell loom as pivotal this year. Can all 4 be a success?
Rowell and Hewett to Ridley & rookie (in this instance Stephens) still gives me 50k to play with. Probably a better option unless Hewett or Rowell can be a D6/M8 for the season?

As Maybe Tomorrow said, I mean more categories for mid pricers

I've always categorised them separately:

high price cash cow
stepping stone (similar to the above, but the price cap raises slightly)
genuine mid-pricer

high price cash cows are just expensive rookies basically. You're picking them because their aren't good cheap options. Price cap of maybe 220k.
stepping stones are payers you're taking with the plan of trading them out, they'll give you decent valuable points early, but they'll still make enough money. Price cap of maybe 320k
genuine mid pricer is somebody you're expecting to be a keeper. You really need to keep them, because they're quiet expensive and won't make enough money to be worth trading out. Price cap of maybe 420k

Even if the figures change from person to person, I think the terms matter

eg.
JHF as a high price cash cow. If there's not enough cheapies, I'll need to take him. I think he'll only average ~70, so it's not ideal, as a $117k rookie averaging 55 or 60 will be better.
Berry and Caldwell as stepping stones. If they average somewhere between 80 and 90, with a couple big scores, they'll get to $400k, which is $140k growth. That gets me a premo early
Rowell as a genuine mid pricer. At $360k, if he fails and only averages ~85, he'll only make $70k or something. Hurt my starting side because he was expensive, then I'll likely have injuries to deal with, upgrades to make, so I'll be stuck with him. Or he averages 105 and is a huge win.
My mate uses the term super cash cow. (SCC)
For anything between 180k-250k
Its the same as a premo vs super premo you need them to average 10 points more.

unless Hewett or Rowell can be a D6/M8 for the season?
And this could go either way IMO .....is it too much of a gamble ....maybe look and see, bring in after 3-4 rounds, they'll still be cheap

Rowell and Hewett to Ridley & rookie (in this instance Stephens) still gives me 50k to play with. Probably a better option unless Hewett or Rowell can be a D6/M8 for the season?
If you're picking Hewett or Rowell, you want them to be D6 or M8, at least until very late in the year. There's nothing wrong with a sub-par average at D6, M8 or F6. People held Houston at D6 all last year. The year before it was Dev Smith at F6. etc

If the issue with genuine mid pricers is this: If they under-perform, you have a hard time trading them out.
1. you'll cop injuries that you need to deal with
2. you'll be in upgrade mode trying to bring in premos for spud rookies, and won't have an opportunity to fix the ~80 averaging under-performer

Need to back your gut on the genuine mid-pricers. If you believe, take em

If Rowell goes bang in the next preseason match, knowing his scoring history and his role, I'll take him, expecting a 97-103 average, which I can accept for M8 (as I'm starting him at $360k)

Planning to take a bloke as a d6/m8/f6 at the start of the year is a bad move IMO.
Every player you trade in has to be better than them or you are going backwards.
It means you cant take as many punts on early season bolters because if they fail and become you d6 your rank will plummet.
I prefer Rowell over Hewett as he has more scope to improve being a lower price and a higher scoring player.

And this could go either way IMO .....is it too much of a gamble ....maybe look and see, bring in after 3-4 rounds, they'll still be cheap
How you bringing anybody in after 3-4 rounds? 😂

Hold back $200k? (I actually started with $170k in the bank last year, don't even know why)

I'm sure we'll have injuries to deal with, so you can look at the mid-pricer that's gone bonkers then I suppose

If you're picking Hewett or Rowell, you want them to be D6 or M8, at least until very late in the year. There's nothing wrong with a sub-par average at D6, M8 or F6. People held Houston at D6 all last year. The year before it was Dev Smith at F6. etc

If the issue with genuine mid pricers is this: If they under-perform, you have a hard time trading them out.
1. you'll cop injuries that you need to deal with
2. you'll be in upgrade mode trying to bring in premos for spud rookies, and won't have an opportunity to fix the ~80 averaging under-performer

Need to back your gut on the genuine mid-pricers. If you believe, take em

If Rowell goes bang in the next preseason match, knowing his scoring history and his role, I'll take him, expecting a 97-103 average, which I can accept for M8 (as I'm starting him at $360k)
Yeah I agree with most of that. I have traditionally been a GnR player with minimal mid pricers. I feel Hewett (especially with Walsh out) can have a decent role in that Carlton midfield but a lot will depend on watching the game tonight.

I will see how this weekend goes but at least I have flexibility with the structure and can easily remove both of them. One other thing is we have an extra 5 trades this year - does that mean we can take more risks with our starting side? Or do we play it safer and if required after round 2 make more corrections?

It’s one of Hewett or Sic for me. Otherwise you’re locking both in as keepers at D5 and D6 before the season starts. Hoping one of them is a viable D6 is fine but assuming they’re both going to be a success and viable at D5 and D6 with all the other options and the potential Pendles types might be wishful thinking.
To play devils advocate, with 35 trades, there is an opportunity to view Hewett as a luxury stepping stone but at $400k it’s expensive.
Hewett will probably go 115 tonight and we’ll all bring him in.

Planning to take a bloke as a d6/m8/f6 at the start of the year is a bad move IMO.
Every player you trade in has to be better than them or you are going backwards.
It means you cant take as many punts on early season bolters because if they fail and become you d6 your rank will plummet.
I prefer Rowell over Hewett as he has more scope to improve being a lower price and a higher scoring player.
But you need to see the bigger picture. Where is that money saved being used? That's the whole point of picking mid pricers. We have a salary cap, so you need to spread the money evenly.

For example
I think Treloar will be a top 5 forward
If I drop Treloar down to Rowell (via rookie DPP)
that $140k allows me to turn a spud rookie destined for the VFL or a 30 average up to Berry, who could very well average 97 and get to $450k
I accept Rowell will be my M7/M8 and only average 95-105, realistically it won't be more, but I think the overall picture is positive

Two players

Kiddy Coleman $ 263K ....no history ....surely he's a stepping stone

Coniglio $261K ....with premo history ...surely he's a keeper

I'm not sure you can make categories based around price ?

Hinge $180K ....cash cow ....is he any different to Coleman

I agree, any player at approx $400K ...you're selecting as a keeper ....so have to be confident they can ave 95-100
Hewett is priced at 73 ....which is almost his career ave ....one outlier season of 88 ....is that enough to hold ?